We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #72 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

A great hotel! Walking distance from most attractions, clean, very nice modern rooms, and all of the staff was very friendly. The pool was an added bonus...although not a pool for those that can't swim or young children...it starts at 5+ feet and goes to 9ft. This will definetly be the hotel we stay at in New Orleans from now on!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaLeNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    451
    197
    54
    47
See reviews for
252
294
91
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff, a gym, free wi-fi, a rooftop pool, and a decent restaurant is what you'll find here. This is not five star by any means, but if you're looking for a decent place to spend the night, I would highly recommend this hotel, especially if you're a family on a budget. There are Louisiana sight-seeing books that are filled with coupons and the concierge is very knowledgeable about available tours and things to do in the city.

However, be forewarned about a couple of things that have NOTHING to do with the hotel. First, they are doing a lot of construction outside the hotel, so don't be surprised if you wake up to jackhammers around 9:00 a.m. Second, the hotel concierge takes a fee for booking tours you can book on your own. Third, taxis here have a very odd pricing scheme. For example, a family of four can get from here to the French Quarter/French Market (about 4 miles away) for about $11; however, the two-minute 1.2 mile cab ride from the cruise ship dock cost $33. Wanna go to the airport from here? $15 per person, or $33 for one. As I said, taxi fares are wacky so you need to be prepared to cough up more $$ if you don't get your fare ahead of time.

This hotel is a little off the beaten path, which can be a positive or negative depending on your needs. The only close store that we could find here was Walgreens. Everything else was back in the French Quarter which is about 1.5 miles away if you want to walk it (which is totally doable).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone coming to New Orleans for the first time or if you are bookending your cruise with a night or two in New Orleans.

Room Tip: Try to be on the side of the hotel away from the construction. We changed from one room that had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redding, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week at a reunion in June. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms are comfortable, but it is an old hotel. The airconditioner either blows very cold, but absolutely necessary in the hot and humid summer. Had to call manager to clean filters, the dust was making us cough so much.
Walls are thin, and the noise from other rooms, latenighters in the halls, and early street construction, made sleep difficult.
The staff at the desk, Cindy, the concierge, and the prompt response from management were all excellent. The food in the restaurant was fair, room service was poor, and some of the wait-staff in the restaurant left much to be desired.
Because of the group discount, the price was reasonable for this location. We have stayed in other locations in this city, and would not return here again, even if the price was better here.

Room Tip: Try a floor, higher than 10th, facing the pool. Maybe less noise, maybe not. May be able to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdict2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear traveladdict2,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our front desk and concierge services.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on air conditioning, room service and the thin walls. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

And a rooftop pool. Also, they let us check in at 8:30am.

Much better experience than the "4-star" Hyatt Regency we stayed at in Washington, D.C.

A couple of minor quibbles: The security latch on the door was missing, and the shower had the typical water-wasting faucet that doesn't let you choose the water pressure. (You always get max pressure whether you like it or not.) Still, this hotel offered more and at a lower rate than lots of other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelBluejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and was please with the remodeling, but you still relize it is an old hotel. The rooms are nice size and decorated contemporary style. Staff was helpful as I returned to my room after a day of work and found small black bugs crawling out of the sink and on the walls throughout the room. Definitely a turn off, but the staff was knocking on my door with a new room key only minutes after I called the front desk. So pleased with the staff and I saw no signs for bugs anymore. So overall the hotel is average...minus the bugs in my room #1118 and moved to 1128. The hotel has a good fitness room and outside pool, but no whirlpool...

Room Tip: Parking on the street is free from 6-8am which worked as I was there on business...hotel is in walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrm2u2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had a short but sweet stay at the Holiday Inn before going on a Carnival Cruise. New Orleans had always been one of my bucket list cities and this trip was my 30th Birthday Present from my Godmother. We had called ahead and spoke with the concierge Jennifer who helped us secure our tickets for the Cajun Encounters Plantation and Swamp Tours. Unfortunately we never got to meet Jennifer but Cindy was ready and waiting for us upon our arrival with our tickets and she also booked us for the Jazz Riverboat Cruise that night. When we mentioned everything that we had done to Oswald he was quiet impressed and said that we did a great job of doing everything and experiencing the city in the short two days we were there, he also helped us secure Joe for a ride to the ship on Sunday morning. The front desk staff was also very nice and helpful especially Patrice who has promised to visit me in Chicago since I also work for a hotel and would love to extend the same hospitality right back at all of them!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColeyL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. It was not easy to get to the hotel with all the road works nearby, but once we finally had arrived at the hotel eveything was supurb. Evan at check in was friendly, the room was very spacious and clean. We had a private balcony with pool and downtown view. The pool was great and clean with nice place to sit or lay down. We had dinner one night in the restaurant which was good. Location is ok, ten minute walk from french quarter. I never felt unsafe in surrounding area. Would return to HI Superdome without hesitation. Nice detail: near the elevator on our floor (11th) hung a painting of queen Beatrix of the Netherlands. We are Dutch, so that was really a nice coincidence.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy_from_Holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing