We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #14 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April, Frank & Jesse very helpful... room was great, pool was awesome!! Green house is so relaxing, it's very quiet. ...we love all the fun on burbon st and french quarter area, but green house alowes u to get away from all the noise... When your ready to party again, its just a short cab ride to the french quarter area.... ive stayed at many hotels in new orleans, this is the best by far....This is the ONLY place I will stay in nola from now on.... I just spoke to frank today to book our next stay,he was very nice as always. Thanks frank, new guest forever Brad & Glenn

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Green House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 365 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We needed a place to stay while down for our daughter's graduation from Tulane, although we booked early there were not a lot of options. It is in an area that was still recovering from Katrina the last time through, but it has made a lot of progress since. The Inn itself is wonderful. Frank and Jesse are great hosts. The room was comfortable and well kept. We had a ground floor room only a few feet from the pool and hottub which are in a court yard that looks like it's in the middle of the tropics. The area is clothing optional which was new for us, but a very good experience, especially while swimming through the flower petals that had fallen into the pool. Quite an exotic experience.

It's within walking distance of the art galleries on Julia Street.

The only down side was that with a first floor room we were awakened by other people leaving early Sunday morning as they walked and rolled their luggage down the wooden floor in the hallway. The Inn has signs by the pool asking that noise be kept to a minimum between 10 p.m. and 10 a.m. The only change I would make is that they post a similar sign in that hallway! Otherwise, it was a great place to stay while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennebunklegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room way back in January for my girlfriend and I to stay in May. The staff was very professional and accomodating with our check-in request. Upon arrival our minds were blown by the mesh of tropical oasis and southern charm, right in the heart of one of the world's most beautiful and exciting cities. The innkeepers were pleasant, especially Frank- go with his reccomendations, the man knows his city. The impressive tropical pools and garden provided the perfect back drop as I proposed to my lady. Needless to say she is now my Fiancé!! Thank you Green House Inn, we will be back for years to come.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Hi,

We stayed at the Green House Inn for 4 nights during our visit to Tulane U. We would have extended our stay for another 3 nights, but they were sold out for Jazzfest. This is a wonderful inn, very laid back and accomodating. We stayed in the Orchid Room -- we were 2 adults and a teenager. It had two bathrooms and was big enough that we weren't on top of each other. It was very easy to stay like this. Much nicer than staying in a hotel/motel. The pool area was fabulous and the hot tub was welcomed after walking around all day and we loved the visiting parrot that would spy on us (actually we were spying on him!). The gardens/flowers are just lovely. An oasis convenient to everything New Orleans. Walking to Magazine Street shops and the French Quarter is no big deal from here. Frank is a wonderful host and knows everything about anything you could possibly want to do in New Orleans. We hiked the bayou, went to restaurants, took tours. Everything that Frank and Jesse recommended was spot on. It is convenient by street car and there is gated parking at the Inn. We had a rental car because we are spoiled, but wouldn't have needed it at this location. Stay with Jesse and Frank --- you can't go wrong with this pick.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylS12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, The Staff of The Green House Inn at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello CherylS,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review! It was our pleasure to have your family as guests! We are glad that y'all enjoyed your stay and our suggestions were helpful. April is always a popular month to visit New Orleans because of the milder weather and many festivals. We would love to have y'all stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a great 4 night stay early April and would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone. As Frank and Jesse said, we could safely walk to/from the French quarter - 20 mins straight walk to canal St - or take the nearby tram. The room was excellent, and the house had a great old world charm. The pool area is a secluded oasis, beautifully set up and lit with greenish subdued lighting. It was great to come back from the busy French quarter to the quiet of the pool, and a couple of drinks before retiring. We loved the laid back vibes from Frank and Jesse, which set the tone of the whole place - Other than the bars/restaurants/music etc don't miss the World War II Museum just a 5 minute walk away. Rob and Sue from UK

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Rob and Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient and the surrounding attractions easily accessible. Please be sure to pay us a visit on your next trip to the city.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Greenhouse reminded us a lot of our favorite place in Key West, Marrero's Guest Mansion. Frank the innkeeper that checked us in was extremely helpful, one of the best we have ever had. He provided us with restaurant recommendations that were spot on, and great directions for how to navigate the trolley system. It is a bit of a walk to the French quarter, but completely doable. Bourbon Street is about 20 blocks or just over a mile walk. The rooms were nice with very comfortable beds, but the outdoor clothing optional pool was fantastic, however more clothed than not for our taste. There was another young newly nudist couple that was giving clothing optional a second go after staying at Marrero’s, but that was about it. The pool landscaping really made you feel like you were in the tropics. The pool is not heated but the Jacuzzi was more than hot enough. The pool is slightly shaded, but there are two sundecks to catch a tan, one good for the morning, one good for the afternoon. If you are a real sun worshiper you might want to get the Bird of Paradise room with its own sun deck. We had the Bougainvillea room which opened directly onto the pool which was a nice feature. The only issue is that it is right next to the lobby/dining room so it is not as private as some of the rooms. Breakfast is mostly a do your own carb fest with a waffle Iron if you want something hot. They did have hard boiled eggs which was nice for some protein. Considering the trend of lower carbs and gluten free, they may want to come up with a few more options than cereal, croissants, or muffins. Anything you do in an Inn or B&B is going to be tough considering you are in a City that is so known for its food. However, there are a few restaurant options close by, Seed for vegan friendly and The Irish House for gluten free. Our only other recommendation is that they add a few more beer or even whine options to the soda machine near the pool. Yet again, there is a great wine shop about 8 blocks away, Keife & Co that has a great selection of wine with a small selection of meat and cheese. We were more than happy with our stay, and will be making it our new home base in New Orleans.

Room Tip: The rooms that open directly to the pool are really convenient, if you are spending the day at the p...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Beach Natural,

We thank you for providing such a thorough account of your time with us for prospective guests! It delights us to hear that the atmosphere we provided reminded you of tropical Key West, as this was the vision we modeled the inn after. We want our guests to have the pool and garden as a retreat in the middle of the city. Thank you for the suggestion concerning our breakfast options; we will look into providing more health conscious options for our guests.

Sincerely,
The Staff of the Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in April in the Royal Ponciana Suite. The suite is on the 3rd floor (so no one over your head) and has a sitting/living room, separate bedroom, and of course, a bathroom. Plenty of room for the two of us to spread out for the duration of the visit. TVs in both rooms. The bed was an ultra comfortable king and there was plenty of natural light in the rooms, as well as sufficient electric lighting for the evening, and two ceiling fans (plus the A/C).
Bathrobes are provided to you if desired, which came in handy for us, as well as towels for the pool area. Also a very nice touch are the make-off washcloths, which allow us gals to remove our make-up without worrying about staining the other bath linens.
Breakfast is come when you want, make your own waffle, or enjoy a yogurt, toast, juice, cereals, etc. If you want something more substantial, Surry's farther down on Magazine or Mother's are both only a few minutes walk away.
The location is convenient to the St. Charles street car line (only 3 blocks away) and an easy walk to the museums. Your key comes complete with the number for the local taxi service, which proved very helpful.
The pool area is an oasis - many tropical plants and trees create an area that seems like it belongs on a Caribbean island rather than NO. The hot tub was very relaxing after a full day of walking. Your choice of whether you wear a suit or not when you visit the pool and hot tub.
Frank is ready with suggestions if you need them, and was very helpful to us.
All in all, we enjoyed the ambiance, the location suited us, and we would recommend the location to other adult travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Front Office Manager at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Wow! We are so grateful for such a detailed review! Our goal has always been to create a atmosphere in which all possible needs of our guests have been addressed. We are pleased to know that your time with us met your expectations and hope you know our door is always open to you and yours.

Sincerely,
The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,424 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,200 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,429 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $170 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing