We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent business hotel but not well cleaned” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel but not well cleaned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I like Drury's midrange style, which puts it a step above a motel but still affordable. It's good for budget business travel. The desk was big and came with a power strip, which was very good to have. I also liked the fact that my room had a classic high ceiling and tall windows. The staff was generally quite pleasant and helpful. The room keys are wireless, which is easier and probably more reliable than inserted card keys. Location was reasonably close to both the French Quarter and the convention center, though neither is an easy walk in muggy weather. Another plus: Rouse's market, which is a lot like Whole Foods, is about a block away.

I wasn't so happy with the cleanliness of the room. Here's the main thing: One day, the cleaning person didn't finish the bathroom, and left dirty towels on the floor. It was as if they left in the middle of the job. It was a very irritating thing to come back to after a long day of work, when I wanted to take a shower. I called the front desk and the problem was fixed in less than an hour, but was very inconvenient.

Also, the desk had food stains, and there was a strong smell of hair oil in the room. The staff replaced the pillows and removed the armchair, which solved the problem, but it was another headache.

Overall, a hotel in good shape that's pretty well set up for business travelers, but just has to work on its cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Skihist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We strive to provide our guest with a clean comfortable rooms during their stay. We are continuously reviewing guest comments and inspecting our rooms daily to make sure that our housekeeping staff are cleaning the rooms up to standards and guest expectations. We also inspect our rooms on a regular basis to review the quality of the furniture so we can repair or replace any items that do not meet guest expectations.

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    456
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
551
509
33
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed here July 2012 with a friend. Requested a high floor room away from the elevator. Got 2nd floor(building has 9 floors) literally right next to where they are building that parking garage.
Checkin-in: Was quick and painless. Pointed out my room request and was told there was nothing else available. To be honest, they were very nice and the customer service was good

Room: 213. Double bed room with fridge/microwave. Room was clean. Bathroom was small but accomodating. But as we found out at 830am Saturday morning when the jackhammers or whatever they were started off we were WAY too close to the construction. Every morning except for Sunday we heard all kind of noise from the construction. I dont believe they should be booking folks in these rooms and if they do how about some warning about this??? Just a hey you are going to be near the construction would be nice. Most places 830am is not that late but in New Orleans, guests are sleeping at this time. It got so we would go take naps by the pool or have to wait til late evening to catch up on some sleep.

Breakfast/happy hour: I've stayed at other Drurys where these services were pretty decent. We showed up for happy at 550pm(starts at 530) to lukewarm hotdogs and cold mac and cheese and hey we're out of this(tequila, wine for happy hour). Breakfast was lukewarm to cold biscuits, icky powdered eggs, and inedible sausage. I'm not expecting the Ritz but food shouldn't be cold. I've experienced much better at other Drury hotels. Please take notes from the Drury Plaza San Antonio(see review) We totally skipped it after the second day and went to Daisy Dukes(budget restaurant) for breakfast. Only thing that was good was the veggies on the evening snacks. Shame
Pool: Was decent when folks didn't allow their kids to do cannonballs and such in the pool and 3 yr olds weren't in the jacuzzi.

Location: I thought was good. I've stayed directly in the quarter and I prefer modern hotels/amenities so I was not happy at my last location(see review). It was barely a 4 block walk and there you are on Bourbon St.
Recommend/return: Maybe but only if the construction is done or I can at least get a room away from it and I would not waste time with the happy hour/breakfast. I made a video of the noise in our room at 8am but TA has changed so you can now only add photos so couldn't include here.

Room Tip: Away from the construction. If they can't guarantee it, don't stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davissummer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to exceed our guests' expectations by honoring requests for room types and locations, but at certain times, when the hotel is full, we are unable to honor these requests. We are currently adding a new addition to our building with work being performed between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. as noted on our website. Our free hot food temperature and quality are monitored throughout breakfast and 5:30 Kickback by a member of the management team so we can be sure our guests are receiving quality food service. Sounds like we missed the mark during your stay, so we have reviewed our procedures with the team.

Slade Stratman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vidor, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

We prefer to stay a few blocks closer to French Qtr but the Drury gave us an excellent stay. The Happy Hour is a nice bonus. Great Drinks and Food. Breakfast was hot and offered a good variety. I loved that there was shampoo and bath gel dispensers in the shower. Mo fighting this tiny bottles. The bed was comfy and the room was nice size.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krisveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in a 2 queen room. The interior of the hotel is visually attractive and sets the mood for The Big Easy. The front desk and check in was perfect. The room was clean and well organized. The rollaway bed was delivered quickly. The only minor complaint would be the food service.
The items did not stay well stocked and service was abruptly cut off on the second at 7:00PM. Having the drink machines available at all hours was helpful. I was concerned about the location being too far out from the French Quarter but it was perfect for all locales. We felt very safe walking to and fro in the evening hours. The four teenagers with us said that the pool was too small, but for younger children, it would be fine. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ajhappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel had very nice rooms. It isn't right in the French Quarter but it is only a few blocks away. We enjoyed being a little removed from the noise of the French Quarter. The only down side to this hotel is that the parking is valet only and $25 per day. I wouldn't mind but it takes about 15-20 min for them to get your car if you need it. Also if you happen to forget something in your car, you can't just go out and get it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otsnow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a very nice hotel..the rooms were nice and clean, they have a happy hour and also a breakfast buffet that was very good. All of the staff were nice, and they even opened up the pool for my 8 year old on his birthday (at midnight) because he really wanted to go swimming on the roof. It was only for 15 minutes, but it made his day..after a very long day of traveling. Also, within walking distance to Bourbon St. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebDaveLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Easy to find. Stayed 2 nights right before Essence Music Festival. Ronaldo was an amazing receptionist. Disappointed in the $25 a night parking rate but it was cheaper than other hotels in the area and parking in New Orleans is hard to come by. Felt safe in the area. St. Charles Trolley stop right outside hotel on Carondelet Street. Easy walk to river front and French Quarter. Carondelet street turns into Bourbon Street so it's a straight shot from the hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor with 2 double beds. Room was really nice but could hear the trolley go by. Free snacks and 3 drinks in the afternoon at 5:30. Food wasn't that great. Freed breakfast in the morning which was ok. All in all, it was a really nice stay and a really great location of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing Carondelet Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPrice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,075 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,691 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,866 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing