We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green House Inn
Ranked #15 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

This beautiful bed and breakfast combines restful, lush tropical gardens within an urban environment, and a short walk or street car ride to the French Quarter, Garden District, and all New Orleans has to offer. The rooms are spacious and clean, the pool and hot tub area is magnificent, and Jesse is just about the best host you could ask for. We are a gay couple, and felt right at home with the other straight and gay guests. Jesse will tell you exactly where to go to experience this exciting city that is coming back to its former glory after Katrina. Jesse clearly loves his city, and his enthusiasm is contagious. We highly recommend this city oasis.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank marcpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    46
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
206
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC metro area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the Green House Inn from 3/29/08-4/2/08. We were not forewarned before arriving that the inn is under construction -- we only found out about the construction upon check-in. Had we known, we most likely would have chosen another hotel. We came back from a day of touring for a lazy Sunday nap only to be awakened by loud construction. We were also awakened around 9am each day by the construction. I wish someone would have told us about the construction when I made the reservation or even the week before when I emailed our arrival time.

We were also very upset to come back to our room on a Monday night to a propped open gate and open front door. The inn is not in the best neighborhood, so an unlocked door seems quite dangerous, especially in a city with such high levels of crime and violence. The staff was having a BBQ and there was a large sign on the front gate stating that the BBQ was in the back, so not only was the door open, but there was a sign advertising that it was open! Since the party was going on, we were very disappointed that we could not enjoy a quiet night in the pool/hot tub area. To make matters worse, there was loud noise from the party past 10pm, so we could not even sleep! We were fairly certain that the party was hosted by the staff since several of the staff members were outside. They specifically told guests not to make loud noises after 10pm--that clearly doesn't apply to employees and their friends.

The property was average. The room was fairly clean, but the fixtures in the bathroom were old and outdated. The common area smells like the dog (YUCK!!) The breakfast was not great -- cereals, yogurt and prepackaged muffins and pastries. I honestly am not sure how this place got such great ratings, but we will definitely not be back anytime soon.

  • Liked — great bar across the street
  • Disliked — very poor security/dangerous location, construction
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tcmr705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Owner at Green House Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2008
At The Green House Inn, we strive very hard to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay and always welcome guest comments. This is how we have built up a 73% past guest return rate after 16 years of business.

The Inn is currently not under construction. As is common in any building built in 1840; to keep it updated, we constantly make necessary repairs and repaint sections of the house. Work that has noise associated with it, is not done on weekends or before all the guests are up; unless it is absolutely necessary. We want all our guests to have a relaxing stay.

We encourage our guests to get to know each other. Several of our guests asked to have a pool side BBQ. They were here to volunteer for Hurricane Katrina rebuilding and wanted to enjoy themselves by the pool after a hard day. All the guests at the Inn were invited and it was not a staff party. It was a relaxed BBQ in our tropical gardens with less than 10 guests attending. The BBQ was over by 10 PM, although some guests stayed out by the pool longer to enjoy each other’s company. The pool and gardens are for all our guests to use and enjoy. We make every effort to have them quiet after 10 PM, and tell all guests as they check in to be courteous of other guests.

Our neighborhood, The Lower Garden District, is a wonderful area to stay in, that is why we live here ourselves. There are pedestrians on the street, a wonderful park one block away. It is an area we are proud to call home. Our guests frequently walk to the St. Charles Avenue Street Car, the French Quarter, the Convention Center and other tourist sites. There is a trendy neighborhood bar across the street with tables and chairs on the sidewalk. It is very people friendly.

Security and the safety of our guests is always a priority. There is usually someone on duty at the reception desk throughout the day, and the Inn is locked at night – all guests have their own keys. The Innkeepers live on the premises.

We are a comfortable bed and breakfast inn built in 1840. Our bathrooms are clean and functional. They have showers with Aveda bath amenities, Egyptian cotton towels, etc. We tell all our perspective guests that we are a comfortable, relaxed place to stay at reasonable rates. Our continental breakfast features: various cereals, yogurt, muffins, croissants, wheat bread, breakfast bars, butter, jam, orange juice, milk, tea, and local coffee. It is offered from 7 AM to 11 AM, plus there are several very good breakfast places just 2 blocks away for those that desire a full breakfast.

We are pet friendly. The Inn has a top of the line filtration system for the common areas that eliminates odors, dust, etc. Steuben, our house pet is 12 years old; and is always kept very clean. There is no pet odor.

Again we are sorry these guests did not enjoy their stay, but obviously hundreds of other guests love the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere of The Green House Inn and have given us wonderful reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

In a city of activity and pounding energy, the luscious patio and seductive rooms of The Green House Inn grant something all-too-rare in the Big Easy -- a Little Privacy and a mix of New Orleans with a splash of Key West cool.

The Inn's steep-stair antiquity is supplemented with modern details -- a personal fridge in the room, a charming staff, luscious courtyard and garden, an encyclopedia of new orleans offering truly thoughtful reccomendations, a robe to wear during your stay and a fantastic bed, all at a very reasonable price no less -- but what I appreciate most is the space it provides its guests.

The space does come at a cost. Those wanting to explore the quarter primarily are relegated to a taxi, or their own car for those willing to brave parking in the quarter. Some lovely eateries are within walking distance, but you'll mostly be driving or driven to and fro the city. The St. Charles Streetcar is only a scant less distance than just walking yourself to Canal St. This only poses an issue if you're used to walking everywhere you wish to go in the city.

Be it a chance to think or a moment to catch your breath before the next misadventure, the Inn provides a brilliant retreat and an understanding of New Orleans you would never get in a corporate hotel.

  • Liked — the privacy it offered guests; the mix of antiques with modern amneties
  • Disliked — heavily reliant on car to travel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MythicalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

My partner and I were introduced to the Greenhouse Inn via close friends who were well acquainted with this heavenly place and the innkeeper Jesse. Our experience here was purely top-notch.

The grandiose house is a visual treat for the senses, steeped in Southern Antebellum charm, mystique and history that echo the never ending magic of all the glory that is New Orleans.

Each luxurious room is uniquely named after an exotic flower (all of which can be found thriving in the absolutely thriving and dazzling tropical garden paradise (complete with tropical birds) that encloses the phenomenal salt water swimming pool – which is heated when in season). Trust me when I tell you that you will find it rather difficult to pull yourself away from this stress releasing Eden when tempted to explore NOLA. However, if you do decide to do so, you will find yourself perfectly located to do so from the Greenhouse Inn’s convenient location of 1212 Magazine Street (we were able to walk to several of the parade locations easily).

One particularly memorable recollection that I keep in my thoughts from my stay here was how “at home” we were made to feel at the Greenhouse Inn. There is such a pure sense of relaxation in the air in the Greenhouse Inn that each moment simply feels superbly languid, lush, and soothing.

Innkeeper Jesse is the quintessential southern gentleman with knowledge of New Orleans that far exceeds any tour guide. Trust in his advice and you will not go wrong. You also will not go wrong with your decision to stay at the Greenhouse Inn, though you may find yourself reluctant to go back your “regular” life at the end of your stay.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Sprouseart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed two nights at the Green House Inn, and wish we could have stayed more! Everyone was friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and clean, the location was great, good continental breakfast, great little bar with great mojitos across the street, off street gated parking. For the price of the room, it was a total bargain! I would highly recommend this to anyone going to New Orleans.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Room was bright from outside lights
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mea_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We have just returned from our 4th & longest trip to New Orleans & would like to comment on the fabulous accommodations we had. The Green House Inn is a beautiful historic building with classic furnishings & an unexpected treat in the form of a pool, hot tub & fantastic garden setting for a little oasis in the midst of Mardi Gras. It's close to the uptown parade route, street car, Bridge Lounge & walking distance to the French Quarter. Proprietor Jesse, & manager Dickie, were quite a delight & made our stay pleasurable. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Green House Inn as the place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MGbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2008

I lived in New Orleans for many years and moved away 2 years before Hurricane Katrina. When I go back to this magical city, I ALWAYS, ALWAYS stay at The Green House Inn. There are many reasons for this. First and foremost, the Inn is a beautifully stunning building that is over 100 years old. It is New Orleans through and through. When I am in New Orleans, I want to feel like I am back home in the city I love so much. The Greenhouse makes me feel welcome. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable, and the pool grounds are as lush and tropical as any rainforest.
I can walk to the Arts District, the French Quarter ( or take an inexpensive 5 min cab ride there ) and the St. Charles street car is just 2 blocks away. The bar across from the Inn is full of friendly locals who live in the neighborhood. GREAT CHERRY MOJITOS !!!! The Green House Inn's owner, Jesse, is a true southern gentleman that goes out of his way to ensure you will love New Orleans as much as he does. Dickey, the house manager, is a vibrant delight!!! His easy manner and frequent laughter will have you comfortable in no time.
I believe, as a traveler, that good places should be rewarded with loyal guests and kind words. The Green House Inn is one of these places. Go there, you'll be glad you did.
Also, Steuben ( a kind and gentle German Shepard) will gladly offer up his beloved football to play with anyone who will play with him.
Once you go to this fantastic city, you will understand the phrase
" Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans? "
Have fun, Trip Seekers !!!!!

  • Liked — It is for real. A true New Orleans experience
  • Disliked — I ate too many blueberry muffins they put out each morning, lol .
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BorderCollieAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,803 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Property: Green House Inn
Address: 1212 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing