We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
197 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Its modern, clean and functional. The folks are friendly. No real complaints - the location is actually great, since its close enough to the french quarter, and restaurants such as Emerils. Great walks to all the areas. And is quiet enough so you can sleep. The hotel itself was basic, to me - and serves the purpose. I would in short recommend it - if you know New Orleans well - and I do. If you want a true french quarter experience, try the more boutique hotels in that quarter. But this does the job quite nicely.

Room Tip: A room on the inside serves you better, lower to no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freq_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    516
    169
    62
    43
See reviews for
174
407
50
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Both my husband and I travel frequently for work and often stay at Marriott properties. The Pere Marquette has a good location but for the money, a very average hotel. Pics of the hotel online show mainly the lobby which is very cool and eclectic. The rooms however, are merely average and a bit small.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sbucch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I love this hotel! The rooms are lovely - modern, but still retaining some of the original features of the building, with lovely decor. The bathrooms are fantastic - again, with all mod cons but renovated in a style that is sympathetic to the building and New Orleans. The location is great - only two blocks to Bourbon St and Canal St, fair enough away for it to be quiet but easy to stumble back to!

There is quite a popular bar/lounge area downstairs that had live music and great cocktails, but it was a bit noisy. We were on the 7th floor and did not hear anything, but if you were closer down this might be a problem.

The breakfast was nice but stick to the a la carte as the buffet was a bit stale both times we ate there.

Only downside was the staff were not as friendly as they could have been - was looking forward to some real Southern hospitality but felt like they were just going through the motions. Helpful enough but did not blow me away!

Tip - there are no guest laundry facilities at this hotel, but if you take your room key to the JW Marriott two blocks away, they will let you use their guest laundry for free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 5th floor if noise is an issue, due to the downstairs bar.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuCuppari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Be aware that there are 14 Marriotts in New Orleans and 4 on Common Street alone so you must be very specific with your cab driver! Room was spacious, clean, and quiet. Gym was pretty good. Didn't eat at the hotel but the coffee shop across the street is amazing. Aveda bath products were nice. Only downsides: microscopic pool and you had to pay for WiFi.

Room Tip: A bar and street can be a little noisy so higher floor are likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smigiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the above noted hotel from 9/19-9/24 (5 nights) while attending the AARP Convention. Renaissance properties within Marriott's collection of hotels seldom fail. Up scale full service properties that provide great restaurants, bars, and other amenities. As a Gold Elite Member, I always expect excellence. This hotel did not fail. From check-in to check-out the service was excellent. The breakfast buffet as well as the evening light meal and desert were all attractively presented and the quality of each was excellent.

A lot of work is being done up and down Canal Street. Those who will be attending the bowl game at the beginning of 2013 and the Super Bowl, should look at this property as your hotel of choice. You won't be disappointed.

I would like to thank the below named individuals for their excellent service. Questions were always answered with a smile and any and all concerns were addressed immediately. I watched each of them multitask during my stay during high occupancy at the hotel. They never missed a beat.

Thank you to:
London
Shanette
Angelique
Yvette

Room Tip: I would suggest a high floor, corner rm. Perhaps 1608.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Both retro and sleekly modern we had an amazing time at this hotel. Wonderful location close to all the action. The rooms are small in a good way-think euro boutique hotel. Bath products from aveda really impressed me as well. Can't recommend this hotel enough!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Best part about this hotel is location. Stayed 3 nights in September and really enjoyed my time there. The staff is very friendly and helpful, easy parking (valet) and great central location to local attractions. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLGORDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#57 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing