We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“So-So” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #74 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

CONS:
The room looks nice, but upon further inspection, there are bed bugs, dirty mirrors and windows, dirty table and counter tops, shower and bath need repairs, AC unit needs repair. The location does not feel safe at night. No security presence around the outside of the hotel. The parking is the most expensive around by far and is substandard in every way. The parking garage has low ceilings low-hanging pipes with rust and mold. Maybe all this is typical for NOLA, but this is my 1st time there in decades. Look closely at online maps of the hotels around Bourbon Street and stay there instead. Security on Bourbon St is much better than here.

PROS:
I found free parking on many streets and at Harrah's, if you gamble enough! It is a few minutes from Bourbon Street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 595DavidK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-NewOrleans, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for the feedback. As always, we appreciate any information that will help us move forward in improving the guest experience. I apologize you did not leave satisfied, however, please be aware we are addressing all of the issues mentioned. I can assure you, there are no pest control concerns at our property. As you also filled out a Holiday Inn survey, we had access to your room location and immediately had it inspected. The inspection did come back clean. It may also ease your mind to know we have consistent pest control service throughout the property as a preventative measure. I regret you felt unsafe as we do in fact have security on staff every evening. We take every precaution to ensure our guests safety. All guest rooms floors and upstairs banquet space has already been renovated, only one elevator remains to be modernized (current work in progress), and the 1st floor has begun its transformation as well! We are very proud of our product and the benefits to our guests stay as we continue to progress with renovations, please come back and see us again! I have no doubt we can exceed your expectations if given another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    432
    194
    53
    42
See reviews for
241
283
87
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here while in New Orleans as part of a tour group. The hotel was comfortable, although I had to ask to have a couple of small problems with the room rectified. Anything I requested was taken care of promptly. The staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abcdxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were spacious but a little dated. Staff and service were excellent (including the bar man !). Location was fairly good - 10 minute walk to Bourbon Street (although wouldn't want to do it at night) and other attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the French Quarter (Bourbon street where the parties are every night). It has very nice staff. Even though it was overbooked when we arrived and they couldn't offer the room we wanted, we were given the option of staying in a different kind of room free of charge for one night (1+1 spare bed) or go to another hotel.
The rooms are nice, equipped with everything you might need, clean and tidy. You can find different kinds of pillows as well, from soft to hard.
The only thing I didn't like was the balcony door. In our rooms (both of them on the 16th and 17th floor) were relatively noisy from all the traffic and sirens going on outside and below. The balcony door in our room was broken, it was not sliding properly and it could be closed with a gap of about half an inch.
Other than that the place was good, the pricing was good, so I'd come back with some earplugs anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voltunkegyparan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our company has been using this hotel for an important project in New Orleans for sometime and the service we have received, and me personally, have been superior. Ms. Thais Ellison has been extremely helpful from the sales staff and is extremely accommodating to help book your stay. She always is willing to help in all regards and will take the extra step to ensure you, as the traveler, are completely satisfied with the Holdiay Inn experience.

I would also like to say that the hotel restaurant is very good and great service, including Scott, who is extremely impressive in his talents and people skills. Not only does he remembers customers names (from out of town), but remembers why they are there and always has a great greeting for them when he sees them and makes it worthwhile to visit. Top notch professional all around.

N Barron

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn. At times, there was a long wait for an elevator due to repairs and upkeep.
I especially want to mention "Scott" the bartender at the hotel. He was always pleasant, personable, professional, and efficient. Even when he had a full bar, he continued to engage with customers while serving them. His pleasant, approachable demeanor made a difference during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked a block of 30 rooms for a March meeting in the New Orleans area. They surprised me at checkin with an upgrade to their Presidents Suite. Yay!! I've booked a lot of room blocks and this is the best upgrade yet! The suite was spacious with a separate living and sleeping area. Probably a bit much for one person, but I enjoyed it anyway. I was a bit surprised that the bathroom was the same as the regular rooms, but that is not a complaint. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. It was a quiet room, I could only hear my neighbors running water in the bathroom.

The hotel is clean and nicely decorated. It is walking distance to the French Quarter but wear your sneakers. There is a restaurant and bar in the lobby. I did not use either. The staff is friendly and helpful.

From the other 30 guests in my room block, I only heard a few complaints. One was very legitimate, her door would not lock, you could just push it open. This was a lesson for me because I never check my door assuming that it locks. I always check now. The hotel was completely booked so they could not move her and it took two calls to maintenance to get it repaired. She was rightly upset.

Another guest had a stopped up bathtub drain that maintenance repaired. Several guests complained about the size of the fitness center. I agree, it is very small. Also heard a few complaints about the elevators being slow. However, there was a notice hanging in them that they were being renovated.

For the block, they gave us free wifi in the rooms, free parking and upgraded two other rooms. However, those two guests said their upgrade was only to a king instead of a double.

I have to say that I was a bit apprehensive booking at a Holiday Inn since my preference is two other major hotel brands. This Holiday Inn did the job, I was not disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mena w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt House New Orleans / Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing