We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property, Amazing Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal St Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #57 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Fantastic Property, Amazing Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised from the moment I stepped into the property. The lobby is fun and energetic - a true New Orleans vibe. The location is perfect for both business and pleasure travel. I found the coffee shop in the lobby to be a great amenity. My room was a great size and the finishes were beautiful - much nicer than I was expecting from a boutique hotel. The staff was super friendly and really helpful. All-in, a fantastic property and great value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    315
    157
    46
    24
See reviews for
147
344
54
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a recently renovated, very reasonably priced jr suite on the 6th floor. it was small but clean. Bathroom is basic, but the bed was comfortable and we appreciated the three windows in our corner location and the nice city views. Quite a few of the rooms are interior spaces. If a window is important to you, be sure and request.

Location is great. Two blocks to favorite spots in the French Quarter, but also easy access to the museums and St Charles street car. We will go back.

Room Tip: jr suite is quite a bit more spacious and still reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigantinebeach_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great boutique hotel only one block from Bourbon St. Its very clean, Quiet and convenient without the crazy parting noise of Bourbon St. We highly recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy The PArty but want to sleep too.

Room Tip: We stayed in 603 and had a great window view and great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was in New Orleans for the first time at the very beginning of Mardi gras I had no reservations and figured I would wing it. I had no clue the parades started as it was an unexpected trip and my first time there. I used kayak to find a place to stay for a decent price after being on the road for 8 hours. I am sooooooo glad I found the royal st Charles! The prices were decent and it had been recently renovated. I figured one night and if we didn't like it we could find something better. I stayed there the whole week! The room was small but the beds were soft and plush. The shower had the best water pressure ever! The room, lobby and halls were extremely clean. Although the room was small it was comfortable and nice. The real stars were the ladies at the front desk. Each one was behind pleasant and helpful and took care of my every need! Great great customer service. The concierge was nice too. We parked for a discount at the holiday in a few blocks away. The location of the hotel gave us perfect viewing of the parade from our window and we were the next corner from canal st. We were in walking distant to the French quarter and walked every where (had to get some sneaks at the lady footlocker around the corner lol). It was awesome and felt I got a great deal. I loved it and will be staying again!

Room Tip: If your going for the parades ask for a room with a balcony or facing st Charles, the ladies at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeraurs182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Vallet was exceptionally helpful, room was ready and the front desk was very courteous. Rooms have been updated since our last stay. Noise insulation with the door needs to be upgraded. You can hear evzones in the hall and it being New Orleans means all night.

Room Tip: Great spot outside quarter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Pulling up to the hotel the valet was very polite helped with bags and let me know about the prices which were very expensive compared to other hotels I have stayed at in New Orleans checked in to find out there was a extra 9.95 charge for I dont know what the lobby was very nice complete with very nice decorations and tv's and a pj's coffee front desk clerk was very quick not the friendliest but she did do her job. checked in to room 414 the room was clean but very SMALL and the walls are real thin I heard vaccum cleaners,sex,and unhappy housekeeping employees conversations and just to let yall know they want a raise lol. the hotel is in a PERFECT location being a few steps from canal street and a block from bourbon. overall i would stay here again but it would not be my first choice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton, surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in March 2013. Great Location just a short walk from Canal St and the entrance to the French Quarter. Rooms were clean and perfectly fine. However it was probably the least powerful shower I have ever experienced in a US hotel room and we have been in a good few on our travels. The real thing that bugged me was the 9.95 service charge that was added per day to cover wi-fi, calls and use of the gym. Far better to charge for these things when you want to use them and not clout everyone with this ridiculous fee. Its the little things sometimes that can decide whether you would stay somehwere again and this service charge would prevent me from wanting to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nellygeldado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#84 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#47 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Property: Royal St Charles Hotel
Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Clarion Collection Royal St Charles Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing