We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location for a weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed at the Renaissance Pere Marquette Hotel on a long getaway weekend and it was perfect for our itinerary. We started our weekend on a Thursday and were politely greeted on arrival. The staff is very friendly and helpful and told us about some live music later in the evening that night. Our room was clean and neat with a nice view of downtown and the pool a few levels below. Daily service was prompt and left any of our personal items undisturbed. We love the extra special service of opening the door or hailing a cab which is expected in a city and done with a smile here. Take advantage of the knowledge of the front desk to suggest great restaurants and places to see from the French Quarter to the Riverwalk to the Garden District. We will definitely be back and thank you for a memorable stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    478
    151
    55
    40
See reviews for
151
364
47
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is close to everything you could possibly want to see & do. Room 718 was a nice size as well as the bathroom. This room overlooked the roof top pool. The decor in the lobby was beautiful. Valet was $32.48/day. Breakfast for 2 was $44 and room service for 1 (new orleans burger) was $22. If you are unable to get into a restaurant or don't want to be out late at night try Oceana Grill, they will deliver here!
I will definitely stay here the next time I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Haven
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Room was very nice updated look, huge bathroom! Had breakfast at Mila's a bit too pricey for eggs but when your on vacation. . .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastSideInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a great stay here.
Great location, sparkling clean and super helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The best thing about the Pere Marquette is the location. It is one block out of the French Quarter across Canal Street from Bourbon Street. So its close to everything, but also very quiet. We never heard anyone else in either of our two stays there. The rooms are medium to small, but they are nice and clean. We stayed in an upgraded room on our second stay there and had a nice flat screen tv in the room. The other room we had the first time had an older tv (but who goes to New Orleans to watch tv)?

I recommend this hotel for business travel or a couples trip. With the size of the room (and what's going on in New Orleans) I don't think I would be good for children.

Room Tip: Get a room that has been updated recently with a flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devers0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Fantastic hotel - great service and in a fantastic location. This hotel is very close to the French Quarter, among various shopping stores/mall. I stayed on the 19th FL - would recommend this to everyone as it offers a 'special lounge' that's always stocked with treats, drinks, etc. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our 3 night stay was wonderful. The room was not large, but we didn't spend much time there. The pool area was adequate, and was the fittness room. We had breakfast at Mila's and it was very good. The clerks, doormen, and other employees were so friendly and helpful. Remember, this is a very old building that has been renovated many times. We found it to be very enjoyable. Within walking distance to the French Quarter and streetcar stops.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Saint Hotel, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Central Business District
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Address: 817 Common St, New Orleans, LA 70112-2307
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#45 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#60 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#61 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capture the incomparable spirit of New Orleans with a big, easy stay at Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel. Set in the heart of the legendary French Quarter, our boutique New Orleans hotel provides a one-of-a-kind experience with floors and conference rooms named for jazz greats. Modern amenities seamlessly blend with the splendor of our mid-1920s building. Relax in style in well-appointed rooms boasting photography from local artists. Enjoy neo-Creole dining at MiLa, one of the most popular restaurants near Canal Street. A state-of-the-art conference center provides nearly 7,000 square feet of sophisticated New Orleans business and conference space to keep professionals on task and productive. We're also an ideal choice for a New Orleans wedding reception with onsite planners ready to assist! Break a sweat in the fitness center, or take it easy in our stylish lounge. Let us help you create lasting memories and extraordinary experiences during your stay at our boutique New Orleans hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing