We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“this hotel must have another wing?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“this hotel must have another wing?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Reading the review of competing travellers, I am baffled. Are we talking about the same place?

My first-floor room is 2.5m wide and 8m long, or something like that. The end of the room has heavy-curtained double doors to the balcony. Seemingly romantic, but the layers of curtains filter out almost all of the light that would otherwise enter the room---were it not that the windows are tiny.

So it's dark. And not too hot, fortunately: the airco is noisy, but then what would one expect from a machine which is definitely in its adult age, if not older. Its fan cannot be switched off, so jamming it with a coat hanger is the only way out---fortunately, that does not overheat the motor, so all is fine.

The balcony, which runs along the whole side of the hotel is shared with neighbours. Fine. Being nude in my room has them in for a surprise as they patrol in front of my room---apparently the curtains are not _that_ thick. I don't mind.

The bathroom is shabby, the amenities are good; I like a good bar of soap, and that is provided here.

A nuisance is the very, very poor internet. Reception is fine, but the throughput must be measured in bytes/s rather than kb/s.

The staff is unfriendly, correction: not friendly. Why am I paying over $150 per night in this place? But I realise there are worse rooms: when on the ground floor, it must be noisy with pedestrians and cars.

The location is good, at the far end of the french quarter, with a good breakfast place around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padgoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    423
    120
    38
    14
See reviews for
160
518
39
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great little quiet gem of a hotel.Older but in good condition.You can walk to everywhere you want to be from this place.Very nice older hotel.Staff was the friendliest I have ever encountered in N.O.I will stay here from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I love this hotel. Stayed for New Years this year and will definitely be coming back. Great price, great location, friendly staff, quiet...it's perfect. You have to pay for parking at a daily rate, but it's one of the few places in the area that even has a parking lot. Stop by the hotel bar too, some locals hang out there, they are nice to talk to. Really charming hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicathemonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for many years. It has gotten a little tired over the years but it's location and old new orleans charm still make it a good choice, whether it's your first visit to this wonderful city or if, like me, you've been traveling to new orleans for over 50 years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henryscala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a charming hotel that is well located. We were able to easily walk to many things. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the cafe and the front desk clerks were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel's design is superb. Full of character.
The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The location is the best. It's in the quarter but not in the middle of all the noise so you can sleep at night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molle, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

An old hotel with some flaws but very pleasant and also strategically located between Bourbon St. (2 blocks) and the French Market (2 blocks). It features a saltwater pool and a small cafe with limited hours.
Good locked parking at USD 10 / night.
We stayd with our daughter and 16 months old grandson and we felt safe all day and early evening hours.
We felt that it was quiet around the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Our room was facing Barracks str on second floor and we heard nothing during night hours from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atmolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#20 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
French Quarter
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,484 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#52 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richelieu in the French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richelieu in the French Quarter

Property: Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Address: 1234 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#43 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Richelieu in the French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richelieu is a small hotel, 87 rooms, located in the historic French Quarter. We have a cafe & bar which overlook our courtyard & swimming pool area. Our in-room amenities include private baths, satellite television, refrigerator, telephone with Free Wireless Internet, Free local calls, hairdryer, iron & full-size ironing board. We also feature Secure, Self Parking On Premises for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Le Richelieu in the French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richelieu In The French Quarter Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing