We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A nice upgraded hotel stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice upgraded hotel stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at the Royal St. Charles hotel a few years ago and it was in need of an update, that remodel work has been done and I was pleased with the hotel, my room and the service The front desk girl was very helpful and seemed to be there day and night. My room was not big but clean and quiet. Hotel location is great to go anywhere either by walking or streetcar stop right out front. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KCGUY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    325
    166
    46
    28
See reviews for
157
356
56
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Check-in was promising, and I was looking forward to the room, until I opened the door. It was an inside room, like on a cruise ship. No windows, just four walls and some glass cubes they put on the wall with curtains around them. Nice try. It was a claustrophobic fire hazard, and I immediately asked for a different room, but they were fully booked so we were stuck with the death trap utility closet. Luckily they were able to re-accomodate us the next day in a room with a window. It seemed like it was falling apart a bit - the phone didn't work, the toilet wasn't functioning quite right. But it was clean, the bed was comfy, and the staff did their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible, especially Raquel.

If you're looking for a clean, basic room, stay in one of their window rooms. If they can't get you into one of those, stay at a Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Stay in an outside room, not one of their death trap utility closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capital202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel was perfect! Close to Bourbon St, right outside the hotel is a bus stop that will take you most places. Great value for money as well, which is a nice bonus. Rooms are a little small though, and the one I was in had no windows, but we weren't in it much so it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: As for a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great for a short get a way. The room was very clean. Plus! I would also describe it as a bigger version of being on a cruise ship room. My room was $85 and $95 dollars a night (thurs and fri) on Expedia. The rooms are Cozy but fortune location, everything is within walking distance. It was very quiet considering everything going on on canal , FQ, and bourbon. To park in the garage was$16 + bucks per night, or $32 for valet per night . Overall I was pleased!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funtimes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Pros:
Location - central to CBD & the French Quarter. It's walking distance to pretty much everything. Additionally, the St. Charles streetcar stops right on the corner where it's located.

The shower is nice & strong.

Like the lighting in the bathroom mirror.

The front desk manager was really attentive and accommodating.

Beds & pillows are really comfy.

Cons (bring a lunch - there are many):
Ok, first the rooms are TINY. Tiny closet, tiny desk, tiny entrance - you get the drift. My sons bedroom is larger than the room we stayed in. Whoever said the rooms were "HUGE" must've been either an employee or paid reviewer because that is the farthest thing from the truth.

They put a $50 hold on my girlfriends credit card for reasons they couldn't explain. Our room was paid in full 2 months before we arrived so there was no need for the $50 charge. They eventually returned it to her but she had to fight with them to get it. Finally the manager took care of it.

Housekeeping was severely lacking. The 2nd time they cleaned our room, they failed to replenish the toilet tissue, any of the soaps and hair products, and didn't bring us towels, even though they said they would (guess they had run out). We had to call the front desk to remind them. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. SIGH.

The toilet handle would need to be jiggled in order for the water to stop running.

The TV would lose it's signal and only one channel would work.

The electrical outlets were sketchy - some worked, some didn't.

Walls are paper thin - you hear everything.

No fridge, no microwave.

We paid $189/night plus a $10/day "Value Package Fee" = resort fee so basically $200/night. It was SO NOT WORTH IT. Next time, I'm staying at the Marriott.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissesJai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

THis hotel is awesome! The location is terrific. Our room was clean and fresh. We had a city view to die for! The hotel recently went through major updating. The only draw back is there
is a "resort fee" of $10. That aside its a super nice place to stay. We highly suggest anyone
going to the NOLA to check it out.

Room Tip: Ask for upper levels. Noise factor becomes less of an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logansmom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Check in at 4. Out at 11. Really? It's NOLA. $10.00 daily fee for safe, fit center, Internet. Should be part of price! And I don't need any of it. Just really tacky . Tiny tiny room. Comfy bed. Front desk ladies are not friendly or helpful! Toilet is way too close to bed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#89 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing