We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the average Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much better than the average Holiday Inn”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for Jazz Fest 2012 and I was pleasantly surprised.

Despite the hotel's dated exterior and lobby area, my husband and I were very pleased that our room was ready upon our arrival (which was several hours before check-in). We made our reservation through Expedia and they were not able to guarantee a non-smoking room or a king size bed, but the Holiday Inn delivered on both of these requests (not to mention that our room was on the top floor, at the end of the hall, with a nice view of downtown New Orleans).

Once we stepped out of the elevator into the hallway, we felt like we were in a completely different hotel: one that was freshly remodeled, very clean and contemporary. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed.

The location of the hotel is a bit out of the way if you're looking for proximity to the French Quarter (about a 20 minute walk, which we didn't mind). Additionally, the currently construction on Loyola Avenue is a bit of an inconvenience, but cabs are easy to obtain and the street car stop isn't too far away.

I won't comment on the pricing because the rates at all of the hotels are hugely inflated around Jazz Fest. Bottom line: the Holiday Inn was our best option.

All in all, I was very satisfied with our stay; I'd definitely recommend it to others and I'd probably go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesH4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    461
    199
    56
    50
See reviews for
267
303
95
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinckney, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great customer service, but we were there during Mardi Gras and only 3 out of the 4 elevators were working for an entire week. Also, the restaurant inside the hotel was something you would want to skip. Bad food/service.

Overall, close to the festivities and clean room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDR330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear JDRZRR,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as our friendly staff service. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service and quality in our restaurant which was unacceptable. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel staff are outstanding and very helpful. The hotel and room were clean and well kept. The room appeared recently renovated. It is within walking distance to both Burbon Street and the Superdome. It can be difficult to catch a cab, so walk a block or two to a more major street. The breakfast was good and reasonably priced for New Orleans.

this hotel has a 4 PM checkin time, but they do have a bell hop to store your bags. Would stay here again if we ever end up in New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauiwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was in New Orleans on business and the Holiday Inn was 5 minutes from the office. Rooms were remodeled from my last visit a year ago.
Very nice, all that you could want in a room.
Friendly staff and restaurant dinner was good.

Only CON was I needed to get a taxi to the French Quarter, I will return again on business , but if you are on vacation , get something closer to the French Quarter

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kmjr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The staff really made the trip for me, now have stayed here three of the last four years
while coming for Jazz Fest. A short walk up to Canal Street and the streetcar, which
can bring you around town. About .15 minutes to Bourbon St and their neighboring
party streets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hungrypr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location good, short walk to Canal and Bourbon Street allthough immediate area a bit run down. We arrived naively, on Final Four B'Ball weekend. Gouged terribly on price. To be fair all the hotels were the same. Oldish building, clean enough, staff effecient rather than frienldly. Athmosphere, dead. Bar uninviting, restraurant empty!
Verdict: badly in need of a makeover

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Grumpy9,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the atmosphere of the restaurant and bar. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I had to go to New Orleans fro some business and the options were nicer in other locations near the Quarter but I needed to be in the business area near the Super Dome so opted for Holiday Inn in the downtown.Super Dome area. It offer basis function at a fair price. The room size was actually very good sized, with balconies, but the amenities were basis, not luxury. Bed was comfortable and there was a microwave and small fridge in the room. Good basic hotel.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to leave the street noises behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing