We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst room in the US”
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olde Town Inn
Ranked #90 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 26, 2013

But is is a contender. Chipped, thrift store quality furniture, no cold water for three days, and threadbare bathroom mats, to say nothing of what appeared to be discolored ceilings and chipped paint throughout.

Management refused to allow a room change, even though we stayed long enough to see many rooms become available to new occupants.

Complimentary breakfast consisted of items that could have been purchased at a gas station.

We were there for the Jazz Festival. Friends who stayed close by had nice rooms for half the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mheitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

When we booked our trip we were looking for threat NOLA charm. We found that at Olde Town. The staff was so nice and helpful and the antique furnishings added that extra feel to our trip. The location was perfect, we were close enough to the French Quarter to walk the distance and saved money on transportation. Can't wait to book our next trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borifro418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay was excellent. The location was within easy walking distance of the French Quarter. Exceptionally helpful and friendly front desk staff. Beds were comfortable, clean. Easy walking distance restaurant just a couple blocks away - very good breakfast, quaint country diner style.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently just stayed, five of us, in one of the big, shotgun house suites. We were so thoroughly happy with our stay. Keep in mind, the hotel is older, so there are a few obvious things to expect with that -- some draft, older plumbing, and caulking, nothing major at all. It totally added to the charm of the place. Kept very clean.

The staff is amazing. We dealt with several of them over our three day stay. All of them went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful, from giving great restaurant advice and directions, to bringing us a little extra food when we were late for the continental breakfast. You don't find service like that often.

The location was fun. Close enough where we were able to walk to the French Quarter, French Market, and Frenchman street very easily and often. Much easier to do that then to take our car. But far enough away to where it was very quiet. We spent alot of time just hanging outside on the stoop watching people go by. We felt very safe in the neighborhood.

I would definitely stay at the Olde Town Inn again and would gladly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czechchick1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived back home from our Anniversary trip to New Orleans. We meet some great people. The were very helpful during our entire stay. The rooms were nice and clean. The location could not have been more perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our vehicle was not moved until we left for home. The Inn was also located in a quiet and safe area. We are already thinking about when we are heading back.

Room Tip: Call the Inn before and they will beat any offers you received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for such a great review. We look forward to having you stay with us again....
Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently booked two rooms here for family that were visiting Easter weekend. My original reason for picking this hotel was that I live just a few blocks down so it was convenient. This turned out to be the least of the reasons you should stay here! The rooms were very nice and clean, the whole family thought it had great New Orleans ambiance. They said the beds were very comfortable. They felt like they were staying with friends.
I thought the staff was outstanding! The gentleman that checked them in (I went with them for check in) was named Sam. Sam did a wonderful job of welcoming everyone, walking them to the room for the first time and explaining about the breakfast area and parking. During the walk to each room he gave them a little information about the history of the property, which really just made us all fall in love with the place.
Bonus - the first morning there when my family arrived at my house they were all so excited - a young man on a bicycle had stopped at the front door of the hotel to say good morning - Sam ask him "No song this morning?" and at that he began to sing, perfectly and beautifully! What an excellent example of New Orleans hospitality on Sam's part to think of it for them and what an excellent example of New Orleans talent for the young man to do it.
The Inn is in walking distance of the Frenchmen Street area as well as the French Quarter. The room rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently went to New Orleans with my partner, and we arrived a night early and did not have a room. Due to it being spring break, all of the hotels in the area were booked. Russell and Sam went above and beyond to help us, and called multiple hotels to find us accommodations. Ultimately, we ended up staying at the Olde Town Inn due to Russell’s extreme generosity. It was our first time in New Orleans, and the staff was very helpful in recommending places to visit. Our room (#25) was lovely and historic, and we felt right at home. We are both history buffs, and we loved that the hotel was over 100 years old. There is a nice courtyard where breakfast is served, and the bordering wall was covered in antiques. We had booked another hotel before we came down to New Orleans for the following nights, and that was unfortunate because we would have liked to have stayed at the Olde Town Inn longer. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and had a fun time going to the Kajun Pub and John Paul's at night for drinks and entertainment (both about a block from the hotel). Also, easy and free street parking!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#62 of 142 in New Orleans
182 reviews
Treme
Inn at the Old Jail
Inn at the Old Jail
#53 of 142 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Blue60 Guest House
Blue60 Guest House
#18 of 142 in New Orleans
144 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#7 of 37 in New Orleans
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, On the Corner of Marigny St. And N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8543
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $77 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing