We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #65 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room I was in on the 10th floor was quite small (one of those with a bed and not much space around it) but well appointed, had a coffee maker and nice bathroom amenities. There is no breakfast restaurant but they have a chain coffee place at the lobby (with rather expensive muffins). You can walk in 2 minutes to the entrance to Bourbon Street (or other streets to the French Quarter). I paid something like $95 including tax per night at Kayak, which I think is a really good deal for the location (and I think normally it costs more). Valet parking was something like $35, but you can also self-park for $16 at a garage 2 blocks away (the hotel recommended that one), where you go in and have to leave by 4 pm the next day (respectively re-park, I guess). Not sure about in/out privileges. Or you do what I did if you want to drive around anyhow (Garden District, Mardi Gras World, etc), which is to street park for free after 6 pm (I always found a place around the corner from the hotel), go down before 8 am, pay a few dollars to park until 10 am, and then leave and start your discovery day.

Room Tip: I guess a higher floor is better so you see at least a bit of the city and escape the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun4oli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Apparently you have to be very specific if you don't want a crappy interior storage closet "room"

This is the second stay (and last). First time, had a nice room, decent size, big window with a good view. Second visit, room was so small and dark, we IMMEDIATELY called the front desk and informed them this would not be acceptable and not at all what we paid for. We did get changed to an outside room with a window at least, lovely view of the parking garage roof across the street.

Very noisy room though. Smoke alarm went off at 10am while trying to shower and check-out, it can not be shut off by the guest apparently. It did help motivate our egress to proceed much faster though with it's deafening volume.

We'll be finding somewhere else to stay on future trips.

Room Tip: BE 10,000% SURE TO ASK FOR A ROOM ON THE OUTSIDE!!! Interior rooms are little more than converted s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great hotel the st. Charles line is literally at the hotel's front door. Walk 2 blocks into the French quarter.
Hotel was recently renovated so it is clean and everything is brand new. Staff could not have been nicer.
Highly recommend this hotel. Great price great location.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if they can do it they will.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sellutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Riddle: When is a hotel room with no window and no closet an appealing choice? Answer: When a room with a window is so noisy nobody can sleep! Don't let the "groovy" lobby fool you, this is not a place you want to stay. The staff was rude and indifferent (I had to interrupt his personal phone call to get some attention from the desk clerk). We were given a room with no window and no closet. We were traveling with two other couples who were both exhausted after trying to sleep at this hotel. Their rooms had a window but were so noisy sleep was impossible. We had been traveling a long time, we had a lot of luggage. Our room had no closet and no place to put luggage other than the floor.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had requested a room with a balcony about three months prior to our booking, but got a tiny room with no window. It took a bit of talking with the desk before we were upgraded to a suite. The recent renovation gave the hotel a real kick upward. While you're there ask about the Hobnobber which is just around the corner. It's a hole in the wall with great, great food, friendly service and cheap prices.

Book the St. Charles but demand a balcony when you book it and have your call documentation ready just in case. You will leave with a smile on your face after your stay.

Room Tip: Once again - Do whatever it takes for a balcony when you make your reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmccomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

When I arrived to the property, I was forced to pay more money for the room I pre-booked with a mandatory resort fee. This wouldn't bother me if it was optional but it wasn't.

The person checking me in looked like she would rather be anywhere else than checking me in. When we get to the hotel, it is freezing cold and NO WINDOW. I asked to be changed to a window room but that would have been an extra 15$ per night. She just changed me to a different, less cold room with NO WINDOW. This was really annoying as the weather was changing and rainy, and couldn't look outside to see if I needed an umbrella or what not.

At 4:00 am in the morning, a random guest at the hotel came into our room, and we had to wake up and say that we already have this room. The front desk lady must of forgotten to put in the computer that we changed rooms.

Still worth noting, but not so bothersome, is the decorations are tacky.
Location is good and bed is comfortable are the positives, but I would never come back to this property.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellymani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised from the moment I stepped into the property. The lobby is fun and energetic - a true New Orleans vibe. The location is perfect for both business and pleasure travel. I found the coffee shop in the lobby to be a great amenity. My room was a great size and the finishes were beautiful - much nicer than I was expecting from a boutique hotel. The staff was super friendly and really helpful. All-in, a fantastic property and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#81 of 167 in New Orleans
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $113 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing