We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Much better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is 4 blocks from the French Quarter. very reasonable valet parking rates, as this is a downtown hotel.The location is 4 to 6 blocks to all the downtown entertainment venues.( Riverfront, Casino, Cruise ports, French Quarter). We had a 1 bedroom suite for 126/night. What a great rate. The room is nice sized for a downtown hotel. The room was spotless, excellent beds, and good water pressure. A free breakfast with lots of choices and a 530PM-700PM light dinner menu that changed daily. Excellent room Excellent value.

Room Tip: Good View of the city from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    483
    88
    23
    13
See reviews for
601
556
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

A group of girls just went to New Orleans for the Brad Paisley concert and stayed at Drury Inn and Suites on Poydras. I love staying at Drury but had never stayed at their New Orleans location. We felt very safe as a group of girls. The hotel was in walking distance to the New Orleans Areana where the concert was and we also walked to french quarter. Our room was great, very clean, nice size. I loved the bath/shower and the shampoo, conditioner and bath gel dispensers on the wall of shower. Check in was great, front desk very friendly.
Special service from our valet, Brandon Stoufflot?, not sure on that last name. He greeted us with a smile, unloaded our bags, magically appeared when I wasn't sure how to get the elevator to work, ha. The day we checked out he greeted me by name and had my car waiting. I just love great service. We will be back at Drury again in New Orleans

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Drury Inn & Suites on a recent cruise we took out of New Orleans. The location was not the only reason we decided to book this hotel. I had read good reviews on the location, as well as all the "freebies" the hotel gives to its guests.

Nothing disappointed us at the Drury Inn.

Upon arriving in New Orleans, we were at least 3 hours early of the posted check-in time. No worries, the desk clerk alerted us that rooms were available and that we could go up right then. Loved that. We had a lot of cases for our cruise that I really didn't want to leave in the car, or have the hotel store for us while we explored the area.

It was pouring down rain nearly all day that afternoon, however we wanted to go down the street to a local sports bar to watch some football action. Asked the front desk if they by chance had an umbrella we could borrow. They actually went and found us one to use for the day. Can't say enough about how they treated not only us. But every other guest I saw the staff interact with that evening.

At around 5 o'clock or so (every night) they have what is called something along the lines of Kickback Hour. Sorry, can't remember the name of it. I'll explain what it is.

The hotel sets up a free buffet line of hot food. We had chicken tenders, mac-n-cheese, hot dogs, hamburgers and even a salad bar. Not to mention 3 free (adult) beverages per person. All for free.

We took them up on this and relaxed in some of their sitting areas; which they have plenty of, and enjoyed our food and free beverages while watching more football on their lobby TV.

It didn't stop there. In the morning, they also give all guests a free hot breakfast. There was a waffle and pancake maker, scrambled eggs, bacon, I mean the works. For free.

I can go on and on about our stay, the staff, customer service and the freebies. But I won't. This stay was by far our best experience in New Orleans.

When we make our next trip. We will book here no questions asked. This is our new spot in New Orleans. If you stay here, you will NOT be disappointed.

A+++ rating for this location from both of us.

Room Tip: Just a tip. If you like sports. Be sure to check out a place called 'Walk Ons' just down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank target32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

To celebrate our anniversary every year my wife and I try to get away for a few nights. This year we decided to take ourselves to New Orleans. We got a great deal on our flight and had to then book a place to stay. As usual I start my search on Tripadvisor. Normally I book via Priceline name your own price, but I really liked what others have said, the location, and all the extras that Drury Inn offered. We did use a coupon code when booking that helped with the cost slightly.

There really isn't anything negative to say about the Drury Inn. The people went above and beyond to do anything they could to make our stay pleasant, the location was just a couple blocks from most everything, the room was very clean, and the addition of "Fast Break" was fantastic. Free "adult" beverages and "snacks" that can easily be made into dinner was a large plus.

The only somewhat negative thing that I have to say is that the fee for parking was a little high, but then again, you are going to have parking charges no matter where you stay in a larger city anymore.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone whom may be visiting New Orleans, and I would stay here again if we were ever to return to the area. Thanks for a great, memorable stay Drury Inn New Orleans!

Room Tip: Corner King room was very large with a decent size jetted tub. Walk to Casino, River Walk, and Frenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolffpack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

drury inn on poydras new orleans, motel servise was terrific and the valet service excellent. jonathon, brandon and oggy were so very helpful on any needs or information to make our stay in the big easy a really great time. we would come back here on our next visit for sure. being from a small town in north dakota not real big on the big cities, but they made our trip more relaxing and comfortable

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good price for suite. Location ok. Quality, cleanliness very average. By 16:00 on two of the 4 days, the room had not been cleaned. Free breakfast and afternoon snack. Quality average. Served in styrofoam plate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DG_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing a clean comfortable room, free hot breakfast and our 530 kickback. We apologize we did not fully exceed your expectations this trip but will use your comments to help improve the customer experience for future guests. On busy days, our housekeeping staff cleans rooms sometimes until 5:00pm , trying to strike a balance between getting rooms ready for new guests as well as cleaning room for our returning guests. Again, our apologies for not exceeding your expectations.


Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel I have traveled the most of USA and europe but I have never been made to feel so welcome by hotel staff
Great location great hotel and great service and great value We stopped over on our way to Venice Florida and didn't want to leave

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#12 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,559 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing