We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Orleans Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #56 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Orleans Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hotel lacks amenities but is comfortable and most of the staff is excellent No pool on site. Parking is off site and 3 blocks away. Have to pay cash for full stay ion the parking garage, and it is such a small place that valet is encouraged, jacking up the price double. Desk lady Amanda, lies right to your face and then acts like you didn't figure it out the rest of the stay. The bellhops were excellent. A very safe place. The concierge, Jon Grisillo I think, was great to us. Due to a family fight, my mom, son and I were left in NOLA 800 miles from home with no ride. Jon volunteered and then drove us to the airport for a rental car early in the morning without asking for payment to do so. They will take care of their guests and seem happy to. They turned a vacation that might have been awful into a very nice one. Overall, the hotel is a positive, minus the specific issues above.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cscheid2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    424
    212
    53
    39
See reviews for
225
482
76
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I'm female, single and in my thirties. I had never travelled alone before, and I've never written a review before. But the staff at Royal St. Charles was so friendly, especially Amanda at the front desk, I can't say enough good things. She always remembered me when I was in the lobby, really put me at ease when I checked in and helped me book a shuttle to the airport when I was leaving. The bed was comfortable, the room clean and quiet and I felt safe even when I came in late alone. The night guys even helped me find a diner nearby in the middle of the night since I hadn't eaten. The wifi worked great and was necessary for me to plan around town so it was a big factor in my choice. I didn't use the pool (too cold) or TV (too busy) but air conditioning worked and shower even had great water pressure and hot water. Also found the coffee shop convenient in the a.m. Overall, It was a little pricier than I initially wanted to spend but I wouldn't have traded it. I'd definitely stay there again and hope to! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights recently. Found this online and it was really ok, but not superb. Rooms and bathroom and REALLY smal....as in "two people don't fit at a time" small in bath. TV is oddly placed in veiw from bed but not couch. No mini bar or anything. It has in room coffee but this was pretty bad. You need to go downstairs to the coffee shop, which is ok if expensive. Not as good as Community Coffee places. Other than that, the location is pretty good- walk to Quarter, Cancal is half block as are the Trolley stops. Front desk staff was largely indifferent, if not unpleasant, but the bellhops who get your car, and get you in and out are charming and always pleasant and willing to advise you! Very lovely gentlemen. Of course and $33 a night for parking they SHOULD at least be nice! All in all not as nice as places I stayed in French Quarter but ok and close enough I did not miss being in the Quarter.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

One block from Canal Street and the Quarter, right on the St. Charles trolley line. Smallish hotel (10 stories, but not a lot of rooms per floor). Recently and pleasantly updated, the bed was great, the room was comfortable. The lobby has a coffee shop, and there is in-room coffee. Wonderful, friendly staff, a concierge desk with free maps, and a real live New Orleans born and bred concierge who really does know where stuff is and how to get there. Not cheap, but after you have checked out the prices for the upscale chains in the Quarter, and the very expensive lodging surrounding the Convention Center, this place is a real bargain.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolutely loved staying at the Royal St. Charles hotel…not only did they bump up our check in time after we had arrived 5 hours earlier but there services were amazingly great. Everyone was friendly and extremely helpful. Stayed with 4 friends and even though rooms are a little small we could not complain (4 very messy girls).

Room Tip: Rooms are a little small Huge Tv
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeders, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Great location very close to French Quarter. Can catch trolley right outside door. Rooms are not huge but had plenty of room. Very clean. Biggest complaint was wi fi was terrible and please just roll the resort fee into the total price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and informed about the nearby attractions, tours, and dining. The rooms were very clean. I would stay at this hotel again. Super staff. This was my anniversary weekend. They surprised us with a gift. The staff made our anniversary special.

Room Tip: The balcony is very nice room for an anniversary weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing