We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #106 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Short trip”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I agree with everything that was said. use the parking lot behind the hotel. use the trolley to the french quarter. nice bar on st charles street for a quick drink. comfrotable bed, nice bathroom and great view(from the 8th floor). the Air conditioner/heat is something that needs worked on...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    295
    180
    82
    67
See reviews for
137
351
77
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Was a weekend getaway for my husband and I. The hotel has nice rooms and comfortable beds, the restaurants inside are nice as well with great food. The only downside was our room was located right near an entrance so every time some one would walk in & out the door, the door would slam! Also, the valet parking was $42 a night not including tip! There is a self parking lot directly behind the property that's $18 a day, and you can access the hotel from the rear entrance. We didn't find out about this until day 2. Overall, it's a nice hotel and you can access the street car to get to the French quarter or take a 5 minute drive.

Room Tip: Don't use their valet parking. Park behind the hotel and save $20+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogue Chitto,MS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel was $92, vallet parking $28!! This is a unique hotel it's 8 blocks from Bourbon Street, not by walking u have to catch the street car which runs every 10 to 15 minutes. There's also two clubs near,one which is part of d Hotel an d other in walking distance. the Vallet guy Archie was great at helping with everything if he didn't no he found out for us the staff were very friendly from checking in to checking out!! it rained that weekend an they had umbrellas for all the guess!! Our room was nice we got room 415 no noise we also had a window u could see d stadium it lights up at night different colors but we also could see d top an side of buildings which is ok for me the bathroom was average very clean only thing was d drainer didn't work so d water was stuck in d tub ok now d fridge was fully stocked from wine to beer an d drawer Next to d desk was also fully stocked with snacks an liquor tshirt a cap drunken pickles lol but very expensive but good ideal now the bed was very comfy an d pillows just right so yes I would recommend this Hotel to you oh yea I almost forgot u get a complimentary glass of wine when u check in an also theres a restaurant in d hotel didn't try it but d food smelled yummy an they do room service!!

Room Tip: U may not want to b above are next to the club unless u a heavy sleeper!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Smith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our friendly staff and the uniqueness of the Hotel Modern.
We are sorry your stay was disrupted by the incident with the tub, and are listening to your feedback as we continue to grow.
We are pleased you had a great time and hope you visit again. Maybe next time you will have the opportunity to enjoy our French Vietnamese cuisine at Tamarind.

Sincerely,
Magda Chappetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed here for a convention at the center, only 6 block walk. Staff is incredible and attentive. Really no standard front desk, but you are greeted at the curb and handled through the check in process. While waiting you can speak with Scarlette, the hotel's parrot.
Take time to get used to finding your room as the halls can get you turned around. Awesome cuisine on site and a wonderful cozy historic type bar divided by a small courtyard. Tip the maid, tip the door staff, enjoy the touch screen computer and printer for free.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
On behalf of the staff at The Hotel Modern, we thank you for sharing your comments on a great stay.Tamarind, our restaurant, and Bellocq, our bar, are both part of the experience.
Scarlett adds all the fun to it!

We look forward to your next stay,

Magda Chappetta
General Manager
The Hotel Modern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

A pretty good hotel with large rooms and a good bar. Nice drinks and very relaxed. The location is a little bit off the French Quarter - a non negotiable $10 fixed fair or a 15 minute walk to Canal Street - but all in all pretty good. The lack of reception isn't quite so thankfully and there are staff to welcome you and offer a glass of wine or water on arrival. The bar is worth a visit and the prices are very reasonable. Worth a visit in a great, great city

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothymarkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and loved it! The hotel was nicely updated and modern, as the name implies. The restaurant in the hotel is good and the bar across the courtyard is a great place to hang out and drink a vintage cocktail. I loved the warehouse/ arts district, lots of museums, art galleries, new restaurants and some shops. We also had no problem walking to the quarter, although it may be far for some. The rooms are small but if was no problem for us, the view made up for it!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cass1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
On behalf of our staff, we thank you choosing The Hotel Modern to celebrate such a special occasion, and for sharing your experience with others. We are glad you and your husband had a great time and hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Magda Chappetta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
266 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is within 11/2 blocks of the WW11 museum and the Modern art Museum. The hotel has a european feel. The resturant is very good with some nice different dishes for breakfast and dinner. The valet parking is costly $40.00 per night. However there is a parking lot behind the hotel. Check rates carefully we received vastly differnt quotes for each of the couples booking rooms. The hotel agreed to give all the lowest rate. Our cost was $150 per night. There are no other resturants close, however the St. Charles trolly has stops within 1 block .Good location to tour the WW11 museum,but not near other toutist sites. The hotel has a indivualist feel not a "chain" Overall service was very good. Dinner will cost $90 or more per couple

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking Lee Circle and watch the trolly and traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelModern, General Manager at The Hotel Modern, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear guest,
We appreciate your nice comments on our food at Tamarind, the general feel of the hotel, and our service. I hope everyone in your party had a great time while staying with us.
As you mentioned, the St. Charles Street Car is truly a convenience. The hotel is located in the Arts District, 8 blocks away from other attractions such as The French Quarter. Our guests have the option of a nice walk through St. Charles Avenue, or a fun ride on the street car, to get to their destination.

We look forrward to your next visit,

Magda Chappetta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#136 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing