We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean hotel, nice perks, not very luxurious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, nice perks, not very luxurious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We visited New Orleans in October and opted to stay in the Central Business District, rather than in the heart of the French Quarter. This was an excellent decision. We were within walking distance of the action, and the walk itself felt very safe (unlike many areas in New Orleans). The hotel was nice, the staff was friendly and they offered some nice perks. There was free hot breakfast every morning, hot dinner every night, and fresh popcorn every evening. They also allowed three free cocktails per guest each night. While these were a nice addition, there is so much to do in New Orleans that we didn't find it necessary to take advantage of any of these offerings besides breakfast. Overall, the hotel was fine. The bed was comfortable and everything seemed clean. My only issue is that there are more luxurious hotels in the area for the same price. I would be inclined to search around a bit to see if any of the higher-end hotels have availability and a good rate, and if not, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Make sure the ice machine and beverage machine on your floor are working - they were not working on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    464
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
565
517
34
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Drury for one night on business. The lobby was well kept, and my room was very clean and average in size and amenities for a basic King room. Location was good - very close to the federal courthouse, close to restaurants, a few blocks from the casino. The freebies (free drinks, free hot appetizers, free hot breakfast, free wi-fi) are really nice. This isn't where I would stay if I was going to New Orleans on vacation, but it suited my needs very well as a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stella082001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For a dedcent price and good location, the Drury Inn is tough to beat. About 1/2 mile from the French Quarter, a block from the St. Charles Trolley and easy access to the Warehouse District, it can't really be beat. The rooms are comfortable and clean and there is little noise since you are more in the Central Business District than the big party areas. Breakfast comes with the room, and while little more than average fare, it is free and gets you out of the hotel and into the city that much faster. All in all, not a bad place to stay when in N.O.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWanderers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were scheduled for a conference being held at the Hilton but it was full so we were moved to Staybridge Suites who were then full because of the Hurricane and were then moved to Drury Inn. I was very nervous about everything being correct on check in with the many changes that were made, each by the previous hotel. The check in was easy and fast, they had all of our information and honored the rate quoted at the previous hotel. It was about a ten minute walk each way to the conference at the Hilton but we definitely enjoyed our stay at the Drury Inn. It wa clean, comfortable, had a nice breakfast and was very close to the French Quarter and Bourbon street. It was also nice that it's such a small hotel, walk in, on the elevator, and to the room; there wasn't a ten minute walk through a maze just trying to find your room like so many big hotels. All in all very pleased and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmhuxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Drury on Poydras on Friday night before the Jazz Half Marathon. We had stayed at the Drury before and enjoyed it very much. This time was no different. The hotel is clean and comfortable with a large inviting lobby. The have adopted valet-only parking which at $25 is expensive, but in line with other hotels in the area. The valets were very helpful and the service was excellent. The hotel offers a complimentary evening happy hour and breakfast with rather good food. We had a corner room, which was not a suite, but very spacious with a whirlpool bath. The room was comfortable, quiet, and had a nice view. The Drury is located at the edge of the French Quarter and provides easy access to the major sites. We had the added benefit of being only 1 block from the race start line at Lafayette Square. Overall, this is a fantastic place to stay in NOLA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
874 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds. A very nice plus is the breakfast that comes with the room. No more trying to figure out where to go its right here. They also have a happy hour with 3 free drinks per guest a nice treat that can save you a few dollars. It is located in a fairly quiet place yet close enough to walk to the French quarter, the Superdome and a very short walk to the St. Charles streetcar. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful as good or better than I've had at much higher scaled hotels. All and all this hotel was a excellent value for what you get in return. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in October and had two rooms for 4 adults and 5 kids. The hotel was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool on the 10th floor was awesome (my 5 year old's description). We were able to walk to everything from the French Quarter to the Children's museum. The hot breakfast and the hot meal in the evening saved us a fortune and the kids loved it. Thanks for having a great hotel - now I wish they would open a Drury in downtown Chicago!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyof7wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,148 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,746 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 888 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 6,011 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing