We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great stay”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #108 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We orin
Inally was booked at the Federal City but it was too far away from places we wanted to visit. We searched and found The Hotel Modern and was surprised by its contemporary style. We enjoyed the rooms and the views from the rooms. We stayed 4 nights and was very pleased with the service provided by Nicole and Rick and the entire staff.
If a complaint was to be had the water in the rooms was too high a cost ($5) for a single 20 ounce bottle of water...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anitra1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Glad to hear that we were more than you were looking for!! Sorry that the waters were a little expensive, but we hope that that doesn't keep you from visiting again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Awesome hotel. The service is great, very friendly. I was given a brief tour of the hotel, the bar and restaurant, (and introduced to Scarlet). The hotel restaurant is wonderful. Chef quality dishes, tots of the day, delish breakfast. The bar is incredible, order a modern margarita when you go, its Chicano tequila infused with jalapeño and hyacinth. I cannot say enough, I love to stay here and I will every chance I get.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dstowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are thrilled by your review! We have a Modern Margarita ready for you. Come by and claim it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed two nights last weekend -- hotel staff provided umbrella service from car to entrance during flash flood. Intimate room, great service and good location. Much better than a chain hotel - I will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svvoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

It was a wet weekend! Thank you for your patience and understanding, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We've been going to NOLA Jazzfest for mnay years but have never found a place where we like to stay. Everything has been overpriced and/or run down. We now have our olace! The Modern is reasonably priced, well appointed and conveniently located on Lee Circle. The best thing, however, is the staff. Rick the Bellman exudes NOLA charm, is omnipresent and ready to help wth any need. Tori the bartender serves a mean margarita, and does so with a smile. I don't know the name of the tall young gentleman who staffs the front desk, but he was terrific as well. I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Lee Circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you very much Joe for this great review. We are thrilled that you have found your new home in New Orleans and we hope to see you more often. Send us all of your friends and family, Rick is waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel Modern was an up-to-date yet intimate hotel with a boutique flair. The friendliness and helpful attitude of the entire staff made our stay very enjoyable. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckG995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad our staff made a difference during your stay, and we too are looking forward to our return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. It is away from the noise, quaint and nice.
Rick is fantastic, friendly and fun. He makes you love coming back. The staff is very nice. They remember their returning guest, very good feeling.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvidNOLATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words. Rick is very happy to see his name on your review and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon and share pictures of your visit in our facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

the classic boutique hotel mistake is the aloof desk person who comes finally to check you in with their fancy ipad thing but doesn't really engage, sounds slightly insulting all the time and makes no attempt to be charming and friendly. And this is a charming friendly city, and all the mod cons in the world won't make up for charm and kindness and basic customer service. The decor is lovely on the outside in a clever way where the sections of the hotel join each other, but a dreary red and grey - how can red be dreary, well with grey it can, giving an impression of futuristic space travel not in a good way. The room decor then goes all mauve and pink with moss green carpet, and an orange armchair,(well you get the picture). and that pebble dash effect which is like a cheap Ibis hotel and which I loathe.The room is actually rather badly painted. The furniture is also a mismatch and really looks like what we Brits call MFI - flat pack and not in a good way. There is simply a bareness which is not particularly modern There were two bottles of sparkling water in the fridge, a long list of things which were not in the mini and a note on the end that said if you wish your mini bar to be UNSTOCKED there will be a $25 restock charge. I was so confused I took it to the front desk and a girl feeding the lovely parrot took it away from me, that was the best bit - the parrot, not the taking away. Great cappuccino in the restaurant but it should be at over $4 a pop. Conflicting breakfast start time info, was told 6.30 but in fact 7am.
This hotel is not really succeeding in pulling itself together as a brand or image or anything really, seems to have started with a concept around the lobby and the chain mail in the elevator, but never reached the rooms and worse it is rather lame in understanding that customer service counts for everything.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

It is unfortunate that the hotel did not meet your expectation and we came short in delivering the level of service you deserve. Thank you for your comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Historic Streetcar Inn
#142 of 167 in New Orleans
674 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Algiers
Federal City Inn & Suites
Federal City Inn & Suites
#70 of 167 in New Orleans
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown / Carrollton
Alder Hotel
Alder Hotel
#53 of 167 in New Orleans
63 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#90 of 167 in New Orleans
573 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 167 in New Orleans
2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $105 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing