We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very modern, friendly staff, not the most comfortable bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #89 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very modern, friendly staff, not the most comfortable bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Hotel Modern is indeed modern, with very modern wall colors (like purple), very friendly and helpful staff. The location is not the best if you are primarily interested in the French Quarter but is perfect if you have to stay close to the Convention Center. The hotel is right at the St.Charles Avenue tram line.

The main complaint is the bathroom. And especially its sink. It is so small and is located right under the shelf that there is no way to wash your face unless you keep your head in front, not over the sink, and accept the fact that the floor in front of the sink will be completely wet as a result.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexm262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Alex,

Thank you for comments. We are sorry that the sink was too small for you; not all of the rooms in the hotel are alike, and most have vey spacious bathroom. Hopefully next time you visit us, you get to experience a different layout.

When you decide to return, please contact us directly and inquire about our repeat guest discount program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    264
    146
    70
    57
See reviews for
115
306
69
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Maybe it's a case of my staying at too many boutique hotels. The room is nice, the hotel is clean, and the service was OK. I don't know why, but all I can say is that in the design and implementation of the hotel, someone went too far in the hipster department.

When you first walk in, there is no reception desk. It's a desk, with a parrot. Sounds cool and all, but when all you want to do is check in, and you have to walk around the back to get someone to help you, it leaves a bad first impression.

On the positive side, breakfast was really good and their coffee is terrific. Regardless of whatever diet you are on, try the grits.

Room Tip: Easy access to Charles Street street car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanweinkrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments. We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel and service. Ms. Scarlett (the parrot) would like to try the grits as well, but we have not let her yet; we are glad you enjoyed them.

Come back to have some more or try out some new items. Tivoli & Lee is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

its right on the street car route and walking distance from the french quarter and garden district. thats not what what i wanted to highlight though. the service by the staff was unmatched in my lifetime. the staff is very nice, helpful, and knowledgeable. it was an all around perfect place to stay, the room was nice and the whole place looks brand new. very clean. they have a brand new restaurant that opened up this month and it was incredible, tivoli and lee had very tasty food and although a bit pricey the quality of the food and drinks goes way past expectation. we ended up eating there twice. i would recommend the hotel modern to anyone going to new orleans. we also had a room on the second floor, im not sure if it was above the club but we slept fine and didnt hear anything. we tried to stop by the club around 2 one night after going out and they were closing up(not sure what night of the week) they still let us sit at the bar until they were done cleaning and allowed us to order a drink. the place looks like a lounge though cant imagine it getting too rowdy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your magnificent compliments on the hotel and the restaurant. What was your favorite dish you tried?

I hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans and the Hotel Modern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On street car route. Close to Civil War and WWIi museum walk to good restaurants. Clean well run hotel, coffee pod machine in room. Comfortable and well priced. Big flat screen TV (which in never watched). New restaurant inside hotel was good. Nice noteworthy location away from the 24 hour drinking crowds

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are delighted to learn that you found a nice and comfortable home in New Orleans. We hope that you had enjoy your travels through the United States, and please come back to visit us again soon.

Thank you for review and wonderful comments about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed during the Mardi Party, the hotel was modern and clean. The location is excellent (close to great sites and foodie hotspots), the staff was great but they need more staff to help guest check-in and check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lipearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Lipearls,

Thank you for your review and comments. If you made it to our parade viewing stands, check out the pictures we have posted on Facebook.

Mardi Gras 2013 was a fantastic time for New Orleans and the Hotel Modern and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself. Don’t wait too long to make reservations for 2014, we are offering an early bird rate promotion with a great discount for Mardi Gras 2014; contact us directly for more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The modern isn't what you think of when you dream of New Orleans. Its not a French style hotel that was built hundreds of years ago. The hotel looks like it could be a Miami deco hotel, but it lacks any of that tacky Miami vibe. For me and my girlfriend, the hotel was perfectly located in between the main drag of St. Charles and the garden district and the French Quarter. There isn't a lively scene directly around the hotel, but its center location for the city was perfect for us. We really liked the choice of toiletries, and minibar goodies, quite creative, unlike the interior design of the rooms. The Vietnamese restaurant on the ground floor is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Kevin,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon and try out our new Southern Bistro, Tivoli & Lee which we are launching today featuring a mouthwatering Lamb burger.

Thank you again for your fantastic comments and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel apparently is hosting every band, crew member, and driver for the Buku Music Festival, and seem to be totally clueless. Several drivers, all of whom had driven several hundred miles, were left hanging in the lobby for up to four hours, although when advance calls were placed, assurances were made that rooms were ready and available. The hotel itself is very artsy and cutting-edge design wise. It's too bad the staff is not up to the job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FStegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
FSTegall,

I am sorry that you did not find our service to match the look of the property. I would like to learn more about your experience and challenges that would help us improve.

At your convenience, please contact me at (504) 962-0903 or Miguel@thehotelmodern.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#97 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing