We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel in a convenient location...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #68 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a nice Renaissance hotel is a convenient part of New Orleans. It is adjacent to Bourbon Street and Canal Street so there is plenty to see and do in the area.

The Staff was very helpful and friendly. My room was nice, but some of the hallway carpeting looked well worn. I thought charging $30 for parking was a rip-off but there are no other options.

All in all I enjoyed my stay and I would consider staying here if I am in the area on business again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpm-indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is great location for visiting New Orleans. We stayed 2 nights for Sugar Bowl! Rooms were great and staff was friendly! Little on the high price for what you receive! But that is due to location. we did not need a car for anything because everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the New Year's holiday and the Sugar Bowl and were pretty satisfied. The location is very good if you enjoy visiting the French Quarter but don't want to deal with the crowd or noise when you're done. The start of Bourbon Street is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel entrance, so you're far enough away to get a good night's sleep after your evening out. Beyond that, the hotel is pretty centrally located for visitors. You're about a 10-12 minute walk from Jackson Square as well as to the Superdome. The staff was polite and efficient and helped us check in several hours early upon our arrival. We stayed on the club level, so were provided afternoon snacks, beverages and breakfasts. The club staff was friendly and helpful. The club amenities were adequate although not the fanciest or most-generous we've ever experienced. We were a little disappointed by our room. I wouldn't say it was small, just laid out poorly. The bedroom portion was medium-sized but with too much/poorly arranged furniture. On the other hand, the bathroom was huge with 50% of its space unused! Poor space planning. Also - there was no mini-bar. Instead, there was a small bar fridge that did not appear to work - ours stayed warm our entire stay. Beyond that, we had everything we needed in our room and it was quiet. The lobby/bar area was ok, although oddly decorated. I was surprised to see that some of their holiday decorations were damaged/falling apart when we arrived on 12/31. And was surprised again the next day to see staff removing them in the middle of a holiday - New Year's Day! Talk about anti-climatic! It just struck us as a little unpolished. We did eat and drink at the lobby bar one evening and found the prices and selection to be good. All in all, this is a pretty good hotel selection in a city filled with great options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrapChickTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Classy, updated hotel in a quiet location on the border of the Central Business District and the French Quarter. Beautiful lobby and nicely appointed, modern-look rooms. Front-desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Pere Marquette for two nights in late December on a neighborhood-hopping trip that included the Hotel Modern and Hotel Indigo. Please see my reviews of the other two hotels for reference. We booked a Priceline rate at the Renaissance due to its location near, but not in, the French Quarter. Being on a side street kept the hotel away from the raucous street party, but it also made us nervous walking back at night. It was also challenging to find nearby parking, with garage rates doubling on an LSU game day; the hotel charges $30 a night for valet. The hotel also charges daily for wifi, an unpleasant surprise for frequent business travelers not used to being nickeled-and-dimed for what is now an essential service.

On the plus side, the service was attentive and the room immaculate. Housekeeping accommodated our schedule, and guest services immediately sent an engineer to help when we had an issue with the bathroom. At checkin, we swapped our King room on the third floor for a Double-Double on a higher, quieter floor. The room itself was roomy, well-kept, and quiet. However, each double bed was much too narrow for two people, and our sleep quality suffered.

In summary, I would recommend the Renaissance Pere Marquette if you can score a reduced rate, but at rack rates, there are better values nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived at the Pere Marquette, by taxi from the airport. There was no one to hold the door open as we tried to get our bags into the hotel. Once inside people were friendly and polite.
Our room was to say the least boring. There was a desk and chair, but no other chair in the room. The flat screen tv was not brits enough to want to watch and the room had some sort of scent that bothered my wife's allergies. It was just OK.

Room Tip: We were in room 1018 next to the freight elevator. I would avoid rooms ending in 18 if all the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

There are three marriott properties within a few blocks of each other and this is my least favorite. The entrance is a couple blocks off the main street, so I was a little nervous walking alone. The bar area is nice, but there was this terrible air freshener or something that was making me sick. The rooms were fine, but nothing special. This hotel is good if you can get a really good value, but if it is the same as the others, I would pick another one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#71 of 166 in New Orleans
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,608 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#83 of 166 in New Orleans
2,935 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $123 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing