We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for someone who wants to see all of New Orleans”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #106 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Hotel is older like most buildings in the area. The location on Lee Circle makes getting around great! The rooms are small and not very modern. However you don't seem to mind as it fits into the character of the place. The staff was very informative and the rooms clean. We would leave in the morning and get back to the room at about 10pm. The rates are reasonable we went for JazzFest and we just wanted a decent place to stay! Le Cirque met our needs. This is not the place to go if you want the feel of a resort!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtindover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Upsides - the nicest desk staff ever. The hotel's location right on the St. Charles streetcar line makes it a snap to get to Magazine Street antiquing or the French Quarter. Nice marble bath.
Downsides; the world's smallest, darkest room. Until the sun goes down, at which point the ever-changing light show begins outside - and on your ceiling, too, despite heavy drapes. Either bring a slumber mask, or perhaps ask for a room on the BACK. Ice machines broken on all but one floor. And NO PLACE within walking distance with decent food. Avoid the St. Charles Cafe at all costs; the only bad food I had in the whole state, and it was awful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetePoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Hotel has a modern vibe and the rooms are clean. I have stayed here many times and use it as a fall back when I can not get a room closer to the French Quarter. The distance from the quarter is such that you must take a cab, the trolley or drive to the French Quarter. Be prepared to pay for internet access and a premium for parking. It is best if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SensibleTraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Well we went To New Orleans and did nt plan to stay so we booked online while there with the blind site that dont show where youre staying until the end, hotel ok lobby nice frist room we got bed look like a twin got moved but That room the water from the bathroom ran all night i was very upset 80.00 bucks not to have an good night rest

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was our first trip to New Orleans and we wanted to stay somewhere affordable. Hotel Le Cirque has lots of potential and a very modern decor. However, the lobby has a sort of run down and dirty look to it. Our room was nice with modern furnishings... however, it was extremely cramped and small. One good point is the proximity to the WW2 museum and restaurant which we were able to leisurely walk to--this was truly the highlight of our trip. If you are staying for a short time and spending the majority of your time outside your hotel room, this might be an okay choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cturp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

I got a room here pretty cheap last minute, so I wasn't sure what to expect. It was better than I thought, but with a little love it could be a great place.

Le Cirque was recently bought out by another company, so they're in a weird transition period with someone telling me it would be a great place in October. Decor-wise, it seemed sort of flashy at first (more on that). The bar is not open yet, but looked ok from what I saw.

Pros:
-Absolutely wonderful staff. Everyone was friendly and genuine
-Nice, redone bathroom with a big shower.
-While not in the French Quarter, its right next to the Civil War Museum and WW2 Museum, and only a .5 mile walk from the convention center. Lots of restaurants around, and there is a trolley stop nearby.
-The room was very clean.

Worth improving:
-New beds are needed. Mine was sort of soft and worn
-While the decor in the room, lobbies, etc was nice, it was clear that things had been dinged up a bit and were old and needed to be fixed and replaced. The furniture looks nice at first, but there are scratched. And, please, rip up those dirty rugs in the elevators!
-The window in the room was tiny, but had a nice view of the city. I wonder if there's an easy way to get more natural light in the rooms.
-The heat in the hallways was literally cranked to ninety degrees. Ugh!

All in all, not a bad place, but it needs some work. I'd like to stay again, but not not until after the renovations are complete so I can see what it's going to be like. Here's hoping Le Cirque becomes a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hennaeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as a last minute family vacation to New Orleans. Trying to escape the hot, humid weather that is New Orleans, only to walk into the front area that felt equally as hot and humid. Our room was very small. As one reviewer did point out, there was a musty, mildew odor. The room overall was clean looking but didn't feel clean. Very dated and in much need of some remodeling. Although front desk service was prompt in delivering extra towels when requested. No refrigerator in the room, but a coffee maker is always a plus. The St. Charles streetcar is just outside the front door of the hotel, but we ended up driving to the French Quarter which was only a couple of blocks away. The hotel is across from the highway so easy access to 1-10. I have stayed in much nicer hotels for less than the cost of this one.Overall, an average hotel but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evalano07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 166 in New Orleans
2,525 reviews
Historic Streetcar Inn
#141 of 166 in New Orleans
629 reviews
Central Business District
The Lafayette Hotel
The Lafayette Hotel
#93 of 166 in New Orleans
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,475 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Central Business District
MOXY New Orleans Downtown/French Quarter Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $98 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing