We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #10 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Green House Inn for 5 nights. The Inn was fantastic! Great location on Magazine Street; easy to get to the Warehouse District and French Quarter. The Inn itself was charming and the host warm and attentive. Fantastic bed, great livingroom / dining room for breakfast and a small pool and hot tub (which we did not get to use, but will next time we visit)! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reeflovervt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had three days alone in NOLA and needed somewhere quiet but with possibilities of socializing. The Green House turned out to be an excellent choice.

My room was big, clean and original, with windows towards the garden/pool area (wich is bigger than it appears on the pictures). It could have been noisy with other guests in the pool, but the whole place just oozed with tranquility and noise from the pool area was only a problem one of the nights (and not a big problem).

The host was relaxed and friendly, and generous with his time and advice.

Breakfast was... uh... American. Wich is not a good thing in the eyes of a Norwegian. Too much sugar and fat. But it was the best breakfast I got during my visit to the USA. And the fact that the guests of The Green House Inn are allowed to help themselves in the kitchen was really convenient.

Great place, that I wish I could have stayed at longer!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pirividite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Inn. An Excellent location.with secure parking. 5-6 minutes by car to the French Quarter , 2 blocks from the highway but you would never know it. lovely accommodations. the bed was very comfortable, the hot tub and pool an absolute delight after a long day out in New Orleans. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, the Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Hello Drik,

Thank you for choosing the Green House Inn for your stay in New Orleans! We are glad that you had a chance to experience a few of the many sites New Orleans has to offer and enjoyed the hot tub after a long day of touring. We loved having you as a guest would love to have you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a small hotel with a pool and hot tub (clothing optional) in an old house. Our room was at the back of the property, in the old servants' quarters, and it was very clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a king-size bed and our own bathroom with nice thick towels. Breakfast is a do-it-yourself affair with a selection of fruit, cereals, yogurt and a waffle iron. Snacks are available at any hour of the day or night. Frank called to find out the details of our arrival and followed up with information on travel from the airport, which was helpful. All the staff members we met were very friendly and welcoming. We are regular visitors to New Orleans and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front might be noisy because of the bar on Magazine Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Llama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Jesse, the Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Llama11,
Thank you for your feedback! Here at The Green House Inn we strive to make our guests feel as comfortable and relaxed as they so at home. I am glad that everything was to your liking. We hope to have y'all stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

The Staff of The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from a nice trip to NOLA with my wife. We really enjoyed the hotel but both agreed a 4 for the rating.
The location is in an easy to get to location and very close to bus routes to and from downtown.
The only real knock on the place is the fact that it is an old building and could use a few basic up grades. One issue was that it was a real struggle to get anything more than luke warm water in the shower. Again, it is an old house so that makes some sense, but if you are like my wife and I a hot shower is a must.
That being said, the bed was super comfortable, the pool was very relaxing. I'd have no problem recommending this place to people if they were going to NOLA.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KG3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for you for choosing The Green House Inn for your stay in New Orleans and thank you for your feedback! Currently, we are in the process of upgrading all of our water heaters to provide extra hot water for all of our guests. We hope to have y'all stay with us again soon!


Sincerely,


The Staff at The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was the last place that my wife and I stayed on a 24-night cross-country drive, and it was easily the best. The price was right, the check-in process was easy, the innkeepers were friendly and very accommodating, the property was nice and well-maintained, the parking was secure, the pool and hot tub were awesome, and the bed was comfy. The inn is located in a transitional area, but at no point did we feel unsafe. We walked to and from the French Quarter multiple times during our stay and never did we feel threatened in any way.

All around A+. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Awesome place for couples, but probably not very convenient for families with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello CJBloom,

Thank you for your compliments, we are thrilled that y'all enjoyed your stay with us! We are looking forward to your next visit to The Green House Inn!

The Staff at The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is perfect. We were unbelievably impressed. The moment we arrived, we were personally welcomed, given a tour, recommendations of what to do, where to go, local bars, etc. The owner has lived there for majority of his life. They are flexible, hospitable, laid back. There is are snacks available around the clock, the pool is clothing optional - but it's not full of a bunch of people trying to see naked people. It's very classy and calm - It's like having your own personal oasis. (A great place to tan your butt cheeks with out living a scene from Eurotrip).

After a night out, this gives you the perfect COMFORTABLE AND CLEAN BED to come back to, RELAXING & INVITING pool, family style breakfast, CLEAN quarters, UNIQUE bedrooms, and WELCOMING STAFF!

I'll never stay anywhere else when I go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenHouseInn, Innkeeper at Green House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hello Kathleen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review! We are glad to hear that we met all of your expectations. Thank both of you for being such wonderful guests!

The Staff at The Green House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
358 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,522 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,785 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $172 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing