We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #64 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great weekend in NO”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our first visit to New Orleans included staying here. The location was great for frequent visits to the French Quarter. The staff was very nice and helpful when possible. Small but decent workout facility. The room was clean, suitable for our needs. We didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel, so paying much higher prices elsewhere makes no sense. We will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevLutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear KevLutt,

It's always spectacular when we can be a part of making our guests' first visit to New Orleans special. We're happy to hear that you found our staff eager to assist you and that your room was clean and suited to your needs. Our location is indeed very conveniently located near the French Quarter, making it easy for our guests to visit Bourbon Street, the art galleries on Royal Street, and the other amazing New Orleans destinations that the French Quarter is famous for. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you on your future visits to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    527
    176
    69
    46
See reviews for
182
421
53
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Mississippi
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I frequently stay at Pere Marquette New Orleans and always find the staff attentive and the accommodations very comfortable, but a recent stay with a 20 month-old grandson further confirmed and reinforced our earlier observations that this hotel is among the best-staffed in the Renaissance properties beginning with the management team at the top and including every other position through the bellmen and parking attendants, who all took particular interest in the comfort of the baby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Patsy,

We're thrilled to hear that you had another excellent stay at the Pere Marquette. We appreciate your loyalty to the property and it was our absolute pleasure to host you and your family. We're glad that you found the service so thoroughly attentive from the management to the bellmen and valet team. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here from Wednesday through Sunday of the first weekend of Jazz Fest. Rates were high for most of our stay, because of demand during the festival, but we got our money's worth. The room was very clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. When everything was very busy and cabs were hard to fine, the bellman went a block down the street to another intersection to find one. It is conveniently located just a block outside the French Quarter.

Room Tip: There was construction going on across the street from our room, which did get noisy one morning whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear TomM1951,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Pere Marquette. We hope you enjoyed every minute of Jazz Fest and we're delighted to hear that you had such a great experience at the hotel, with extremely friendly service and clean, well-appointed rooms. Our staff does go above and beyond to ensure that all of our guests have the best possible time during their stay. We hope to see you for Jazz Fest 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Every person working here that we interacted with was very accommodating. Even staff just passing by was friendly.
We only had breakfast but it was very good.
Rooms were a little small but we were not here to stay in our rooms!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollysDaughter_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear DollysDaughter_27,

It's great that you experienced exceptional, friendly service during your stay with us at the Pere Marquette. We're also pleased you enjoyed the breakfast- should you stay with us again, we definitely encourage you to try MiLa, one of the Top Ten restaurant in New Orleans that is located on our property. We're sorry you found our newly renovated rooms a bit cozy; they are the typical size for rooms located in downtown New Orleans. We 're glad you were able to take advantage of all the sights and sounds in the nearby area. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, basic but very close to Bourbon Street. I would say the business conference areas were very nice for smaller meetings and the.food overall for.luncheons and dinners were very good and kept well stocked. Staff was very attentive from door man to serving staff and housekeeping. I would certainly recommend However I would stay away at all costs the side of the hotel with main entrance and lobby as construction and trash dropping down a metal chute begins between 6:00-6:30 am in the mornings on weekdays. Not sure on weekends. Bell man said this construction could go on another year! Yikes! !

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HighAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear HighAtl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's excellent to hear that you found the meeting space well-suited for your meeting and that the staff was incredibly attentive to your needs. We are sorry to hear that you were affected by the intermittent construction noise; while the neighboring restoration project will continue for some time, the particularly noisy phase of interior demolition and discard of materials has come to a close and is no longer impacting hotel customers as it had been previously. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your future trips to New Orleans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

i checked in on 4/21/14 - it was so easy and everyone is so polite. when i walked into the hotel from the parking garage i was immediately surprised by how nice the lobby was - very well decorated. the elevators are fast and i was in room 1911. the room was clean. the closet is a little small but that's ok i didn't have much to hang up. the small fridge was great to keep sodas and water cold. sometime the channels didn't come through on the cable, like discovery channel on tuesday when i wanted to watch the premier of deadliest catch (but then again you're in NOLA - so who cares about the tv). the bed is incredibly comfortable. the health room (3 treadmills, i sit down bike, i eliptical, and some free weights) is nice - all the machines worked. i had the breakfast (came a part of my room package) the staff is amazing. you can order from the menu or have the buffet (which i did) and if you like eggs, grits, oatmeal, bacon, fruit, and pastries - it's great! my only issue was the evening reception for marriot members. it was at the bar, but i wish it was set up buffet style like breakfast. the bar only sits about 10 people and when its full you have no where to sit. All in all, the location is great - one block from bourbon street, about 1.5 miles to cafe du mond, less to the casino, you can really enjoy staying here and just walking around the city. there is a walgreens and/or cvs on either corner so its very convenient.

i would stay here again - especially because of the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zerimar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Zeimar007,

Thank you for your kind words about the Renaissance Pere Marquette. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service. We're pleased that you enjoyed a clean room, well-appointed health club, and the breakfast. We'd also like to thank you for your suggestions as they will help us perfect the experience of future guests. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days during the national school board conference. It is a nice hotel, a block off the French quarter. Very small lobby but decent times rooms. Major construction right across the street from the front door, but our room was in the opposite end of the hotel. They do nickel and dime you a little bit, no free wifi, but it's not hard to find wifi anywhere around that's free. $230 per night should include wifi when you can get free wifi at motel 6.

Room Tip: Stay away from the construction if you can. It's very loud from the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Greg,

We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be equipped with good staff and decent rooms. We hope to be able to provide free wifi in the rooms in the future, but we currently do provide complimentary wifi on the first floor of the hotel for our guests who find the in-room wifi cost-prohibitive. We very much apologize if you were not informed about this complimentary amenity, as many of our guests enjoying working from our unique, comfortable seating areas in that space. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your future trips to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#61 of 163 in New Orleans
2,338 reviews
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing