We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice combination of modern and traditional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice combination of modern and traditional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is a perfect combination of modern and old-fashioned traditional. The rooms are beautiful, with high ceilings, but a modern, up-to-date bathroom. It has a beautiful lobby, where a nice and delicious breakfast AND an evening happy hour (with free booze and snacks) are served. (The happy hour food is perfect to tide you over until your late and slow-paced New Orleans dinner). Service is excellent. For example, the rooftop outdoor pool was closed for a quick emergency, but the staff made arrangements for guests to be able to use the pool in a few nearby hotels. The location is perfect, short walking distance to the Superdome, the French Quarter and the less touristy restaurants of the Warehouse District. This is close to perfect among New Orleans hotels. (Only complaint (to keep it real here): squishy soft mattress in my room.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retrofuturistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    465
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
566
518
34
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed there overnight to attend a wedding and reception near by. The location was great for the weeding but not close enough to the French Quarter. The hotel is very nice, beautiful lobby, very nice rooms and staff was excellent. The afternoon happy hour (3 free drinks and food) and full breakfast in the morning included is big plus. I would recommend if attending an event at the Superdome, going to casino, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. When we arrived, we had other family members also, they got lost and one of the hotel employee (Jonathon Gunnels) went above and beyond his duties and jumped in his vehicle, along with my husband and went to find the rest of our lost family members. Fabulous young man. He also knew a lot about all the questions we asked him about the city of New Orleans. The front desk people we great also. The manager gave out real roses for Mother's Day.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamlsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently had a 4 night stay at the Drury Inn and I have to say it one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Our very clean room was nicely decorated, with very high ceilings and the beds were very comfortable. A beautiful large lobby and reception area where happy hour is provided daily, with free beverages and good food. Breakfast is also provided, with a choice of hot and cold foods, along with some "healthier" choces. The staff is very helpful and quick to correct any problems. (Are lock messed up and maintance was there right away). We had a corner room on the 7th floor, with a great view, even with the construction being done on one side. The hotel has a pool and hottub on the roof, where you also have a nice view of the city. We were within a 5 minute walk to the French Quarter, so it is ideally situated. We were there over the weekend and there were lots of sirens so if your a light sleeper, bring your earplugs to filter out the sounds. Within the hotel it is very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivaelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a refreshing place to stay! The staff were consistently cheerful and courteous. There was a problem with a knocking noise in the shower pipe. They offered immediately to let us sleep in another room without moving anything-just to get rest. As soon as they received another complaint about the same subject, they got maintenance in after hours. The problem was resolved quickly. Breakfast was always available earlier than the posted time, a first in my hundreds and hundreds of hotel nights. The hotel provides a light meal and free drinks in the evening, welcome after a long day of walking around town. The location is a couple of blocks out of the bustle of the French Quarter, convenient to the Riverwalk and the Garden District, as well as the St. Charles and Canal Street streetcar lines.

In all my hotel stays, I have wished that hotels would not have doors that slam if inconsiderate guests let them go, especially late at night. The Drury has door that close softly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were warmly welcomed and were very impressed with the lovely interior of the hotel.
As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary we had booked a 2 room jacuzzi suite and had emailed the hotel on the morning of arrival asking for a high floor quiet room, away from the elevators and with a nice view, what we actually got was a high floor room overlooking the building work going on, not ideal but a visit to reception got us sorted, we never got our jacuzzi but the room was much nicer, it was on the third floor and as it was a corner room there were lots of windows and it had a street view, which was far more appealing than the original one, we were informed that the jaccuzi suites were all in that area, it would have been helpful to have known this in adavance as we would not have paid extra to have an upgraded room and just opted for a standard room.
The hotel was in a good location, we did not use the hotel parking, we used a company called Premium parking, we parked at the hotel, checked in with our luggage and then parked the car in covered parking, this cost us 45 dollars for 3 nights and we could come and go as we pleased, it was located in camp street and took us about 4 minutes to walk there, a much cheaper option than using the hotels parking.
The breakfast and evening food choices were fine, a bit limited for my taste and could be a bit repetitive if staying for any longer.
The reason I have given this hotel a 3 rating is that we were unhappy with the room housekeeping, our shower gel was empty from the day we checked in until we left, after the first night we thought it would be changed, the same again after the second, it never happened and we should have brought to the attention of staff when it was not replenished the first night, we were also unhappy to arrive back to our room on the last night to find our bedding on the floor, the top cover was folded up and left lying on the floor, not very hygenic and I was not to pleased as we had recently had a bad experience in the Drury hotel in Mobile where we had ants running around on our bedside table.
On checking out we did mention this matter to the girl on the desk, she said she would let her manager know, whether she does or not remains to be seen.
This hotel has great write ups, this is why we chose to book a couple of stays on our roadtrip, based on these experiences we will not book again, we must have just been unlucky.

Room Tip: avoid a jaccuzzi room as very noisy and look onto work been done at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide our guest with clean comfortable rooms during their stay. We are continuously reviewing guest comments and inspecting our rooms daily to make sure that our housekeeping staff is cleaning the rooms up to our standards and our guests' expectations. Our location does provide off site valet parking due to the construction on a new on-site parking garage that will be completed by early 2014. Our current valet parking does have unlimited in and out privilege with the vehicle being provided at our canopy entrance upon request for $25 per day.

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,162 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,756 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,032 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing