We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Renovated Rooms - Close to Everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Renovated Rooms - Close to Everything!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is my second year staying at this property while in town for Jazzfest. Last year I was perfectly happy but the room was dated. This year it was a bit more expensive but everything had been renovated. I had a room with a sitting room that had a 2nd TV and a couch as well as windows all around the rooms.The staff at check-in could not have been nicer and a special thank you to Diana, the concierge, who checked on the progress of my shuttle for my return to the airport. This hotel is just outside of The French Quarter,which happily is close enough to everything but just far enough from the noise and crowds. There are two drug stores within 2-3 blocks of the hotel, so if you need snacks it's easy to get them - but c'mon folks you're in New Orleans - go out and eat!!!! Can't wait until next year!

Room Tip: The higher up - the less sound from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    433
    219
    53
    44
See reviews for
229
497
77
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We got a great deal staying at this hotel! After arriving, we were greeted with the friendly smiles of the staff. After using valet for my car, I explained to the valet guy how my back doors were broke and sometimes did not lock back. The guy assured me that they would take care of everything and make sure my doors were locked. From the second floor balcony, I observed the guy move my car and before going inside he checked EVERY door to make sure they were locked. It's the little things that go the distance for customers! My only complaint is that the shower did not have enough pressure and the trolley was loud. All in all, thumbs up to the Royal St. Charles Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went to new orleans with a friend. New Orleans its self was fantastic and i would recommend anyone who likes live music to go.
The royal st charles is an average hotel but rooms are small. There is a resort fee of 29 dollars and parking is 32 dollars per day for valet and 19 dollars per day self park. The room was not ready on our arrival even though we were after the recommended arrival time.
There is no proper food facilities in the hotel but is a tourist information adviser who was fairly helpful.
Reception staff were of average service and there was no staff to help with getting bags to the room. The hotel was however very clean and comfortable and in a good location to visit all attractions.

Room Tip: This hotel has inside rooms with no windows so if natural light is important to you make sure you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainetheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

By far the best hotel staff that i have encountered. Diana is wonderful person to tell about great place visit. She is the best. I have been to New Orleans many times. Diana told me about places that on the tourist and tips about artist joining other artist for the n

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hello308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogue Chitto,MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice lobby an room decor was nice just small an I mean small,there was no microwave are fridges as other viewers say the coffee shop in lobby was nice I love d smell of coffee ok the bathroom was small also, no counter space an tub wasn't so inviting I ended up buying some cleaner of my own an cleaned tub but d yellowing was still there I used a big towel to stand on while showering don't know if that help keep germs away but I felt better doin so anyways bed comforter was really yellow not impressed at all, upgrade on linens for your beds it really makes a difference, I asked for housekeeping d next morning she cleaned room an changed sheets but not d comforter to me a clean bed means everything gets replaced when changing linens an sheets were so thin, bed was comfortable also pillows were nice our room was 1017 there was no window to see outside,but they had a sunlight window not sure wt to call it. There's a nice flat screen an desk area iron,iron board, in cabinet there's no extra counter space we paid 149$ thru Priceline an total at checkout was $430 that was for 2 nights with valet parking, valet were nice sometimes they had a door guy an upon checkout we were approached by a nice lady with d hotel who asked us how our stay was an wanted us to return will soon! The location is great if u are a party person like myself very close to canal an there is a poboy shop close by called Serio I think an other food places to would I return only if d price is cheaper an d bedding has to b better.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel itself is O.K, but not really family friendly. There are no fridges in the rooms and not bathroom vanities, There is not parking on site and it's a 2 1/2 block walk to the parking garage where you are only allowed to park on floors 6-10, which can be gotten to up a series of steep and narrow ramps...some of which are 2-way. All of this for a nitely charge of $16.00 if you opt for the self-park (it's $32. for valet) Very scary! They also have a surcharge, which they call a "Value added Package" (?) for using the internet and the phone. That being said, the hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable and the location is good, being proximal to the french quarter and Canal st.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBobCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My first time in New Orleans and I didn't get to do too much research before I arrived. The concierge assistant Dianne seemed to just know everything that needed to be done in the city. Hats off for service! The location is great with a tram stop directly outside of the hotel. Our room was spacious and well put together - all in all a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#30 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing