We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff excellent, restaurant not so good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Ranked #73 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Bay City, Michigan
2 reviews
“staff excellent, restaurant not so good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is the one with the big clarinet: Staff were phenomenal; esp. Gloria (housekeeping), Wendell and Mr. Emmett. also front desk ladies. This was on mar 7 - 9th; very busy time. Everyone was very helpful. Loved this staff, couldn't have been better. Restaurant food not good. Eggs runny, son got a steak that tasted like a green olive-obviously rotten meat. and on March 9th, the restroom in the restaurant was filthy. (feces in every stall). But due to the staff, I will always stay at this hotel. Rooms are rooms and we can eat anywhere, but to have caring people like these to take care of you, well, that says it all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houdinitedjuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    449
    197
    54
    47
See reviews for
252
294
90
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here for Mardi Gras 2011 with two of my friends. It is located a 5-7 minute walk from the foot of Bourbon Street, which is great. The room was spacious, nice for a Holiday Inn and met my expectations (which were low). It served its purpose.

Where it failed (badly) was in its service. We stayed for 3 nights and our room was cleaned a grand total of 0 times. When we called to ask for towels and toiletries, it took 35 minutes to deliver. The woman then told us she "couldn't find an elevator." Color me confused. On the day we left, we asked for a wake up call. It came six minutes late...so I wouldn't be too dependent on them.

Also, I walked out on the balcony attached to our room and touched the bannister, it seemed very loose. Loose enough that falling to my sudden death seemed possible if I leaned hard enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soxrok3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

We arrived at the Holiday Inn on 2/20/11 for one night prior to our Carnival Triumph cruise. We had pre-paid for two room. One was ready but the other was not. (It was 2:45 pm) We took all our bags to the one room and it was beautiful. We had a balcony that overlooked a park. We missed the first free shuttle (they leave on the hour) and took the next to RiverWalk. Before we boarded one of the gentlemen gave us all beads for Marty Gras. Rode the ferry, ate at the Dry Dock Cafe and came back to walk around Canal street. We called for a pick-up to return to the hotel but we think the driver forgot us. We waited for 45 min. and called again. He came after another 15 min. (A little hard to keep 4 kids occupied waiting). We arrived back at the hotel, checked out the pool (very nice) and slept very well. Even though this hotel is near a hospital (and I'm a light sleeper) we only heard 1 ambulance all night. I would stay here again with my family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYork1Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

I travelled with 164 friends and clients to New Orleans for a Carnival cruise. Most of our group stayed the night before at the Holiday Inn Downtown-Superdome. We were welcomed with smiles at check in. The hotel was beautiful and the rooms were outstanding.

Judy and Melissa helped set up a dinner at the hotel the night before the cruise. They did a fantastic job.

At the end of the cruise most of the group stayed a couple of days to see New Orleans. There were 143 people coming back to the hotel to pick up cars or to check back in. The front desk greeted us with smiles again and expedited the check in process.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Judy, Melissa, Patrice, Gary, John and Paul were the hotel staff that made our stay memorable. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillG46135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I came to N'awlins to attend the very first Mardi Gras parade! All I could afford was the Holiday Inn just outside the French Quarter. The area was a little on the sketchy side, but I felt safe enough with my husband. When I checked into the hotel, Casey and Kevin and Brad were at the front desk. Brad checked me in, but Kevin and the other girl were very helpful with any area questions and telling us how to get to the parade and some other information about the French Quarter. We were not in the hotel very much, but what we saw was nice and the art added a nice touch. Hopefull we will be able to come back soon. Maybe next time we will take a cruise!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gumboisdelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

The hotel & staff were really great -nice accomodations, helpful staff. 'Big" Paul White was super helpful and very friendly -don't loose him! We had a large group staying before and after our cruise -staff was very courteous made our stay so pleasant.
Restaurant service was verrry slooow, even when not very full. -Needs improvement.
Also, had several problems with the coded room cards not working well -needs better coding machine or system.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

The Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome is, at the moment, surrounded by parking lots and abandoned buildings. It's on the fringe of the CBD several blocks away from most of the other hotels in the area (i.e., Sheraton, Drury Inn, Marriot, Wyndam). It's a solid ten minute walk to the French Quarter, which is completely fine by day, but a dark and quiet walk at night. The hotel does offer a shuttle, but it runs infrequently (1 per hour) and stops at 10 p.m. every night. We ended up having to take a cab back to the hotel most evenings, envious of our fellow tourists making the couple block walk across Canal St. to the comparably priced hotels in the CBD area bordering the French Quarter.

Aside from the poor location, the hotel is not bad. Our room was quite large, with a massive and comfortable king-size bed, a flat panel TV, a full desk and multiple chairs. It was a smoking room, but didn't offend us (both non-smokers).

In a city with as many options as New Orleans, I can't think of any reason to stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome. However, if you get stuck there (i.e., priceline, hotwire) you'll be treated right by an pleasant staff and a nice big room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NobleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
Hyatt Regency New Orleans
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,408 reviews
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome

Property: Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Address: 330 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70112-1807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a refreshed Holiday Inn! Visit the recipient of the Customer Service Excellence award by IHG. Rooms feature Simmons pillow top mattresses and new pillow options. Relax in our courtesy area shuttle. Savor fresh coffee and pastries daily. Stay connected with FREE wireless. Plunge in our large rooftop pool and energize in our fitness center. Our full service property offers tantalizing meals morning, noon and night. Adult beverage options showcased in our Mardi Gras Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome Hotel New Orleans
Downtown Superdome Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Superdome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing