We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2005

I had never stayed at a Drury Inn. I was pleasantly surprised. Room was very clean. Nice touches with the free long distance calls, pop and popcorn. Even free drinks in the lobby at night (like you need more alcohol here...). I did not like the $13 for parking, but what can you say it is a city. Had a pretty room woman check me in, but the guys I spoke with later in the day were very helpful. Would definitely recommend to others.

2  Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 2,002 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island , NY
18
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Kids ran wild Sunday morning yelling in the hallway at 7:30 am most mornings. Sunday morning the maid vacumed the hallway at 8 am and weekdays at 8:30 am. This is a kid friendly hotel. Not for couples looking for romantic getaway or seniors seeking peace and quiet. Very Nice Rooms & Lobby, roof top pool is great. Everything is Very Very Nice, Great Free Breakfast

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Drury and could not have been more pleased. First of all, the accomodations for just a single room surpass some suites we have stayed in in NOLA; 15 ft ceilings, floor to ceiling windows with a great view,extremely comfortable bed, large area with more than enough room to move around and marble bathrooms were a very nice touch. The evening reception was fantastic. (Allejandro, good job with those Rum and Cokes). The front office staff were the friendliest we have encountered yet in N'awlins. We travel to New Orleans quite often and we have now found our new preferred place to stay in the Big Easy.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Saintev929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2005

Stayed at the Drury Inn from April 14 to 17. Good room, great breakfast, short walk to French Quarter. Will stay there again.

Stayed: April 2005
3  Thank Peter73981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We stayed at the Drury from April 8-11 and had a great time.

Dennis at the front desk was super helpful and Alejandro at the bar was great. The Drury is within a few minutes of walking to the French Quarter or the Riverfront. We walked everywhere and never had a problem.

The breakfast buffet included in the room price is quite good. You can even make yourself some Belgian waffles - they provide all the fixins. Just make sure you go early before everything is gone - they're not too quick on replenishing the food.

The evening happy hour is wonderful. Each person gets 3 free drinks and they aren't stingy. There are some munchies served as well. Overall, it's quite relaxing.

Considering what we paid, I think we got good value for our money. We went during the French Quarter Festival, so the prices were higher than other times, but still much less than the other hotels we were considering.

4  Thank TouristLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2005

April 9th 1:00pm: We arrived disheveled and cranky right after getting off our cruise ship.
We were greeted by the nicest desk clerk who was welcoming and warm. I wish everyone we had met in New Orleans was as friendly!
We asked for a recomedation for a restaurant and she promptly pointed us in the direction of Mother's, which had wonderful food.
Our room was incredible! High ceilings, luxury fabrics, marble flooring, a view of the city, microwave and fridge. The room was spotless and the free popcorn/sodas were a great touch. The beds/pillows were soft and comfy, which is rare in a hotel. We were able to call our family for 1 hour (free of charge) the minute we checked in. In the morning, we enjoyed the best biscuits and gravy we'd had in a long while. Checkout was easy. We felt like we were leaving friends. We'll definitely be using this hotel again--and telling everyone we know. Thanks for a great stay Drury Inn! The Knights

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridget63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2005

Just returned from 3 nights at the Drury New Orleans. Excellent location, walk about 4 blocks to Canal, cross over and you're right on Bourbon Street. Great hot breakfast buffet ( the fresh made Belgian waffles were the best), but same thing every morning, so don't expect a great variety. 3 free drinks and munchies, Monday - Thursday. Rooms were spacious, clean, get the 2 room suite if you are able, better than the single room accommodation. Husband could sleep while I watched the 2nd TV in the living room. Only thing I didn't like was room faced the building next door and was a little dark. If you want a view and more light spring for the city view rooms. Very nicely furnished lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful with tourist questions. Hotel is right on the trolley line to the Garden District. Get on right on Poydras toward Canal and stay on it when it swings aroung and goes up St. Charles Ave. Better way to get a seat when it's crowded. THis location was walkable to everywhere including the Riverfront. Ate at Commander's Palace for lunch, they have regular sized 25 cent Martinis at lunch. Also ate a NOLA's, very, very good but like most of New Orleans' better restaurants, it was pricey but worth it for the food and the excellent service. Best oysters were at the Acme Seafood House off Bourbon.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank czechred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,789 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 167 in New Orleans
1,495 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $138 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing