We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They were ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #102 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They were ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

the night staff was very weird and lacked communication skills. Be prepared to pay $50 hold for accidentals. Overall, very nice hotel the room was very clean and nice. I only stayed there for a couple of hours so I didn't get the full experience. But I accomplished what I went there for...sleeping for a couple of hours until check-in for my other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments. I hope that next time you are able to stay a little longer and fully enjoy the hotel. Until next time, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    287
    174
    80
    64
See reviews for
132
339
75
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just completed a two night stay at The Hotel Modern. It's very nicely done. The beds are comfy and the staff is excellent. The hotel is located with easy access to the St. Charles street car line, and is near CBD and Warehouse District, not a far drive to the French Quarter or Garden District. The rooms are on the smaller side, but are well designed and comfortable. Baths are large. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and your recent visit. We hope you make the Hotel Modern your new home in New Orleans. Visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was in a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Staying at The Hotel Modern was a unique experience for me. I especially enjoyed the parrot that greets the guests. In addition, I was grateful that this hotel allowed me to bring my dog along. There is a lot of grass in the vicinity as well as dog friendly restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We are glad that you were able to bring your dog along on your trip to New Orleans. Did you take any pictures with Ms. Scarlett? We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the friendly doorman. As we walked into the hotel we were confused about where to check-in. There was a young guy standing by a desk but he completely ignored us. I wasn't sure he worked there. I asked him where we could check-in and he replied "right here, why?" It took me about 2 seconds to realize he was high out of his mind. He would just stare and ask me to repeat everything. I had to ask him if he was ok. He seemed really paranoid. Then he started ranting incoherently about other guests and the air conditioning and then asked us if we wanted to see his pet bird. It was about 10:30pm and we just wanted to check in. Not surprisingly, he could not find our reservation made through A travel website. About 15 mins later a young woman came out from the back and said they found it and we were all set. Only to find out that after we checked out the next day, they charged my credit card. The room was nice and the decor was pretty cool and unique. It could be a great hotel with the right staff. To be fair, some of the staff we encountered seemed friendly and competent. There are obviously a few bad apples which can ruin whole experience.

Helpful?
7 Thank StandingByZed
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are terribly sorry to learn that your arrival at the hotel was not as smooth as it should, and I appreciate your comments and feedback about our staff.

I hope that this experience does not discourage you from returning to the hotel and give us another chance. Please contact me directly at 504-962-0903 in order to obtain your information and discuss opportunities for you to enjoy another trip to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We check in on a Saturday even upon first looks the hotel was very nice with the most friendly staff. The first room they gave us was on the second floor with a view of a brick wall less then two feet away. We immediately ask for another room where we could have some type of view. The staff was very nice about get our room changed; they moved us to the tenth floor. After getting settled in we grabbed a bite to eat before heading out to see the sights. We can back to the room @ 3 am to find our room filled with ants. The overnight staff ask if we could wait outside the room for a hour til they could kill all the ants! We demand a another room(3 rooms less then 10 hour) just to find the new room sheet were dirty and trash still under the bed from previous guest. So we call the front desk yet again and asked to new sheets so we could do their job for them...the location is right on the Street cart route which take you right to Bourbon Street...the self parking is 2 1/2 blocks away which is ok because once you park you really didn't need it again if you are planning to spend your time in the French Quarter..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback about your stay. We are sorry to learn that you experienced some difficulties while visiting the Hotel Modern.

I would like to learn more about your experience and find ways to remedy the situation. At your convenience, please contact me directly at 504-962-0903.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My job was taking me to New Orleans for two weeks, so was looking for something that was going to feel like home, as it was not a one or two night stay. Heard good things about The Modern, in another city from a friend and decided to give it a try. Very glad I did. Check in was interesting as there is no front desk like you are used to. Very efficient, friendly staff starting with the valet, all the way through the bellman and frontdesk staff. Nice bar and good food in the restaurant. Make sure you get one of the medium or bigger rooms as the smalls appear to be quite small. Very clean, rooms and nicely appointed. Close to the Superdome, Convention Center and the Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing with other travelers your experience at The Hotel Modern. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have you retuning soon.

Please remember to contact us directly next time you plan on visiting New Orleans, and inquire about our repeat guest discount program, for a chance to save 25% off your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I was very excited about this Hotel, as we were taking a Deep South road trip to celebrate our anniversary, and I made NOLA the centerpiece. I emailed and phoned the hotel to let them know such. Upon our arrival, Archi the valet was very helpful, and Nick at the "front desk" was kind as well. The ice water, the "punch" in the evenings, and "Scarlett" the bird were nice, but cute doesn't make a good hotel. The Modern purports to be a "boutique" hotel, and I know what a good "boutique" hotel does (such as The Hotel Lincoln in Chicago and The Argonaut in San Francisco), and this place does not do it at all. While the staff was friendly, they offered little advice on where to go and what to do, and even had no knowledge of the well-known bars and restaurants I mentioned to them, and I was offered no upgrades or additional amenities for our anniversary, as we have experienced at other high-end hotels.

Now, here is the rest of the story:
--No ice machines. If you want ice, you call down and the staff will bring you ice (for which you should tip)
--No refrigerator, so as the staff advised, you can empty the honor bar and put your stuff in there.
--No coffee. Cute story----There's a Keurig with two containers of decaf and two containers of tea. I checked with the staff and was told they had no regular coffee. The next morning, a lovely young lady obviously used to complaints from guests, explained that there was no way to get any coffee, but she could get me some coffee from the restaurant. When asked why they couldn't just go get some coffee at a store, she explained (in perfect Customer Service 101) that they needed a purchase order, and yadda, yadda. Good Heavens, they couldn't go to Walgreen's and get some coffee? No. She told me she would let the management know. I never heard from them. I gave up and decided to have the decaf, and the Keurig didn't work. The staff said "The Keurig didn't work?" I gave up completely on coffee in our room.
--Close to nothing. You need to take the streetcar and make some stops to get to the French Market. The streetcar stop is across the Lee Circle where you get to pass the guys drinking out of brown paper bags in the morning and the evening, and well, any time. Even the staff couldn't agree on where to catch the streetcar, one said to catch it on St. Charles, and one said to catch it on Howard. If you decide to stay here (and you should not!), avoid the Howard stop, as you will walk about 50 yards in the grass median.
--The double room was small, even by NYC standards. The bathroom was tiny and had no fan, so the mirror took a long time to de-fog.
--Our view of Lee Circle from the 9th floor was nice, if you want to stand up, since the windows are so high you can't see it from the chair or the beds. Also, you get to see the brown-bag guys early in the morning!
--The beds were low and not that comfortable.
--Other than the one in the hotel, and The Circle Bar across the block, here are no restaurants or bars close to the hotel.
--Stains on the wall above the bed (hoping it was soda or some other kind of drink).

I chose this hotel because we enjoy different types of lodgings, but we are used to quality. The dismal management should be ashamed for allowing what could have been a delightful experience to be the one unpleasant part of our visit to the Big Easy.

No. I am not an old fart who doesn't appreciate "quirky and hip" hotels. I don't appreciate poor management and poor value.

Do your research, and spend double or triple to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SYLVIATOPEKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I am as disappointed as you are to learn of your dissatisfaction with your recent stay at the Hotel Modern. It seems as though the hotel style, location and service breakdowns interfered with your getaway celebration to New Orleans. Although you have pointed out several negatives about your experience, I would like to get the opportunity to discuss these over the phone with you and learn more about your stay.

At your convenience, please contact me at (504) 962-0903.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#46 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 St. Charles Avenue, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing