We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - But Not Much Happening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #90 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Appleton, United States
1 review
“Good Hotel - But Not Much Happening”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a very good hotel experience for the most part. Disappointed with the expensive parking and onsite cocktail prices. A short walk down the street and you can enjoy the same cocktails for 1/4 the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    437
    164
    105
    52
See reviews for
245
252
65
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is a great option if traveling to New Orleans for business or pleasure. I would say that this is one of the nicer Hilton Garden Inn properties that I have stayed in (although it was a little on the expensive side for a HGI). However, the property very clean and nice with a large restaurant area and lounge. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the service was excellent. The staff went out of their way to make sure my stay was excellent and called me "my love" and "darling" the entire time:-) The breakfast buffet was much more extensive than what I have seen in other Hilton Garden Inns (usually the "hot" options are eggs, bacon and maybe biscuits and grits but here they had eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, hash browns, biscuits, sausage gravy, etc ,etc. Plus all of the cold options). Overall, a great hotel in a great location!

One thing to note: Parking is expensive....$30 per day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gapeach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is what it is: a big chain hotel with no soul. That said it was clean, comfortable and the Staff really distinguished themselves in their friendliness and helpfulness. I think this hotel is very well managed. Location is a bit out of the way. I got a deal here so it was a good value too. Recommended for someone who doesn't want to much of "Old New Orleans" feel, but wants a clean, pleasant place to sleep.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank cbxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
155 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel is located in downtown New Orleans within walking distance from Casino and other famous attractions like French Quarters, Night life and Canal Street. Hotel is a bit old with basic facility available in similar economic hotels. It is suitable for family with young children as well business men.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived late in the afternoon at the hotel we booked in NOLA, we found them overbooked. They made arrangements with this Hilton to take us for one night while they got us a room for the rest if our vacation. The Hilton received us warmly. Clean room. Friendly staff. Very comfy beds. Quiet. And the location is within easy walking distance of everything downtown.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

When you think of an "inn", you don't normally think of a very impressive place. Well, think again! This is an absolutely gorgeous little hotel located near the center of New Orleans. Surprisingly quiet location too!
This inn sports a pretty good sized 5 1/2 foot deep pool, as well as a hot tub. Really nice views from some of the rooms. They are so friendly here, and are really happy to help you with anything.
The breakfast food is so good. The pancakes are fantastic, I recommend them.


The Hilton Garden Inn is a diamond in the rough, and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dominick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had 5 people in our business group, some of them staid at the Mariott, some at the Fairfield and I staid at this Hilton. All my other 4 co-workers paid $150.00 per night for their hotels and I had to pay $259.00 per night. The Mariott was much much nicer and the Fairfield was about the same as far as lobby and furnishing. The price for this average hotel was outragious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing