We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B!!”
Review of Green House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green House Inn
Ranked #10 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We have just returned from our 4th & longest trip to New Orleans & would like to comment on the fabulous accommodations we had. The Green House Inn is a beautiful historic building with classic furnishings & an unexpected treat in the form of a pool, hot tub & fantastic garden setting for a little oasis in the midst of Mardi Gras. It's close to the uptown parade route, street car, Bridge Lounge & walking distance to the French Quarter. Proprietor Jesse, & manager Dickie, were quite a delight & made our stay pleasurable. We would wholeheartedly recommend the Green House Inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MGbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

I lived in New Orleans for many years and moved away 2 years before Hurricane Katrina. When I go back to this magical city, I ALWAYS, ALWAYS stay at The Green House Inn. There are many reasons for this. First and foremost, the Inn is a beautifully stunning building that is over 100 years old. It is New Orleans through and through. When I am in New Orleans, I want to feel like I am back home in the city I love so much. The Greenhouse makes me feel welcome. The rooms are nicely decorated and very comfortable, and the pool grounds are as lush and tropical as any rainforest.
I can walk to the Arts District, the French Quarter ( or take an inexpensive 5 min cab ride there ) and the St. Charles street car is just 2 blocks away. The bar across from the Inn is full of friendly locals who live in the neighborhood. GREAT CHERRY MOJITOS !!!! The Green House Inn's owner, Jesse, is a true southern gentleman that goes out of his way to ensure you will love New Orleans as much as he does. Dickey, the house manager, is a vibrant delight!!! His easy manner and frequent laughter will have you comfortable in no time.
I believe, as a traveler, that good places should be rewarded with loyal guests and kind words. The Green House Inn is one of these places. Go there, you'll be glad you did.
Also, Steuben ( a kind and gentle German Shepard) will gladly offer up his beloved football to play with anyone who will play with him.
Once you go to this fantastic city, you will understand the phrase
" Do you know what it means to miss New Orleans? "
Have fun, Trip Seekers !!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BorderCollieAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

Just returned from a terrific week in New Orleans, for Mardi Gras. Stayed at the Greenhouse Inn and loved it. Beautiful property and pool with very spacious rooms. The owner, Jessie, and his manager Dickie were so hospitable and helpful.

I loved the beautiful peaceful pool and yard and lounge area. Felt like I entered another world after coming back from the parades and the French Quarter. Walked just a couple of blocks to the parade routes so I got to enjoy five of them. Could also walk to the French Quarter but that did take about ten minutes or take the trolley. Also discovered the joys of the Garden District. Just walked down the street a few times to gawk at the great architecture and now that the streetcars were running again, just walked over to that line, two blocks and went uptown as well. Such a convenient location, but quiet and not in the thick of all the hoopla and bar scene.

The Greenhouse Inn is a beautiful historical property that Jessie has renovated and decorated in a wonderful traditional style. I could not have been happier with my choice in B&B. Will definitely stay there every time I visit New Orleans.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrianDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2007

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Green House Inn several times. Every time it has been one of the most comfortable and relaxing visits to New Orleans.

The staff is a true example of Southern hospitality. They realize that since Katrina they must go above and beyond and they do it well, especially Richard.

The pool area is exquisite. See my photos. Escape the French Quarter by curling up with a book from their library and while away the hours in a swing or rocking chair. Naps are "mandatory"!

I recommend this New Orleans B&B to everyone.
LSUCAJUNLADY

Stayed: April 2007
Thank lsucajunlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2007

My husband and I stay at a lot of B&B and small Inns while we travel. The Greenhouse Inn is our favorite place to stay while we are in New Orleans. The Inn keeper/owner is very warm and makes you feel at home as soon as you arrive. He is always current with what is going on in the city and is never without a recomendation for the best places to dine, shop, listen to some great music or join in on the local fun. The Inn is always festive and welcoming no matter what time of year we stay there. The pool is surrounded by lush tropical plants and has such a calming effect on those who venture into the tropical paradise or who are lucky enough to view it from the balcony off their rooms. The Greenhouse is a charming old three story house with a lot of history, eclectic and well maintained interiors, and a great staff that makes you want to come back and visit again and again. They make you love NOLA even more -if that is possible!

1  Thank AngeltoAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

After a full day of enjoying the sights, sounds, and food of New Orleans - the oasis of the Green House Inn is a wonderful resting spot to come back and relax before taking off on the next adventure.

I cannot tell you how wonderful it was to spend that time between touring and dinner sitting by the GORGEOUS pool and reading books, taking a dip and catching a nap. The pool area is an exquitely planned and maintained tropical garden. The Inn is located near wonderful restuarants, shops, and muesums. There is even a quant neighborhood watering hole across the street from the Inn, where you can enjoy a quiet cocktail before heading off to dinner, a concert or nightlife. The bonus: hopping in the hot tub to unwind at the end of evening before retiring.

The rooms are very clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with original works of art. All the amenities you would expect are right there at your fingertips.

It's impossible to say enough good things about the staff at the Inn. They are sunny, friendly and knowledgable. Jesse, the inn keeper, has a weath of knowledge about New Orelans, which is more than willing to share. Katherine is an absolute doll!

Enjoy!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank LouisianaBootsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

If you want to hide out and get away this is the place.

I bring my dog Max,( a westy with a personality) with me everytime. He loves the place, Hanging around the pool with his buddy Stubben a big germand shepard, the owners dog. Stubben is a gentle as they come.

The Green House Inn is layed back! You feel right at home. No hassels no worries. Just a short taxi ride to some of the best of New Orleans. Jesse the owner will give you the best tips as to where the action is, or what new Bistro is hot.

Sunday morning is my favorite time at the Green House. Wake up, take a dip in the Garden pool, then off down Magazine Street to Slim Goodies for breakfast.. Man! Then back to green house for layed back day at the pool. Then in afternoon, slip down to French Quarter, and check out Jackson Square. Cool!

This is why they call it the Big Easy.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewYorkArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
358 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 167 in New Orleans
2,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Inn

Address: 1212 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District , Lower Garden District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $171 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green House Inn is a fun and relaxed environment for your New Orleans experience. With a convenient location, we are a tropical paradise with a unique saltwater pool and Jacuzzi. We offer comfortable rooms with king size beds, private bathrooms, TVs, DVD, cable, Wi-Fi Internet, mini-refrigerators and other amenities. Included is free parking, tropical gardens, a library of movies and books, and desktop computer with printer. The Green House Inn, "stay... relax... just be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Green House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing