We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Garden and Pool, Great Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #15 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden and Pool, Great Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We loved this cozy Inn and would return in a heartbeat! The pool and gardens are just lovely and so relaxing. We enjoyed our time in the jacuzzi and pool with waterfalls and the mature and colorful gardens were so beautiful! We stayed in the "anthium" room on the first floor right off the pool and loved having our own access to the garden and pool. The breakfast was great including the homemade waffle as you can make your own waffles. There were plenty of goodies and healthy choices on their breakfast bar. The coffee was good and lots of snacks on the piano. Jesse and Frank were great hosts! Very nice guys! The house is really cool and the location is great. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The "anthem" is a great room with a king size bed right off the pool and garden with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    45
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
200
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic oasis in NOLA! Easy walk, streetcar, bus or cab ride into French Quarter. Bars and restaurants close by. Very comfortable nicely furnished rooms and the pool is really superb. Breakfast is also very good. Jesse and Frank are so welcoming and the fount of all knowledge on what to do, where to go, eat etc.

If you like corporate hotels, room service etc, this is probably not for you but you never know ........

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank azuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Used tripadviser reviews to find this hotel and so glad we did,all the excellent reviews are all fully justified.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel fully at home by Frank and his help and advise during our stay was priceless.Don,t worry about the location.its a 20 min walk to the French Quarter if you are half fit or a 10 dollar taxi ride,10 mins the other way there are some cracking little bars if you want a break from the Quarter.The pool and the hot tube are a god send after a long day sightseeing plus a 1,25 beer from the vending machine,perfect.Breakast is help yourself in a small kitchen and lasts all day and all night at no extra cost.Rooms are comfortable with most having direct access to the pool and gardens.To conclude if we ever visit New Orleans again we will stay at the greenhouse and would have no problems recommending this hotel to anyone,a special thank you to Frank the most helpful,frindly and knowledgeable innkeeper we have ever meet in 30 years of traveling kev and Karen visited 3 nights may 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevireson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April, Frank & Jesse very helpful... room was great, pool was awesome!! Green house is so relaxing, it's very quiet. ...we love all the fun on burbon st and french quarter area, but green house alowes u to get away from all the noise... When your ready to party again, its just a short cab ride to the french quarter area.... ive stayed at many hotels in new orleans, this is the best by far....This is the ONLY place I will stay in nola from now on.... I just spoke to frank today to book our next stay,he was very nice as always. Thanks frank, new guest forever Brad & Glenn

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University of Mississippi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We needed a place to stay while down for our daughter's graduation from Tulane, although we booked early there were not a lot of options. It is in an area that was still recovering from Katrina the last time through, but it has made a lot of progress since. The Inn itself is wonderful. Frank and Jesse are great hosts. The room was comfortable and well kept. We had a ground floor room only a few feet from the pool and hottub which are in a court yard that looks like it's in the middle of the tropics. The area is clothing optional which was new for us, but a very good experience, especially while swimming through the flower petals that had fallen into the pool. Quite an exotic experience.

It's within walking distance of the art galleries on Julia Street.

The only down side was that with a first floor room we were awakened by other people leaving early Sunday morning as they walked and rolled their luggage down the wooden floor in the hallway. The Inn has signs by the pool asking that noise be kept to a minimum between 10 p.m. and 10 a.m. The only change I would make is that they post a similar sign in that hallway! Otherwise, it was a great place to stay while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennebunklegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room way back in January for my girlfriend and I to stay in May. The staff was very professional and accomodating with our check-in request. Upon arrival our minds were blown by the mesh of tropical oasis and southern charm, right in the heart of one of the world's most beautiful and exciting cities. The innkeepers were pleasant, especially Frank- go with his reccomendations, the man knows his city. The impressive tropical pools and garden provided the perfect back drop as I proposed to my lady. Needless to say she is now my Fiancé!! Thank you Green House Inn, we will be back for years to come.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hi,

We stayed at the Green House Inn for 4 nights during our visit to Tulane U. We would have extended our stay for another 3 nights, but they were sold out for Jazzfest. This is a wonderful inn, very laid back and accomodating. We stayed in the Orchid Room -- we were 2 adults and a teenager. It had two bathrooms and was big enough that we weren't on top of each other. It was very easy to stay like this. Much nicer than staying in a hotel/motel. The pool area was fabulous and the hot tub was welcomed after walking around all day and we loved the visiting parrot that would spy on us (actually we were spying on him!). The gardens/flowers are just lovely. An oasis convenient to everything New Orleans. Walking to Magazine Street shops and the French Quarter is no big deal from here. Frank is a wonderful host and knows everything about anything you could possibly want to do in New Orleans. We hiked the bayou, went to restaurants, took tours. Everything that Frank and Jesse recommended was spot on. It is convenient by street car and there is gated parking at the Inn. We had a rental car because we are spoiled, but wouldn't have needed it at this location. Stay with Jesse and Frank --- you can't go wrong with this pick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylS12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, The Staff of The Green House Inn at Green House Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello CherylS,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review! It was our pleasure to have your family as guests! We are glad that y'all enjoyed your stay and our suggestions were helpful. April is always a popular month to visit New Orleans because of the milder weather and many festivals. We would love to have y'all stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,390 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,943 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Property: Green House Inn
Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing