We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hotel Modern
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lafayette Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ace Hotel New Orleans(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
386
311
189
91
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
311
189
91
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslee circlewwii museumfrench quartergarden districtrooms are smallstreet car lineconvention centertrolley stopcharles streetcarmardi grascanal stbourbon streetfew blocksnolavaletww2keurig
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
948 - 953 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I found this hotel by googling different places in new Orleans looking for a . good rate. Their info says you will be served wine upon arrival and then shown to your room. We had to wait afew minutes for someone to be at the check in table. We did not get offered or served wine. Our key card did not work at first. We had to go back downstairs and talk to the staff and get another one. Our room was very small but nice and clean. Bed and pillows were very comfy. My biggest complaint is the price to valet your car is $30 a night. The parking garage is cheaper and u park it yourself but it is like 3 blocks from the hotel. Bourban street is a good walk from the hotel as well. Taxi's are cheaper and easier. Hotel was pet friendly which was nice being an animal lover. I'd consider staying there again. Be nice to be some place where you can access your car without a hike in the summer

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kaysie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear guest,
Your feedback is truly appreciated. We believe that a great stay starts with a warm welcome. I have reviewed your experience with our greeting staff to ensure we are consistent. Our apologies for the incident with your key. We understand it was a great inconvenience.
We are glad you found the room comfortable and thank you for considering staying with us in the future. We will make sure we exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Magda Chappetta
General Manager
The Hotel Modern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had a reservation for the Memorial Day weekend to attend a weeding. We had car trouble on the way down called the hotel and told them we would be late checking in we were told no problem. We arrived at the hotel around 10pm and parked in the rear liked suggested on here. When we walked in the hotel there was no one there to greet us, no bell to ring for service. Already tired and exhausted we waited for about 10 min for someone to enter the front of the hotel. We gave them our name and our credit card, he took it to the back and we waited another 10 min for him to return with our key and credit card. We were never offered a glass of wine or anything! We proceeded to our room on the 9th floor room 901 right by the elevator. As soon as we opened the door the room smelled of smoke! We went back down stairs and explained we needed another room, they claimed to be sold out but when we asked for a refund they said let me see what I can do. 5min later a hotel repair man escorted us the room 218 a much larger room but the a/c didn't work...hence the repair man escort. So know we are pissed! Now the repair man moves us to room 318 the a/c worked but the room smelled like your grandmother's closet....we were to exhausted to complain again! No one every apologized or offered any complimentary...or even asked us how are stay was! I now see why the rooms were so cheap! Sorry Modern Hotel you will never have my business again! My advice pay a little more and get the service and amenities a hotel offers.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twilson231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I agree with everything that was said. use the parking lot behind the hotel. use the trolley to the french quarter. nice bar on st charles street for a quick drink. comfrotable bed, nice bathroom and great view(from the 8th floor). the Air conditioner/heat is something that needs worked on...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Was a weekend getaway for my husband and I. The hotel has nice rooms and comfortable beds, the restaurants inside are nice as well with great food. The only downside was our room was located right near an entrance so every time some one would walk in & out the door, the door would slam! Also, the valet parking was $42 a night not including tip! There is a self parking lot directly behind the property that's $18 a day, and you can access the hotel from the rear entrance. We didn't find out about this until day 2. Overall, it's a nice hotel and you can access the street car to get to the French quarter or take a 5 minute drive.

Room Tip: Don't use their valet parking. Park behind the hotel and save $20+.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel was $92, vallet parking $28!! This is a unique hotel it's 8 blocks from Bourbon Street, not by walking u have to catch the street car which runs every 10 to 15 minutes. There's also two clubs near,one which is part of d Hotel an d other in walking distance. the Vallet guy Archie was great at helping with everything if he didn't no he found out for us the staff were very friendly from checking in to checking out!! it rained that weekend an they had umbrellas for all the guess!! Our room was nice we got room 415 no noise we also had a window u could see d stadium it lights up at night different colors but we also could see d top an side of buildings which is ok for me the bathroom was average very clean only thing was d drainer didn't work so d water was stuck in d tub ok now d fridge was fully stocked from wine to beer an d drawer Next to d desk was also fully stocked with snacks an liquor tshirt a cap drunken pickles lol but very expensive but good ideal now the bed was very comfy an d pillows just right so yes I would recommend this Hotel to you oh yea I almost forgot u get a complimentary glass of wine when u check in an also theres a restaurant in d hotel didn't try it but d food smelled yummy an they do room service!!

Room Tip: U may not want to b above are next to the club unless u a heavy sleeper!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments on our friendly staff and the uniqueness of the Hotel Modern.
We are sorry your stay was disrupted by the incident with the tub, and are listening to your feedback as we continue to grow.
We are pleased you had a great time and hope you visit again. Maybe next time you will have the opportunity to enjoy our French Vietnamese cuisine at Tamarind.

Sincerely,
Magda Chappetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews