We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived to the holt and got up to our room we didn't have any bath towels. So, I went to the front desk to see if we could get some towels. Instead of giving id towels, the front desk lady changed and upgraded our room! Score! She didn't even think twice about it and took care of us. This hotel is minutes from bourbon street and the French district and the trolley street car stops right outside the hotel doors. There's no free breakfast but PJs has some tasty coffee. Big downside, parking is either $32 a night (valet) or $16 a night (self park). There's also a $10 a night "fee" of some sort tacked on as well. We paid about $90 for two nights of parking. I totally recommend this place for a few nights in New Orleans.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    433
    219
    53
    44
See reviews for
229
497
77
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Looks just like the pictures online. Very clean! Great location. In the middle of everything!! Friendly staff and the valet was great about telling us about self parking that is half the price of parking at the hotel. You do not need your car if yoy are just visiting the French district :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheChipperCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing among many things. .once I arrived they greeted me right away with first class service and gave me my room right away. It was pouring down raining on the day that I visited and they gave me an umbrella that saved my new hair doo and life. .I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend others to do so. .Great hotel and i really enjoyed my stay. . 5 star quality. .

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank medicalcenter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night here and were amazed at the cleanliness and modern features of the hotel. Yes the rooms were small but they were completely updated and the hotel inside and out was spotless despite its surroundings. The staff was very friendly and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candjbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, Texas
Level Contributor
307 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Really good location, right on the trolley. 2 blks from the French Quarter. Easy check in, although there was a value added tax to our room of $9.95 and park was a little high at $32 per night. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I recently stayed at Royal St. Charles from 07/03-07/07 and I enjoyed every minute of my experience. The front desk staff was always pleasant and greeted me each day upon arrival and departure. My room (#409) was perfect. It was a comfortable size, clean and had a view that overlooked Gravier street. The location was great and the price per night was competitive. At night, the hotel had a make shift bar which was a nice addition to the vibrant atmosphere. I will definitely return in the future.. Thanks to the staff for making my visit so enjoyable!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing Gravier Street. I did not hear the Trolley at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank encognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing