We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convention center location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #93 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great convention center location”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel was in the perfect location for a convention center event. The room was good,i took the advise of other TripAdvisor reviewers and requested a higher floor. There was some noise on Saturday night. It is a long walk to the French Quarter but taxis are plentiful and inexpensive so I used that option.
It's all about the staff and communication, right? The high points: the young men at the front door, greeted me with a smile at all times, comforting when coming back late in a strange city. They were prompt and went out of their way to get cabs, give directions etc. Hats off to them. Also, to the young woman who let me have a banana from the breakfast buffet one morning.
The bad: grumpy people at the front desk. Absolutely no communication about the citywide water problem that occurred. At other hotels , during this time guests were given bottled waters. The hotel should have communicated through signs what was going on.But mostly, they were always too busy. Smiling is really not that tough. Also, the state of the breakfast was dismal. Dirty dishes, unreplenished food, overall disarray and disappointing. We only ate there one morning (we were there for six days).
However, the pluses outweigh the minuses. Great hotel, great price , many many great staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halsherm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for reviewing! We're happy you enjoyed our convenient location and your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    447
    170
    107
    58
See reviews for
253
257
66
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I travel a great deal for business. WE always stay in the Hilton/Hampton Inn family. We are almost never disappointed by our accommodations and this particular hotel was one of the very best we have stayed at. The service begins at the curb and it NEVER stops! AND it is within walking distance of the Riverwalk and the Convention Center. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
What a great review! Thanks for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowood, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Too many miscommunications with our wedding block, wrong reservations and even LOST reservations. Internet price was the same for the "deal" given to us for the night of the wedding. It made for a very stressful day before and of for the wedding. It was very disappointing to hear that our OUT OF TOWN GUESTS did not have a place to stay. The most helpful people were the bellhops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
It is very disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations during this stay. Please know that your satisfaction and our guests' happiness is very important to us, and that your feedback will be reviewed will the appropriate department. We would like to do all we can to ensure that our guests have a wonderful stay and we strive to provide the friendliest, best service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center during the Rock & Roll Marathon weekend, and our experience was top-notch. The location was great and we loved being so easily accessible to everything we needed. I was super impressed with the look of the hotel, everything was modern and clean and visually pleasing. I was also impressed with the professionalism and friendly disposition of the staff. From front desk to housekeeping to the concierge who set me up with the sweetest cab driver after I was denied service from cabbies looking for airport business, I felt very happy to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGIMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
1,973 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was a great location far enough away from Bourbon st to make it worth stay but still within walking distance. Walking distance to the quarters, garden district and sits within blocks from some of the best restaurants in the city. Also great location to stay before leaving on a cruise as it is directly across the street from the cruise ship port.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed our location! Thanks for the review and for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was chosen for me, I normally would stay at a Marriott chain, but that wasn’t an option this time. I was very surprised with the friendly staff and bright welcoming lobby. We arrived very early in the morning, and the staff informed me the room would not be ready for a while, but would check me in and took my baggage into storage. I was pushing my luck trying to check in at 7am!
I carried on with my scheduled meeting and received a call saying my room was now ready,10am.
Room was clean, large and had two queen beds. There is no free breakfast and the cost of the buffet is $12. Be warned, the omelet cook doesn’t remember who's order is who's, and gave my order away two days running!
Parking was valet, and was very quick.
New Orleans is always busy but this hotel coped with it well and always with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean1960_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We love hearing how much our guests enjoy our friendly staff! Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I greatly enjoyed my recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center. The hotel is clean and modern. The lobby area is a great place to relax between adventures or meetings. Every hotel staff member, I interacted with was friendly and helpful. My room was always clean and quiet - no easy task when the hotel was at capacity. The room furnishings were top notch with plenty of places to plug in all the gizmos of a modern traveler. Almost always was a cab outside the hotel for a trip to the French Quarter or airport. If not, the hotel staff was always able to flag a cab down in a few minutes. If you are walking, plan on a 20 minute trek to the French Quarter. There is a grocery store close by for picking up some breakfast items and a great sandwich/butcher shop down the street that is worth waiting in line for. I'm going to be looking for more conventions to attend in New Orleans after this trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the review! We really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
SpringHill Suites New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#59 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing