We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slightly shabby but clean and extremely friendly”
Review of The Hotel Modern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Modern
Ranked #107 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“slightly shabby but clean and extremely friendly”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I was very impressed by the service at Le Cirque. The staff were increadibly friendly in a genuine way and very helpful. The hotel is a restrained mod design. Corners cwere cut with materials so some of the finishes are showing wear and tear, but otherwise I thought the hotel was great. And it was well located far enough from the French Quarter to escape the madness but not so far that it wasn't a comfortable walk. It is also close to the Garden District and several museums. And it was great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajm2167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    295
    182
    84
    68
See reviews for
137
354
77
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I was just recently at this hotel with three other friends, and we all agreed on the fact that this is not somewhere we'd stay at again. Our room was on the second floor and the elevator was always working so that wasn't a problem. However, the room always smelled like mold, it was muggy and the sheets were stained.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belle711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Le Cirque is on Lee Circle which is a cab ride to the French Quarter. The room we had was pretty small and the bed (king size) was uncomfortable. The bathroom was pretty small as well and not very clean. The stand up shower had some mold in the floor area and was pretty creepy. Parking is an additional $28/night so be careful if you are driving.

The lobby was cool-ish but the bar was never open while we were there nor did they have breakfast. All in all, it was alittle less value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regan82975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I have been traveling for business since Feb (the past 2 months) leaving home every third day to stay in hotels. By far, this one was the worst. The positive reviewers are guilty of hyperbole or work for the company. I booked a "deluxe room" w/a King-sized bed for 2 nights, but upon my arrival was
assigned a closet sized room w/a full-sized bed. I opened the door and was immediately greeted by a strong odor, perhaps mold, but certainly an unpleasant dampness. The small room was depressing, w/only one small window facing an alley and the backs of several nearby buildings. There was a small area separated from the rest of the room by a dingy curtain; I pulled the curtain back to discover the "closet". The bathroom was about 1/3 the size of the entire room, which surpised me. The bathroom counter appears to have been actual marble, though I cannot be certain. The shower consisted of a tiled area marked off by a curtain. All the furniture was old and ragged. The desk chair, which was covered in vinyl, looked as if an animal had been chewing on it or a previous customer had carelessly peeled it off the seat and the back of the chair. The carpet, both in the room and the elevator, was absolutely filthy. I knew I would not be able to spend two nights in that room and went downstairs to request a room change. The ladies at the desk apologized profusely about the smelly room and said they would "upgrade" me to the room for which my office had already prepaid. I visited the new room before accepting it and it was only slightly better. There were 2 small windows w/the exact same view and the carpet appeared less disgusting. The room is significantly smaller and certainly not worth Amy extra cost. In total, I can say that this is the worst hotel I've stayed in the US. It needs major renovations of the rooms and an overhaul of it's decor and furnishings. My room's walls seem to be freshly painted, but the timy bathroom of my new room is painfully in need of repair and re-painting. It is worth mentioning that there is only one functioning elevator in the hotel, though there are two elevators. I can see adventurers, college students and people who can sleep anywhere being satisfied w/a place of this caliber; however, it will not suffice for anyone requiring clean and comfortable accommodations. The price is only a few dollars less than large hotel chains; chains I would have preferred if it were not an issue of lack of rooms due to several large conferences coinciding w/my trip to New Orleans. Do not be fooled by the positive reviews; this hotel needs A LOT of improvements.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsindiinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We booked this place last minute as the hostel we originally planned on staying in was substandard. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was next to the tram which took you in one direction to Canal Street and Bourbon Street and the other to the Garden district. So the location was rather central. Also it was walking distance to the WWII and the confederacy museums.

Tips:
- Farmers market on Saturdays at the corner of Magazine & Girod where you can get some delicious locally made produce, cheese and bread.
- Beignet at Cafe du Monde are the the best, don't try anywhere else (like Cafe Beignet).
- Raw oysters at Felix (Bourbon & Iberville) are great, dozen oysters for just 10 bucks
- Very interesting and delicious selection of breakfast dishes at the Oceana Grill (Bourbon & Conti)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paym01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

From the moment I reserved the hotel room, weeks in advance of the actual trip - I found that the service was spectacular. I had to call the hotel with inquiries about amenities, parking, etc. They were incredibly helpful and genuinely enthused about their job.

Once there, the check-in was pleasant and efficient - they set up our valet parking and helped us to our room.

Our trip was one of leisure and escape - the environment of the hotel and the staff succeeded in making that easy.

Laura and Rebecca, the lovely ladies behind the desk for the day shift were absolutely wonderful in every way. They helped us find things to do, made reservations for meals and personally took time out of their work to congratulate us on our engagement.

I have one negative review. The maintenance guy, when called upon to repair an issue with our television, was impatient, rude and seemed inconvenienced by the fact that we required his oh so valuable time to repair their broken television, which he ended up just replacing.

Aside from that, I couldn't have anything but the highest review for the staff and the experience at Hotel Le Cirque. I would suggest it to all of my friends and I will personally be taking my Fiancé back the soonest we have a chance!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmprintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Came here with my little boy and best friend for my birthday weekend. They let us check in early and the valet guys were super nice. The front desk lady showed me how to get to the attractions we were looking for and gave me local insider information on the best way to get to the cemetaries and shops. Our room was clean and cozy; it wasn't as big as most chain hotel rooms, but I almost prefered the home-y feeling. The decor was amazing and the climate control in the room was easy to use and quick. The ONLY negative I found was there were not ice machines on every floor. I went on a fifteen minute adventure seeking one out. Other than that, it was great and will definatley stay there agian!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slwiebe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,195 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Modern

Property: The Hotel Modern
Address: 936 Saint Charles Ave, At Lee Circle, New Orleans, LA 70130-3904
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#52 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#62 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#63 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Modern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Modern New Orleans welcomes you. Our 135 comfortable rooms were designed in-house with a modern eclectic aesthetic that mirrors New Orleans' juxtaposition of Old World charm with New World diversity. Each of our rooms feature a spacious layout to meet the needs of our busy and well-traveled guests, hand-picked modern yet comfortable furniture, and a selection from our private antique collection. The Hotel Modern goes beyond the basics to offer an array of cultural amenities, such as thoughtfully curated books in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Hotel Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cirque New Orleans
Le Cirque Hotel
Hotel Le Cirque New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing