We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terribly convenient location but great deal on Priceline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #84 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights attending a conference, As others have said, the free wifi is great...good signal, never dropped. All hotels should offer for free. Room was well-furnished and well-maintained. Not exactly set up for business traveler (outlets were not close to table) but that's the only minor complaint about the room. Arrived in the morning and luckily they had a room ready. My big concern getting off the elevator was that I appeared to be on a smoking floor, but no trace of cigarette smell in my room.

There are several floor of hotel parking between the ground floor lobby and hotel rooms (which means the hotel rooms sit up higher and have more opportunity to offer views). Didn't use the pool.

Neighborhood is not great...many vacant/abandoned buildings within a couple blocks and not a central location but OK. As someone else pointed out, going in/out through the back door saves a few steps in walking to DT/FQ. Didn't take the hotel shuttle (as I was on conference schedule) but just two blocks to Canal Streetcar (which runs very frequently). Ate one meal at the hotel...good service, passable food. Front desk staff were pleasant and efficient.

I would not be disappointed if I ended up at this hotel again from a priceline bid, but because of the location, would probably not pay rack rate.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

For the price of the rooms (150/night) and food (up to $20 per plate), would expect much more. Could have paid 20 bucks more a night and stayed somewhere much better. Staff seemed lazy and didn't really take their jobs that seriously. One night our French fries were all
black and looked rotten. There was a conference in town so no choice but to stay there, but honestly it took away from our stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_jc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

First impression of this hotel was great, judging by the beautiful lobby. Our room was clean, staff was friendly, and the location is convenient- a 6 block walk puts you right in the French Quarter. We hit some snags in our stay, however. The elevator broke down between floors and we were trapped for about 10 minutes. Upon using the emergency phone inside the elevator, our call was transferred to about 5 different people, none of which seemed to know what to do or how to handle the situation. I assume this is because this rarely, if ever, happens. I guess we just got lucky :) Room service is also ridiculously overpriced and the food was cold and not very good when we got it, but there is a nice restaurant on site. Also, there was some construction going on in the pool area, so there was some extra noise/unavailability of the pool, but to the staff's credit, we were notified of this upon check-in. Also, beware of parking charges!!

All in all it was a great experience, and I would definitely stay here again. Oh, and don't forget to check out the GIANT clarinet painted on the side of the hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlscroggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just an average holiday inn.
It was clean.
Service just ok, in general service in NO is just ok.
5 minutes walk to Bourbon St.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Well the hotel itself is kindof neat. They paintings on the walls outside and the rooms are in decent shape. Does need a little updating however. The staff was nice but, the restaurant downstairs was not good. Had to wait 45 mins. for a po-boy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandCsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This hotel is indeed dated, with very old and shabby furniture, but if you look past that - and the slightly peeling wallpaper - it is very clean and comfortable. The linens are all nice and the pillows are great. The desk is not good for business travel, but I imagine most people staying at this place are not business travelers. The price was the most reasonable I could find, but the location was sketchy enough that I took a cab downtown and back for dinner at night, and one morning when I had to meet people at 6 a.m. to go to Grand Isle. By the way, the food I had the restaurant - crawfish linguini - was among of the best meals I've eaten in New Orleans, but the service was absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downtownresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I stayed at the this hotel mainly because it had a pool. However, this was on renovation. I felt doomed about it. I don't understand why they wouldn't renovate it during the winter. Overall the hotel was good, service at the front desk was friendly with the exception from service at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titina49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#69 of 166 in New Orleans
4,075 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#103 of 166 in New Orleans
170 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $108 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing