We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to the Convention Center and Renovated Warehouse District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #76 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
423 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Convenient to the Convention Center and Renovated Warehouse District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I chose this location because it was close to the convention center. We booked using Hilton Honor points for a 2-night stay. The event we were coming for got moved to the Pontchartrain Center in Kenner; but we decided to stay at this HGI anyway since we had a day and a half of tourist time before the event.

One thing I like about HGI's is their consistency from state to state and city to city. This was up to par with other HGI's. The lobby area and room were both clean. The staff was friendly. We didn't get down until near the end of breakfast the first morning and they had run out of some of the items they normally have, and the 2nd morning the toaster was out of service. Minor nuisances that didn't really affect my overall satisfaction.

On the plus side they had a "smokers paradise" behind the hotel where I could smoke a cigar after a long day down in the French Quarter; but I must say the chairs were not that comfortable for sitting an hour or more.

While this HGI is convenient to the convention center and the Warehouse District (and Harrah's Casino as well I'd say), it is a bit of a hike from the French Quarter, Bourbon Street and the French Market. My wife and I like to walk, so it was no big deal to us; but when we left the room for the day, we didn't come back until we were done for the night. If you aren't up for walking over a mile each way, then I would recommend something located in the French Quarter itself. If you don't mind walking and you want to be able to get away from the noise and activity, then this location certainly is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REVoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are glad you found our hotel to be a "good option"! We're also happy to announce that we just received beautiful new patio furniture- we hope to see you again and this time you will find a much more comfortable, stylish smoker's paradise! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    417
    154
    90
    39
See reviews for
229
233
63
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Let me say we spend an average of $17,000 per year travelling. We know what we are comparing against.
The lobby and the hallways of this hotel are frigid. Not once did we see anyone without a jacket or sweater inside. You had to wear a sweater or jacket indoors, only to take it off outdoors and carry it around with you.
The hot tub was broken. We were not told. A hottub is a priority for us when we search for hotels. We walk a lot and love a soak at the end of our day. We would not have booked into this hotel had we known. Hilton has 5 properties in NOLA, yet we weren't even offered a pass to use another properties facilities. They do this in Vegas.
At check in, the clerk lectured our daughter on the evils of smoking. Yes he was right about the smoking but certainly not within his right to lecture a paying guest. It was not comment it was a lecture.
The restaurant has several Televisions, all on different channels and all on high volume competing with the diner conversations and the other TVs. Very Noisy!!
Breakfast food mediocre yet incredibly high priced.
Lots of pushiness from the "director of first impressions'.... am sure they must be on kickbacks. Personally I don't care if they are but WHOA..I dont appreciate the high pressure.
Good thing was they also work off the clock being your personal taxi if you want to go someplace.
The cab drivers in NOLA like to scare tourists into taking cabs everywhere.
I did like the location on a quiet street in the warehouse district. It's a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter....
I completed Hilton's survey about my stay. I have yet to hear anything back from them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank IntimateAttitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Temperature in common areas very, very cold! Staff personality match the temperature. I am warm and friendly and chatty. This was not welcomed. Hot tub broken. POOR! We were not told and this is a main criteria when we reserve a hotel. My daughter was lectured at check in about smoking. Yes it is unhealthy but not the clerks position to lecture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate the feedback and apologize for the issues that you experienced at the hotel. We always wish to provide the friendliest, most professional service and we are sorry that we did not meet expectations in your case. This incidences have been specifically addressed with the relevant departments. We hope to see you again in the future and ensure that you leave completely satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I read trip advisor before picking this hotel. We were cruising, leaving on Sunday and wanted to spend a few days in New Orleans before we left. Two couples and have never been to New Orleans. First of all when we arrived by taxi we we immediately greeted by Kevin Burton and every time he saw us he went out of his way to be helpful. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
Two others that stood out were Tasha Thomas at the front desk and Michael Weir.
Helpful suggestions for dinning, and safety were given. We didn't know Quarter Fest was going on when we booked but we we glad to be in town for a great celebration.

Only two complaints:
The first the condition of the hot tub. Looked like it hadn't been taken care of in a very long time.
Second the breakfast buffet was not the greatest. The gentleman who was overseeing the area was pleasant but I don't think food was worth price.

If back in NewOrleans I would stay again, but not use restaurant. And if pool area was still bad I'd complain this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
It's an honor to host guests during their first trip to amazing New Orleans. We're especially glad for the shout-outs to Kevin, Michael and Tasha! Thanks for taking the time to review your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I always park my truck at the fulton st garage during cruises out of NOLA.This hotel is right behind the garage.I was not expecting much but i was pleasently surprised.Nice rooms (with in room safes and good beds.The staff were great as well.This part of NOLA has some nice bars but is a good walk to the Quarters.You can always walk down to the julia st trolley stop and take the river route into the quarters.The trolley service is hit or miss though.Would stay here again after a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColesDad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Our hotel's location is perfect for cruisers and we enjoy hosting cruising guests. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We booked it because of a conference at the nearby convention center (1 block away). We checked in at midnight and we received our preferred room type. Having never stayed at a HGI, I was a big fan of the pantry -- a 24 section next to the front desk with bottle water, beer, assorted drinks, snacks which you could pay for or charge to your room. We got multiple bottles of water over the course of our 5 night stay and most of the time, the waters were given to us for free. Sadly, my Hilton Honors gold membership just expired prior to my stay but the front desk was kind enough to give us two free vouchers for the breakfast buffet which was very tasty. Omelettes to order, self-serve waffles, excellent hash browns, eggs to order, bacon, sausage and wonderfully flaky biscuits. The coffee was very good too and was available all AM and afternoon. It was easy getting a cab from the front as the door-person was very attentive and proactive in hailing cabs for us.

The room was clean with crisp sheets, plenty of fresh towels and free WiFi which is key for me. The pool and work out room are on the 4th floor. The work out room has a couple treadmills, ellipticals, a nautilus and a flat bench. TVs are on all the cardio machines.

I highly recommend this hotel. It is 1 block away from Couchon, if that sways you and is 1 mile from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thanks for "highly recommending" us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimcy, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I would definitely check for a Hilton Garden Inn for my future vacations. I especially liked the breakfasts and service. Your staff were very friendly. I felt comfortable when I walked around the area. It is in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Social Media Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
No photo provided
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing