We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Location good-rooms too small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #55 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Delaware
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location good-rooms too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were too small for two people. I also did not like the fact there was an extra charge of $20 each a day for a fridge & microwave. Rooms were clean. The location was good. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sawnjnyde2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    375
    190
    48
    33
See reviews for
186
419
65
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We needed a place to stay in town for one night (we are locals) and found a good deal here at the Royal St. Charles. The hotel is just as advertised: Trendy, clean, well-located with small but comfortable rooms. The bed was quite nice and the amenities -- while basic -- were in good order. A/C worked great and we had no complaints about the service we received. This is not the fanciest place in town, but if you can live with the limited space, it's quite nice indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

From a quickly addressed question prior to checking in by the general manager, to valet and front desk management, we found the hotel to be well managed. The rooms were clean with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. The rooms are small/efficient, but I never go to a hotel to camp out, especially in New Orleans. Being in a downtown hotel, you always hear some street noise, and it was no exception to some of the finest hotels I've stayed in New York, Chicago, and San Francisco - expected and not an issue.

The value (even including the well disclosed fees) and location coupled with the quality of the staff made it a memorable visit. I would definitely consider staying here again rather than some of the big name hotels.

Room Tip: We requested a room facing the street. Some reviews had indicated the interior rooms were a concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The whole point of pulling up in front of a hotel is to unload your luggage. The valet at this hotel refused to allow to do so. He claimed our truck was too big....really bro? Then he said he wouldn't have a problem with it if it wasn't a Friday night. I noticed he allowed other people that came behind us to park and unload their stuff. I contacted the manager on duty and she rudely told me she would have to look into it. I stayed here over 2 weeks ago, and I have yet to hear from her. The hotel was nice enough, but the horrible service we received was enough to black ball this one from our list.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need to unload your luggage at the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBlend33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stress about where to stay whenever we travel, what a relief when we checked into this amazingly beautiful hotel! In a word? Swanky? Posh? I'm not sure if one word could describe. The lobby alone says stay awhile, and we are so glad we did. We were looking for a beautiful, clean, comfortable and quiet hotel, not right in the French Quarter, but close enough to walk to it. The Royal St. Charles Hotel EXCEEDED our expectations.
I'm pretty sure there is not a dull space in this hotel, every corner we turned was filled with beauty. From the hallways to the elevators, to the bathrooms, just gorgeous. Our room was definitely no exception.
What was truly beautiful about our room cannot really be seen, and that is the mattress! We desperately wish we could have brought it home with us. It was soooooo wonderful to slip into this oh so comfortable bed at the end of our almost 18 hour days.
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is certainly well named, we definitely felt like royalty staying here.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 10th floor, I don't know for sure that it was why it was so quiet, but it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I just had to write a review for this hotel and about our stay in New Orleans. I read up on Nola before coming here and was petrified about coming from reading the reviews even with being from Baltimore. First off, this hotel is great...its modern...the staff is terrific...the rooms are clean and yeah a lil small, but if u come 2 New Orleans to 2 be in the room go elsewhere. This hotel amenities xtremely few tho...no micowave...no fridge...no pool..yeah this sucked...but the 24 hr bar at the corner ( a 3 min walk )that sells great chicken to soak up all of the alcohol you drank at bourbon st. & u can still take a 6 pack back 2 the room once bourbon shuts down. The "shady" neighborhood is a joke. This is like any urban city. The shady people around mind their bizness...they r pretty much friendly pot dealers! Lol...u dont want pot....keep walking...lol..otherwise just chill out...enjoy...n pay attn 2 surroundings.. I♥ Nola and Royal St Charles! I WILL B BACK & STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ezbnqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at the Royal St Charles Hotel. The hotel is centrally located to the Downtown and the French Quarters.. We were near the business venues, entertainment and exquisite restaurants. The rooms were well kept and quiet. The staff was so courteous and thoughtful that we felt right at home. We want to particularly thank Randi, Jesse, Keianna and the whole RSJ team for a job very well done..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing