We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #106 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Found this gem on Hotel Tonight. The check-in is a little quirky (in a good way) there's no "front desk". Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was seamless. Had a room on 10 th floor; very quiet and felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Perfect location on St. Charles Ave at Lee Circle. Walked across the street to get the Street Car to the Quarter or to take a scenic trip up St. Charles. Also had convenience store a block away. Could not beat the price for what it delivered! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bman1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are glad that locals enjoy the hotel and its location. Please come back and visit Tivoli & Lee for some Andouille tots and Bellocq for a Cobbler or two.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at The Hotel Modern from June 2nd thru June 5th... We were on the 9th floor, very quiet and convenient location - walked right across the street to catch the street car! I could not imagine staying at one of the hotels "downtown" with all the noise... Very helpful at the front desk on where to go and things to see.... If we ever get the opportunity to visit NOLA again this would be our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Some complaints were noise which we had NONE on the 9th floor and we were RIGHT across from the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We are happy happy happy as well that you had a great time while at the hotel. There is always a good reason or excuse to visit New Orleans, and we expect to see you back soon.

Contact us directly next time you make plans to come to the hotel, and inquire about our repeat guest discount program.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The price and area was perfect for us! My husband and I like to walk around a city to explore and it was a great starting point. The check-in process is a little weird and its not going to appeal to everyone because it is so modern. It can be too modern for good customer service. Small rooms are like those on a cruise ship. In all we had a great stay and I will recommend this place to any couple visiting NOLA.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank misshistorybarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at the hotel. We look forward to having you back soon.

Until then…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Modern over Christmas 2012. It is perfectly situated between the Garden District and Downtown/French Quarter. My boyfriend and I love walking, so it was a great base for us. There is a grocery store nearby, and mini-fridges in the rooms. The boutique hotel idea is great; I wasn't bothered by no front desk (and I love the resident parrot!). The room was comfortable, and the bathroom was huge. If you like cocktails, make sure to visit the bar downstairs! The hotel is pet friendly, and we had a minor issue with a barking dog left in a room across from us, but the staff took care of it right away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from the elevator and laundry chutes for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kameri846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I would like to take this time to acknowledge a housman who went above and beyond to give me A1 quality service during my stay. His name was Andre Skeleton. I asked him his name to write this review so I hope he doesn't think he's in trouble. But I must say that was the best and I will be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley95102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our first stay but definetly not our last. The quirkiness of the 'boutique' was a plus to us. No front desk was not a problem and the free refreshment(choice of alcohalic or non) after a day of travel was certainly an unexpected pleasure. Although there were MINOR problems with the a shade not working (I repaired), the bedding was a euro-fashion " mattress on a box frame that was moderately uncomfortable and difficult for an arthritic person to rise from due to the heighth being too low (and it was the second hotel stay this trip where a pet had not been able to hold their water in the elevator-not the hotels fault, but.....). The front "desk clerks?' were helpful as were the valets. They were prompt to bring ironing eqpt. and towels and helpful advice. Travel by trolley was enjoyable and laid back experience (about 10 minutes to the fr. qtr. and 15 minutes to the end of the Garden District). Cheap parking nearby with the code supplied by the hotel. Attached restaurant and the bar are both acceptable but not distinguishing.

Room Tip: Upper floors provide better views and less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobilehobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here recently during Memorial Day, got in very late after delayed flights and was greeted by the most unconcerned hostess ever! She had an attitude saying she was new and clearly didn't know how to work the credit card machine. They really do disappear with your cc which is a little unnerving but I was advised they are in the process of revamping this check in type. Got a small room which is perfect, not small at all- its a hotel, not a mansion. My comforter had cigarette burns and the wall wasn't clean but besides that the room was very clean and pretty. My light had burned out and housekeeping took care of it right away. The bathroom had no vent so I had to use my suit case as a door stopper to get the steam out. I even got a knock from hospitality asking if I needed anything in the middle of the day. Bypass the minibar and go to the gas station across the street, overall it was nice but I doubt I'd stay here again.

Ps if you use valet, be prepared to wait a good while before you get your car. And prepare yourself for the attitude you may get.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newme222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,479 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#92 of 166 in New Orleans
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
633 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 166 in New Orleans
2,536 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#88 of 166 in New Orleans
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $97 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing