We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent value, well run.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016 (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent value, well run.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has a lot of charm and is well located. It's right on the street car line and about a 10 minute walk from Canal Street and the French Quarter. The price is good, although $25 a night valet parking and a slew of taxes erodes the value just a bit. I have stayed twice now in a corner room at the front of the building. That gives you 3 big windows and the ceilings are at least 10 feet high. I would rate this 5 stars, but for 2 quibbles. The food at the afternoon "kickback" is mediocre at best, although the fact that it's "free" makes it okay. And I was disappointed after booking the room months in advance requesting a room at the front on the highest floor possible, then being given a room on the 3rd floor of the 8 story building. The hotel is on a very busy street and the traffic noise well into the night is quite loud. I even called ahead after booking the room over the internet, so I thought I would be placed on a higher and more quiet floor. If I visit New Orleans again, I will likely book my stay at the Drury.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side of the building would appear to have no view, as there is a tall office towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffy_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    452
    85
    22
    11
See reviews for
542
508
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Not much to say.....nice hotel, clean, friendly staff, nice breakfast in the AM, cocktails in the evening with hot and cold snacks!....NICE.....close to the Superdome and Bourbon Street, Canal street also close, grocery market with lots of hot and cold already prepared food nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iceboy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask., Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Right from the check inn staff to the Manager,they all were so nice.The hotel was very clean and quiet.The breakfast in the morning was perfect to start your day.Then at 5:30p.m. they had drink,s and appetizer,s till 7p.m.What a nice treat!!!!!Our first stay ever at the Drury inn,s and we had a wonderful seven night stay.The location was a very easy walk to the French Quarter and a lot of river attraction,s and the Superdome!!!Perfect Location......

Room Tip: We had a room on the 8th floor facing the bridge with a nice view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golf3533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

he hotel was great it had a rooftop pool and a gym the rooms were great d clean very nice staff near all the actiton in new orleans the hotel was great "breakfast and dinner was wonderful i loved the waffles

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbb36526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Visited from the UK on a business trip. Check in was marred a little by a misunderstanding about payment arrangements but receptionist was nevertheless friendly and helpful, arranging a meal delivery from a nearby fast food outlet for me. My room was comfortable and had everything I expect. Only drawback was the view from the window was none existant but this wasn't important for a solo business trip. Breakfast buffet was excellent as was the evening happy hour / kickback. Great location only a couple of blocks away from everything Bopurbon St and the French Quarter have to offer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sims52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
498 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I spend a lot of time in New Orleans and had my parents there with me on this last trip. We got a room at the Drury for Wednesday and Thursday before the Voodoo Fest. Check-in was very efficient and the staff went out of their way to make my parents feel comfortable and not like lost tourists in a strange city. The rooms are nice and cozy with tall windows and ceilings. They had a room facing the the Mississippi River. The Drury's location is excellent, midway in CBD on Poydras, it is an easy walk to Harrah's, The French Quarter or The Dome. There are excellent restaurants close by. The valets were also wonderful and your car is right beside the hotel on the ground floor from what we noticed. We were provided with a complimentary breakfast which was good and three drink tickets apiece but they went unused. My parents, being somewhat typical picky people, loved the room and enjoyed their stay. Our only complaint would be no safe in the room. The Hotel does have a somewhat dated feel to it but that is also so much of the charm of New Orleans. But otherwise everything else was fantastic and I would not hesitate to get a room at the Drury again.

Room Tip: For views of New Orleans get high and face East or South towards the River and French Quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Reasonable price and good location about 1/2 mile from the French Quarter. The rooms were comfortable and clean. Morning breakfast was really good. Menu included eggs (you can add cheese and ham), sausages, waffles, biscuits and gravy and orange, apple juice and milk. Fresh fruit and yogurt was also available. We did not eat at the evening "happy hour", although it appeared appetizing. Parking is extra, approx $28 dollars per night. I understand all of the hotels in the area charge this so expect to pay to park regardless of where you stay..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OverFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,050 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,674 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,836 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing