We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Green House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$179
$153
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$178
$126
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$249
$189
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$111
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$144
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$203
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$117
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
343
52
7
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
52
7
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubtropical paradisemagazine streetparadise roompool area islower garden districtthe clothing optional pooltropical poolcoffee shop next doordirect access to the poolthe salt water poolfrench quartergated parkingalready planning our next tripother guestsrocking chairsyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 408 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The Green House Inn was a great find. The location was perfect and peaceful. Easy to get to the French quarter and the Garden District. Great whether or not you have a car. (We had one so the convenience of parking in the private lot was great.) The rooms were amazing. The most comfortable bed I have slept on and the most quiet air conditioner. The pool and landscaping behind the hotel was fabulous, like being in a lush tropical paradise. All of the staff - Charles who greeted us upon our arrival, Frank who was there to answer all of our questions in the morning before our adventures and Jesse, the owner, who we met on our last day, were all so welcoming and informative. We enjoyed our continental breakfast of waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs on the pool patio each morning. And last but not least the price was very reasonable for this most charming accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello Suellen E,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for leaving us this wonderful review! We are glad our staff provided you with such attentive service. (This is something we strive to do with all our guests.) It was our pleasure to have you as a guest!

Sincerely,

The staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Green House Inn gives you a true taste of New Orleans.

It is located close to downtown and very close to the business area of Magazine Street.
Close to all the good resturants, but not really walking distance to Bourbon Street, which is a plus for us.
We always took a taxi, and it was never more than $5.00 to anywhere we went.

We stayed in the Bird of Paradise room which was pretty quiet and had it's own little porch.
This was a nice area to work on your tan.

The pool is very nice, but don't expect to get much tan hanging around the pool.
It is very nicely landscaped, and as such well shaded.

Met lots of nice visitors just hanging around talking.

A big bonus is secure, gated, parking.
There is also the Bridge Lounge across the street.
It has the best Mohitos!
A really funky place that is nice and dark.

Only negative is they have all kinds of sweets downstairs, which I raided constantly......

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunandSkiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Hello SunandSkiers,

Wow, thank you for your review! We are happy that y'all enjoyed your stay in the Bird of Paradise room (it is one of our most requested rooms). Most guests are pleasantly surprised how easy it is to get around on foot, by streetcar, and by cabs in New Orleans. We would love to have y'all stay with us again!

Again Thank You,

The staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first trip to New Orleans since Katrina, and our first time not staying in the French Quarter. The location of the Green House Inn was a wonderful change, and we don't plan on staying anywhere else in the future. Jesse, Frank and Charles were very gracious hosts and provided lots of suggestions for things to do and places to eat. The downtown areas are very accessible with a good pair of walking shoes, or the street car is just a couple of blocks away. The beautiful garden area of the Inn is like a tropical oasis, and we spent lots of time in the pool and tub. We also enjoyed the daily visits from Steuben and Rio. If you're looking for a beautiful and relaxing place to stay, you will be extremely happy here. The motto of the Inn is stay..........relax..........just be. It fits it to a T! Thanks Jesse, Frank and Charles for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DnDtwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello DnDtwelve,

Thank you for leaving us this great review on TripAdvisor! We are happy they you were able to stay with us for your first return trip to New Orleans post Katrina. Lounging by our saltwater pool, after a long day of exploring our historic city, is a great way to relax and unwind. We are looking forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've stayed at the Green House Inn twice for multiple-night stays and absolutely love it. There isn't another place like it in New Orleans. We've stayed in the Royal Porciana Suite and the Bird of Paradise room and both were great. Jesse, the innkeeper, and Frank, the assistant innkeeper, both go out of their way to make you feel at home. They always greet you with a smile and hello, and offer great recommendations on restaurants, bars, sites, cabs, etc. Jesse even insisted on dropping us off in Quarter on our last day, so we wouldn't have to take a cab.

My favorite attribute of the Green House is the pool/hot tub area. It's relaxing and nestled into a beautiful, tropical setting. There's nothing better than coming in from a day of walking New Orleans, grabbing a drink (grab a mojito from the Bridge Lounge across the street and take it to go), and sliding into the saltwater pool. The pool is clothing optional, and in our two stays it has been about 50/50 on those "optioning." I hope anyone considering the Green House doesn't let that aspect scare them away. Everyone is always respectful and gives others their space.

I can't recommend the Green House highly enough. We won't stay anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 515,272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

dear 515272,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We love New Orleans and it is our pleasure to help our guests experience what it is like to live here. It is great to grab a cold mojito from the Bridge Lounge and relax in our tropical pool. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were newbie to NOLA looking to find a great place to stay for our first without the children vacation. We aren't fans of chain hotels, they just lack the personal touches we like. So after much Internet searching my husband found the Green House Inn. I wanted a pool but was apprehensive about the "European" atmosphere. Yes, I saw many "European" bathers/swimmers. Honestly, it wasn't an issue. It's all about attitude & the guests who chose to swim sans suit did so with such dignity that I almost didn't notice. My ever so shy New England husband even jumped on the bandwagon & got "caught" by another couple in the hot tub mid day and being the woman I am, I did not bring him a towel! The pool & hot tub area is a tropical oasis that you would never expect. A welcome retreat after a day of sight seeing & roaming. My daily task was to find Rio & get him to talk to me. I could have stayed in the yard & had a wonderful vacation.

The house is lovely, older & not as sound proof as newer places but kept up very nicely & more than comfortable for everything you may require.

On our 1st night Jesse suggested we go across the street to the Bridge Lounge for mojitos-a true must do! And they make them to go-take one back to the pool! He also mentioned that they don't have food but a "guy" will pull out a BBQ & serve burgers & grilled oysters. What?? They also have local places that deliver food to the bar. All very strange to us. We were greeted by patrons with their dogs-a bonus in my book, great drinks & the best oysters I have ever had. I heard the BBQ "guy" opened his own restaurant, as well he should!

Frank & Jesse were fantastic. They recommended places to visit & things to do without being overbearing & always asked how it went so we knew they were invested in their guests falling in love with their great city.

We had a wonderful vacation &
cannot wait to return again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jonoba7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Hello Jonoba7,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review here. We are thrilled that y'all enjoyed yourselves! We are happy that you were not intimidated by our clothing optional pool. Like you, many guests find the pool area very relaxed and low key after a short adjustment period. We are glad that our suggestions were helpful, as we try to cater them to each individual guest. We hope to have y'all back again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews