We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our family of five”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
DFW
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay for our family of five”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

This was a great choice for our family of two adults and 3 teens. We were in the newer tower and found our room to be quite spacious and comfortable. The queen suite was budget friendly for a group of our size. We could easily walk to all of the sites we wanted to see and the St Charles streetcar stop was next to the hotel. The breakfast choices offered something that each person in our family was happy with. The complimentary drinks and snacks were a nice break. We had never been to NOLA before and wanted safe location, close to the French quarter but not so close that we could get a good nights rest. The only street noise that we noticed was the street car passing by and eventually we grew accustom to it. This was perfect! It seemed like the parking lot was well attended. The casino is just a short walk down Poydrass street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amyntexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    541
    96
    25
    13
See reviews for
679
635
41
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We just returned to the Drury Inn New Orleans for our 3rd trip in 4 years. They have finished their new addition and parking garage, along with substantial renovations and it looks fabulous!
Pet friendly hotels are getting harder and harder to find, thanks to disrespectful pet owners and hoteliers who have been burned. We have a supremely well behaved 90 pound lab and generally are lucky to find ONE hotel in a city that will accept him, and it is usually a horrible hotel. We are EXTREMELY grateful for Drury Inn's pet policy (no size discrimination).
We chose to stay in the older section and were in a huge room with 20' ceilings and three equally tall windows (bummer that they look at the ATT building, but we had an oblique view of the city). We didn't intend to spend any time in room other than sleeping so no worries about view.
The happy hour included with the hotel stay is more than adequate for a budget conscious traveler's dinner, provided they aren't super health conscious. They had hot dogs, penne pasta, meatballs, potato bar and salad bar on the night we were there. They also provide 3 free beer/cocktails per person. Go with the beer, the liquor is the bottom of the bottom shelf of liquor no one would actually buy. If you love cocktails, you're in trouble. If you are an alcoholic--lucky you.
The breakfast included in the stay is also more than adequate for free hotel food. Scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, waffles, cold cereal and good hot oatmeal with toppings. Decent coffee.
They have two areas on the grounds where you can walk your dog and provide bags and trash receptacles. A short two blocks away is a very nice park that is a much nicer place to walk your dog. The area is safe and we made the park walk at around midnight without any qualms.
There is a nice little pool and hot tub on top of the roof. The wall surrounding it is tall and solid so you don't get any views of the city (and you will COOK if it is during the heat of summer). There is a small weight room with good machines next to the pool.
They have added $25/night for mandatory valet parking (and that's a bummer) AND added a $10/night pet charge (also a bummer, but we're more than happy to pay it to keep our dog with us). The new pet policy requires that you not leave your dog unattended for more than 30 minutes. I know that's because of the yapper/barking dogs that disturb everyone else. They will ask you to leave if your dog disturbs other guests (rightly). We went out for dinner and to listen to music for several hours without fear. Point: KNOW your dog before you leave the room and don't stay here and/or leave your dog if it's a barker/whiner.
You are about a 4 block walk to Canal (street cars) and Bourbon Streets. We cabbed to dinner (R'evolution at Royal Sonesta--amazing!) and it was $7 going and $7.25 coming back for 2 people in normal (for NOLA) and would be substantially higher during carnival/events/conventions, but well worth it to not have my car trashed by drunks and deal with parking.
Our stay for one night, including parking, pet fee, taxes on a Friday night was $162.39. In light of normal hotel costs in NOLA, we feel this was a great deal.

Room Tip: 604 was a big, clean, QUIET room with lots of windows and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whocindylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Reasonably priced, reasonable pet fees (even if the pet policy is restrictive on its face), reasonable location, about 8 to 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, and right by the Charles St. Trolley. The afternoon "Kickback" (free drinks and apps in the breakfast lounge) should be mandated by law in every yrban hotel on Earth!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DonAlbertoDeQueretar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were looking for a good hotel near the French Quarter. We selected this one because of its location -- right at a streetcar stop. But as it turns out we walked most of the time to the French Quarter, which is six blocks away. Our 2 Room Suite with a hot tub was very elegant and clean.

I've had a bad experience with bedbugs and did a close inspection of the mattress and found the room free of the awful blood suckers.

It has free wi-fi in your room and a few computers are available in the lobby area-- if you want to stay connected.

The Drury Inn & Suites offers a great cocktail hour with lots to eat (hot dogs, chicken fingers, mac and cheese, veggies, nachos, etc.)!! They also serve free breakfast in the same room in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but they didn't offer any omelets, only scrambled eggs and the usual assortment of breakfast goodies, like make-your-own waffles, cereal, fruit, etc.

The staff was very friendly and efficient, especially the guys who valet parked our car. I was amazed to see the manager several times in different areas of the hotel making sure everyone was happy and well served. He wasn't afraid to get in there and empty garbage pails in the cocktail room when it was needed.

We'd go back again in a heartbeat to this Drury Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was our second stay at this particular Drury Inn but we've stayed in others as well and we've always had a great experience. It's located on Poydras just down from the Super Dome so it's not right in the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter. The street car going over towards the French Quarter conveniently picks up at the corner just across the street. If you're the kind of person who would be out super late in the french quarter, a bit of the walk back between Canal and Poydras could feel a little deserted/scary depending on the person but there's the option of taking the street car and it drops off just a block away coming back toward Poydras.

Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful and many of the name tags reflected they'd been there long term - they all knew the area very well and had quick answers to any question. The breakfast is a full hot breakfast served until 10am and the evening snack hour was very good as well (I think they switch it up but it was baked potatoes/hotdogs/nachos night when we were there). We would stay here again and again and recommend it without hesitation. Our first stay here was with our kids, this time we were without them but the hotel is great for either situation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Shellskips4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Vernon
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Nola is a city of great restaurants and bars. Some budget minded travelers enjoy grazing at the free cocktail and food-trough offered by Drury. For them, this is probably an ok deal. We discovered that we could have stayed at a more upscale hotel for a little less $$. Since we didn't take advantage of Drury's freebies, we should have booked elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Drury Inn and Suites New Orleans, and for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry our free offerings were not appealing to you, but do hope our location helped put you in the center of New Orleans' great restaurants. In addition, I will like to thank you for the strong service and cleaniliness ratings.

Sincerely,
Patrick Dettwiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We originally booked this hotel through hotels.com. the totally was 288.86. Not back for a hotel nearly 4 blocks from Canal and Bourbon street. and then maybe 3 or 4 more to Jackson Square. Our only compleint was honestly a lack of our attention to detail. The parking at the hotel is 25 bucks plus tax. So we were kinda shocked when the hotels charge was 60 bucks over what hotels.com said. We do still have a possible situation because after our first nights stay, there was a rogue charge to our bank account from the hotel. We went to ask the front desk what it was about, but their system does not show the charge. So we will be contacting the bank if the charge posts. Outside of the initial large charge and the rogue charge, the stay was alright. The A/C was kinda warm throughout the night, and the bed was kind of hard. We really just wish that the valet guys mentioned the 25 dollar charge for parking. There is a sign next to the valet booth, we were just oblivious. P.S. they are pet firendly

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,620 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing