We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close Enough to the Action, Much Nicer Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Close Enough to the Action, Much Nicer Hotel”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

I picked this hotel for three reasons: the TripAdvisor rating, the pictures, and all the freebies. It has lived up to all 3. Very good hotel to stay at. You will not be hungry given all the free food. You will not go without internet. You will not be disappointed.

A lot of other New Orleans hotels like to describe themselves as "historical". Don't fall for it. "Historical" is a euphemism for "we cheaped out and haven't updated this place in decades". Stay at the Drury Hotel instead and enjoy the modern, comfortable, and reasonably-priced accomodations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevynsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    537
    95
    25
    13
See reviews for
674
629
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights after a 15 day cruise. The rooms are huge, very clean and an excellent bathroom. It is about 3 blocks from the French Quarter. They provided a nice what they call evening snack but it was enough to be our dinner for the first night. It is everything that you see on the website. Breakfast was also very good and included. The staff was very friendly and courteous. It can be a little noisy early evening with traffic.
This was a great bargain for New Orleans although not as convenient to the Quarter as some other hotels. If you don't mind walking this could be the place for you.
We will stay there again when we go to New Orleans

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pat099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We booked this hotel for a post cruise stay not knowing what to expect. The staff at the reception desk were so friendly and helpful. The room was excellent. Not only did it look nice but it was very large and comfortable. The bathroom was all marble and granite. Everything was very clean. From 5:30 to 7 they offer drinks and a buffet that was actually very good. and for breakfast there is a really nice buffet. That is all included with the price of the room. The servers in that area were also excellent. The location was very convenient. within walking distance to The French Quarter or the Riverwalk. The streetcar line was also right on the corner. We were very happy with our stay there and will definitely book at the Drury Inn when we go back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryant68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Part way through our recent trip to New Orleans, we cancelled our hotel reservations and transferred our suitcases to the Drury Inn & Suites. Although they were the same price, there was a world of differences!

First, the lobby is gorgeous, with plenty of couches, chairs, big-screen TV for the games etc. Right off to the left is the spacious breakfast & evening snack area with tables. The front staff could NOT have been any more accomodating considering we walked in off the street at 12 noon (check in is at 3 pm). They found a room immediately.

Our room was lovely - mahogany furniture, tiled bathroom with granite countertop. We had a king room, which was slightly larger than a standard hotel room. There was a desk, comfy chair, cabinet with mini-fridge and microwave, flat screen TV, chest of drawers and 2 bed side tables. The bed was perfect - not too hard and not too soft. Very nice linens, although the bath towels are on the small side.

We were fortunate to get a room with a view (facing the south) so there was plentiful sunshine and a nice view of the business district.

The wonderful breakfast buffet had typical cereal, yogurt, donuts, bagels and also hot items: scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast. Then from 3 -10 pm there are free soft drinks and popcorn off the lobby.

Best of all is the free snack/drinks from 5:30pm-7pm. They offer chicken fingers, hot dogs, meatballs, a small salad selection, chips, tortilla chips. In addition each evening, every guest may have up to 3 alcohol drinks. If the lines are long (and I suspect they ususally are) and you'd like all 3, you can request them at once. They will give you a short and tall drink - but they are strong, so pace yourself and you may need extra mixers. I saw families who had their children eat here only. Presumably the adults might be going out for a nicer restaurant!

Great place. I can't recommend it highly enought!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

This is not a fancy place, but it was clean, comfortable and the staff was over the top friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a suite facing the street on the 2nd floor and were not bothered by noise. The breakfast, snacks and FREE wireless and long distance saved us a few dollars over other places we could have stayed and the room rates were great. It is a 10 min. walk to the French Quarter, and don't miss "Mother's" 4 blks down the street for real Louisiana food. We usually stay in Westin, Marriot or the occasional W Hotel but they were all booked and I was frankly skeptical about what to expect at Drury. However, we were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed our stay, and spent far less than we usually do. We'd recommend to other budget-conscious travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aud503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

This hotel is very well located. It is a three block walk to the French Quarter and right by the St. Charles trolley. Despite being located on a busy street, the hotel is quiet at night with one major exception. You hear no street noise but you can hear loud neighbors. I was awakened by drunks yelling in their room at 2 AM. It was hard to pinpoint which room the noise was coming from. My room was comfortable and clean and it was great having two large screen TVs in my suite. High speed internet was generally reliable. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfasts do not vary from day to day but are acceptable. There is a happy hour in the evening with beer and cheap wine but I wondered why anyone would want to eat frozen egg rolls and chicken fingers when you are in one of the great US eating cities. Two food recommendations. I had a superb dinner at Domenica (123 Baronne Street) - about 3 blocks from the hotel. And if you want to try beignets at Cafe Du Monde and don't want to fight the French Quarter crowds, there is a branch at Riverwalk, at the end of Poydras Street.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivaVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Thanks to the great Trip Advisor reviews we stayed @ Durys in New Orleans for Halloween! LOVED IT!
Location is a short 5 minute walk to the French Quarter
Staff is friendly and accommodating.
Room was clean and spacious, bed was comfortable, TV was a big flat-screen, and the bathroom was big and modern.
The 5.30 Kick Back was a added BONUS = FREE drinks and food (WOW!)
Overall this hotel was a great value and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans!
PS Eat at the Gumbo Shop YUM!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 163 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,308 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
517 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,705 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 163 in New Orleans
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing