We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olde Town Inn
Ranked #66 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My husband and I travelled to New Orleans with another couple. We were looking for a hotel that was near The French Quarter and Bourbon Street, Economical, and Not a "traditional" hotel. We thought we would have to sacrifice on at least one of these three. However, The Olde Towne Inn exceeded all of our desires. The rooms were quaintly personalized, the courtyard provided endless amusement, and the breakfast (although simple coffee and pastries) was fresh and delicious. In response to the reviews discussions about noise, we had no problems at all. We stayed in the middle rooms (across from the vending machines), next door to each other and a couple of doors down from a couple with a young child. We experienced no issues with outside noises. The staff and accomodations made an already memorable vacation even more so and we are already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina_Rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    92
    50
    24
    38
See reviews for
30
117
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We travel a lot. We like charming funky offbeat places. But the crude folks who run it were uncivil enough not to warn us when we reserved that our room shared a paper thin wall with a cavernous concrete outdoor dining area which at 7:00 A M became the inn's social hub as all the guests gathered over free breakfast to laugh over their adventures...the food prep surface was inches from our weary heads. We were already worn out from a sleepless night spent listening to the leaky sink they admitted later was scheduled for repair the day after we left. The pitifully worn out bed would not support both of us so we had to sleep in separate beds! Bathroom had no exhaust fan and its non-sealing doors (obviously designed for a closet) could not be pulled closed from outside the bathroom!
When the front desk refused to consider any kind of a refund, we asked for the owner to call us....four days have passed. When I called back trying to get a response the front desk clerk called me an " _ _ _hole." Nice. We are calling visa to get the charges backed off.
These people are jerks. The place looks cute. BUT, our room was unusable. Falling apart, warped wobbling floors with moldy smelling carpet. Buyer Beware!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sg2slygrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Minneapolis MN USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Affordable, friendly, convenient, charming. First, they were very friendly and approachable on the phone; when we arrived (very late), very friendly, brought a stuffed animal for our 8-year-old daughter. Room was small but comfortable, private sleeping area for daughter, who loved it, beautifully decorated. Marvelous courtyard for breakfast (pastries/coffee), friendly/interesting other guests. Walking distance to French Quarter, but neighborhood feels more like "the real" New Orleans, near a grocery story so could save on meals. Can't say too many good things about this place.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

If you have trouble finding accomodation in NOLA and need to stay here, only do so if you can book rooms 31/32 or if you can't afford anything else. Although location is fabulous and the courtyard is an interesting to gather, rooms are at best dingy and noisy (except 31/32), breakfast laughable and depending on who is at the front desk - there is no guarantee of friendly service. Whatever you do, don't book the 2 bedroom with one king and 2 twin beds on the main floor adjacent the street. The wood ceiling is the floor of the room above with NO insulation. Also,a bedroom wall is the stair well wall for the upper floors, also no insulation. Worst room I've seen in my entire life!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I searched high and low, for a hotel that could accomodate 7 guys on a motorcycle trip. The Olde Town Inn was the place. Not only was there great secured parking for 7 motorcycles, but the accomodations were excellent, and the owner and staff were wonderful!!!! Ginger, the owner, was great. The courtyard was a great place to relax after a long day of riding and sightseeing, with a breeze that made it very comfortable, even when it was hot out on the street.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxG8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My fiance' and i used this inn for a friends wedding and to be honest we were very concerned about our stay after reading reviews but we were very pleased with our stay. We stayed in room # 11 and it was very quaint and cozy. It was very clean and taking very good care of. The staff was very nice and very helpful. We will definately stay at Olde Town Inn again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khawk251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

today is sunday. clearly far enough in advance to cancel my booking that is friday. they are keeping my deposit. !!!!!

7day cancellation policy that is NO WHERE LISTED ON THEIR WEBSITE!

so never stay there if you don't need to cancel. it's dumb, it's uncommon, it's not right!

Stayed February 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank boopbettyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#62 of 139 in New Orleans
176 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#47 of 139 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#56 of 139 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 139 in New Orleans
232 reviews
Garden District
Magnolia Mansion
Magnolia Mansion
#104 of 139 in New Orleans
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Property: Olde Town Inn
Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, On the Corner of Marigny St. And N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8543
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing