We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, service was terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal St Charles Hotel
Ranked #65 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while visiting New Orleans. Overall, the hotel is pretty nice for the price, but the service was horrible! The lady at the desk that assisted me with check-in was extremely rude and acted like I was a huge nuisance. I'd suggest that they hire friendlier employees, as the one that I interacted with was far from friendly. On a positive note, the location and value were both good.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachykeen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just got back from our stay at the Royal St. Charles and it was a good one. The hotel is very clean and located a block away from Canal and a block and half away from Royal Street in the French Quarter and about 3 blocks from Bourbon. The room we had was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. Considering all the other hotels we've stayed at in New Orleans, this one was the best one by far and the cleanest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I needed a place to stay during a conference trip. I read reviews of all the hotels in this price range and found this one to have the most stable reviews. The reviews were mediocre, but better than other reviews. I was checking in to the hotel with very low expectations. I thought the hotel would need remodeling and that I would probably have to sleep in a depressing moldy room.

PROS
I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel IS undergoing remodeling and that my room seemed like it was already remodeled. Everything was modern, the staff were very friendly and I felt like it was almost worth the money.

CONS
The low flow toilet was a problem....
The loud Spanish Euros next door were having a "who can talk the loudest" contest. The walls may be a bit thin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ginapinolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank DorthePihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank renato-angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Qualquer andar é bom., pois não fica em avenidad movimentada, sem barulho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VanoliAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,387 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#86 of 166 in New Orleans
2,899 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $98 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing