We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations & Exceptional Staff !”
Review of Olde Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Olde Town Inn
Ranked #84 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations & Exceptional Staff !”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our stay was excellent. The location was within easy walking distance of the French Quarter. Exceptionally helpful and friendly front desk staff. Beds were comfortable, clean. Easy walking distance restaurant just a couple blocks away - very good breakfast, quaint country diner style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    90
    48
    23
    38
See reviews for
30
113
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently just stayed, five of us, in one of the big, shotgun house suites. We were so thoroughly happy with our stay. Keep in mind, the hotel is older, so there are a few obvious things to expect with that -- some draft, older plumbing, and caulking, nothing major at all. It totally added to the charm of the place. Kept very clean.

The staff is amazing. We dealt with several of them over our three day stay. All of them went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful, from giving great restaurant advice and directions, to bringing us a little extra food when we were late for the continental breakfast. You don't find service like that often.

The location was fun. Close enough where we were able to walk to the French Quarter, French Market, and Frenchman street very easily and often. Much easier to do that then to take our car. But far enough away to where it was very quiet. We spent alot of time just hanging outside on the stoop watching people go by. We felt very safe in the neighborhood.

I would definitely stay at the Olde Town Inn again and would gladly recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czechchick1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I have just arrived back home from our Anniversary trip to New Orleans. We meet some great people. The were very helpful during our entire stay. The rooms were nice and clean. The location could not have been more perfect. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our vehicle was not moved until we left for home. The Inn was also located in a quiet and safe area. We are already thinking about when we are heading back.

Room Tip: Call the Inn before and they will beat any offers you received.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldeTownInn1, General Manager at Olde Town Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for such a great review. We look forward to having you stay with us again....
Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently booked two rooms here for family that were visiting Easter weekend. My original reason for picking this hotel was that I live just a few blocks down so it was convenient. This turned out to be the least of the reasons you should stay here! The rooms were very nice and clean, the whole family thought it had great New Orleans ambiance. They said the beds were very comfortable. They felt like they were staying with friends.
I thought the staff was outstanding! The gentleman that checked them in (I went with them for check in) was named Sam. Sam did a wonderful job of welcoming everyone, walking them to the room for the first time and explaining about the breakfast area and parking. During the walk to each room he gave them a little information about the history of the property, which really just made us all fall in love with the place.
Bonus - the first morning there when my family arrived at my house they were all so excited - a young man on a bicycle had stopped at the front door of the hotel to say good morning - Sam ask him "No song this morning?" and at that he began to sing, perfectly and beautifully! What an excellent example of New Orleans hospitality on Sam's part to think of it for them and what an excellent example of New Orleans talent for the young man to do it.
The Inn is in walking distance of the Frenchmen Street area as well as the French Quarter. The room rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently went to New Orleans with my partner, and we arrived a night early and did not have a room. Due to it being spring break, all of the hotels in the area were booked. Russell and Sam went above and beyond to help us, and called multiple hotels to find us accommodations. Ultimately, we ended up staying at the Olde Town Inn due to Russell’s extreme generosity. It was our first time in New Orleans, and the staff was very helpful in recommending places to visit. Our room (#25) was lovely and historic, and we felt right at home. We are both history buffs, and we loved that the hotel was over 100 years old. There is a nice courtyard where breakfast is served, and the bordering wall was covered in antiques. We had booked another hotel before we came down to New Orleans for the following nights, and that was unfortunate because we would have liked to have stayed at the Olde Town Inn longer. We enjoyed walking around the neighborhood and had a fun time going to the Kajun Pub and John Paul's at night for drinks and entertainment (both about a block from the hotel). Also, easy and free street parking!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port louis, guadeloupe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Being French, and this being our first stay in the US, we really thoroughly enjoyed the Olde Town Inn, and particularly the warm, easy-going quality of the hearty welcome we were given at the reception desk. The cleaning ladies are a very nice team too, and you can feel that everybody gets along nicely with each other. The hotel is situated in a very quiet, "typical" (if that makes any sense!) area of NOLA, with a little theater just round the corner where we were lucky enough to enjoy a play by Tennessee Williams (excellent actors and direction!). It definitely is within walking distance of the French quarter, and if you walk down the Elysean Fields, you can even take the streetcar... up to the City Park, which we found a very enjoyable way to discover other parts of the city. The room we had was quite small, but with 2 double beds (could have brought the children with us for the same price), and the only drawback was a fanciful shower, sometimes hot, sometimes cold... but you could manage to obtain lukewarm once in a while!!! We stayed there for 7 days, so had enough time to appreciate the qualities and drawbacks of the Inn. We'll definitely recommend it, it's a nice, very reasonably priced place where we'll most certainly go back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper gallery (numbers 20 odds) were flooded with sun, quite nice at that time of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

olde town is nothing fancy, but served me, my husband, and our two dogs well. neighborhood doesn't appear particularly nice, but we had no problem with people or noise and never felt unsafe (entrance to rooms and outdoor area is gated, so that's a plus). staff was very nice and helpful. we only stayed two nights, yet housekeeping politely stopped by our room to see if we needed anything. it is obvious this is an old building, but the room's interior, building's exterior, and outdoor sitting area were clean and well-maintained. we actually really loved the outdoor area; it was beautiful and quiet. there is a decent-sized grassy area right across the road that is more than adequate for dogs. the hotel is within walking distance to the french quarter, not a short walk (15-20 minutes), but definitely doable. we only had a few minor complaints, none of which really affected the quality of our stay – the tv remote did not work, there were very few electrical outlets (only one in the bathroom and it did not work), and the ac was a little loud, but the bed slept well so we had no problem resting. olde town is a lovely, quaint deviation from the typical hotel chain. overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelsi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
New Orleans Guest House
New Orleans Guest House
#62 of 138 in New Orleans
176 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#47 of 138 in New Orleans
356 reviews
The W.G. Creole House 1850
#56 of 138 in New Orleans
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#21 of 138 in New Orleans
132 reviews
Garden District
Magnolia Mansion
Magnolia Mansion
#104 of 138 in New Orleans
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Town Inn

Property: Olde Town Inn
Address: 2311 North Rampart Street, On the Corner of Marigny St. And N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8543
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Olde Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to a charming pet friendly New Orleans Inn, Olde Town Inn is one of the best. Located in the historic and quiet Marigny neighborhood, our Guests stay in one of Americas four hippest neighborhoods according to Travel and Leisure, which is adjacent to the French Quarter and has a bohemian mix of residents and is the most charming, centrally located and historically significant neighborhood in New Orleans, only a short 2 block walk to the famous music and restaurants of Frenchmen Street. Our luscious tropical Courtyard is an oasis and our rooms are eclectically furnished combining antiques with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Olde Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Town Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing