We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center
Ranked #96 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly, even gave us tons of treats! Rooms weren't ready, (we were there for a wedding) so we took a room that was ready on a different floor away from the rest of the family. The beds were the worst part of the stay. I'm not a fan of them at all! Location would be just right for a pre cruise stay. We walked to the River Walk and it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmcdonald345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you enjoyed the wedding and we're happy that you found our staff friendly and welcoming. We're sorry that you did not enjoy our brand-standard Garden Sleep System beds, which can be adjusted to your preferred firmness or softness and are a brand standard. On your next stay at a Hilton Garden Inn, I definitely recommend asking a Hilton employee to help you find the best setting for you-- we will be delighted to do so if you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I love the location of this hotel. Its the 5 th time i have stayed here. It is near 2 of my favorite places to eat in New Orleans and is super close to the convention center. I am a diamond member with Hilton and I hate writing bad reviews but what has happen to customer service. Every employee I came in contact with acted like they hated their job. The front desk staff doesn't greet me at all just took my cc and Id. The restaurant staff for breakfast was horrible also. Monday morning there were 2 ladies working the Buffett area no one ahead of me, took 5 mins to even be recognized. They were too busy laughing and playing around telling stories. The rooms here are nice but the service was terrible. I hope I get a survey from Hilton . This hotel doesn't carry the brand well.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

While I am happy to hear that you found the rooms and conditions excellent, I am sorry to hear that the service was disappointing. I apologize that you did not receive the service that, as a Hilton hotel guest, you should have received. We do what we can to ensure that our guests receive the best possible service here at the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center and we will work to correct this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotels were booked up everywhere in NOLA this week and was able to find one of the last rooms here at the Hilton Garden Inn..Check in was smooth and courteous, rooms were clean but my beds were saggy and uncomfortable(Had two doubles in my room). The breakfast area was nice but not that appealing and the valet service was very good. The convenience to walk and get dinner was in a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for reviewing the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our service to be "smooth and courteous".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This HGI is large, 3rd largest in US. It's also more upscale than most. Valet parking, bell service, etc. The bar is huge and well stocked, and the restaurant menu offers creole/cajun items that are actually pretty good. Very good location in the warehouse district and close to the convention center.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center! We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful location and dining amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay for a wedding at the HGI Covention Center was phenomenal! The service was top notch, location was great for two large families with small kids, cleanliness superb for a picky person like myself. The valets were pleasant and prompt. Everything from check-in to breakfast at check-out(the kitchen staff took the time to make me a fresh bowl of grits like my Maw-maw used to make, not instant) was in line with what I have come to love about all of our Hilton stays. The HGI New Orleans Convention Center--GREAT JOB!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONTHEGOMOM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We are so glad that we had the chance to "wow" you during your stay! Here at HGI New Orleans Convention Center, we strive to not only meet our guests' expectations but also to exceed them. Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn before and after a cruise. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful. The hotel was nice and clean from the outside to the inside of the rooms. The hotel staff were always asking if we needed help with anything and even offered us water. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was priced well and the food was good. We walked to the French Quarter and the Riverfront. At no time did was feel endangered. I would stay at this hotel again. And yes, the chocolate chip cookies the hotel provided in the lobby were good as well as the lemon aid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerwest206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We're pleased that you enjoyed excellent customer service during your stay and that you would stay with us again. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Morial convention center is nearly a mile long ! So, if you're booking a hotel for a convention at the Convention Center, find out what hall your events are in, and be sure and book your hotel near your hall.

This hotel is right across from Hall D.

There are a couple of good "hole-in-the-wall" restaurants nearby as well : The Corporation, and NOLA Grocery. Both feature great Po-boys and the Corp features a daily special like Chicken Fried Steak or spaghetti. These will be the most reasonably-priced meals you'll have here in the Big Easy. At NOLA, just get a 6" sandwich, even if you're hungry, it's a lot bigger than that.

But back to the hotel : The price is reasonable, and it's all pretty new. The best thing I can ever say about a hotel is that there were no surprises, and there were none here.

If you get a chance, visit the WWII museum - - it's just up the street. Allot a whole day if you're a person who has to see it all. We got there at 11AM, and they had to run us out at closing time (5PM).

Room Tip: They're all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveguidry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate R, Assistant to the General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

We are happy to hear that your stay went seamlessly and you enjoyed the surrounding neighborhood. Thanks for your thoughtful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hyatt Place New Orleans/Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center

Address: 1001 S Peters St, New Orleans, LA 70130-1725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Arts District / Warehouse District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#39 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#56 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $125 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing