We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Orleans Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great New Orleans Location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Easy to find. Stayed 2 nights right before Essence Music Festival. Ronaldo was an amazing receptionist. Disappointed in the $25 a night parking rate but it was cheaper than other hotels in the area and parking in New Orleans is hard to come by. Felt safe in the area. St. Charles Trolley stop right outside hotel on Carondelet Street. Easy walk to river front and French Quarter. Carondelet street turns into Bourbon Street so it's a straight shot from the hotel. We had a room on the 8th floor with 2 double beds. Room was really nice but could hear the trolley go by. Free snacks and 3 drinks in the afternoon at 5:30. Food wasn't that great. Freed breakfast in the morning which was ok. All in all, it was a really nice stay and a really great location of the city. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing Carondelet Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPrice69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    541
    96
    25
    13
See reviews for
679
635
41
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is at a great location. It is about 15 minute walk to the convention center. The satff was very helpful when I tried to have an early check inn. The breakfast is great. I did not try the Manager's special during the evenings. My one bedroom suite was great. However, it is unevenly divided with a huge living space and a much smaller bed room. The bedroom section does not have a window. The bathroom design is very good and practical. The gym is very small with only a couple of not very modern treadmills. But is view from the gym area (roof) is excellent. Overall, it one of the best values in New Orleans.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites have no windows in the bedroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasMte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The lobby is marble with much of the original building's historic character in tact. At the same time, the rooms and other amenities are nicely updated (although the bathroom is a little tight - see photo). The mini fridge in the room was great, and the bed was very comfortable, with nice linens.

We arrived around 5 PM just as the complimentary "happy hour" with appetizers was starting. We were each given coupons for 3 free drinks for each night of our stay and directed to the serving area. What a pleasant surprise. There was a nice selection of beer, wine and basic mixed drinks and the appetizers were substantial enough to count for dinner (stuffed baked potatoes, cheese, etc). Breakfast the next morning was similarly fulfilling -- scrambled eggs, waffles, fruit, biscuit & gravy, yogurt). Moreover, the place was immaculate. Note that I've given a 5 rating for the restaurant, but there isn't a restaurant on the premises per se. My rating is for where the drinks and food are served in the the mornings and evenings.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful (although some could use a little more training about attractions and galleries on nearby Julia Street).

The hotel is in an ideal location - easy to the quarter, waterfront, and warehouse districts. The parking is a bit tight but the valets did an excellent job getting cars to people or helping flag down cabs as needed (we were there during a VERY busy weekend with multiple events going on, but never had to wait more than a few minutes for service from the valets).

The rooftop pool was sparkling clean. It is too bad there aren't any umbrellas on the roof, but given the brisk breezes that kick up, their absence is understandable. if you wait until later in the afternoon the shadow from the neighboring building provides sufficient shade to escape the sun.

I attribute the high quality of service, cleanliness of all parts of the hotel (including stairwells), and overall feel of the place to the hands on approach of the general manager, Slade Stratman. I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where the general manager was not only so visible but responsive to every request. Whether first thing in the morning or late in the day around the pool, Mr. Stratman was there checking with guests to make sure that everything was in order and that our needs were met. I can't say enough about all the ways Mr. Stratman contributed to our groups enjoyment of the weekend in general and stay at Drury in particular.

This hotel is a great value and I have already recommended it to friends who are visiting NOLA this summer. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side of the hall as the elevator look onto the AT&T building, the ones across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here after a last minute trip to the Big Easy. While I'd never heard if the hotel, I was encouraged by the reviews on TA. I really think this hotel is one of the best values in the city. Walking distance to the Quarter, pet-friendly, spacious rooms and roll-aways, nice pool and passable breakfast. It's very safe and quite - unlike a lot of Quarter options. I'd prefer the Ritz of course, but when traveling with the family and dog and/or in need of a good hotel at a good price, this hotel can't be beat.

Room Tip: Look for Government, Military, USAA, AARP, etc. discounts. Request a high floor to avoid the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two night after our 7 day cruise ended. The staff and this hotel are super customer focused and go above and beyond to meet your needs.

Since we were on our honeymoon, we booked the two room jacuzzi suite. The suite was very spacious and clean with marbled tile in the bathroom and foyer. The suite also included a mini fridge and microwave oven.

On the rooftop, the hotel offers an inviting swimming pool and jacuzzi with a wonderful of downtown New Orleans.

The hotel offers several wonderful freebies everyday. Starting with breakfast which includes waffles, french toast, sausage, scrabbled eggs, fresh fruit, and a variety of other foods and juices. From 5:30pm-7:00pm, they offer free appetizers/snacks including chicken tenders, hot dogs, nachos, and other items. They also offer guests (21 and over) 3 free drinks each night (beer, wined, mixed drinks, etc.) Lastly, from 3pm-10pm everyday they offer unlimited free popcorn and soda.

The only negative comment I have is that our suite was adjacent to a construction site which was the only thing we had a view of from our 8th floor room. So from morning to late afternoon there was a lot of noise which inhibits any napping. I'm assuming this is a temporary issue however.

Overall, I highly recommend this facility and I searched long and hard to find the right mixture of value, location, and amenities. The Drury Inn scored high in all of those categories which is reflective in their #1 Trip Advisor rating.

Room Tip: While construction continues, ask for a room on the opposite side where it is undoubtedly much quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kz04jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Drury Inn for 5 days. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The suite was very comfortable and clean. The free breakfast and drinks and nibbles very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wideworld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The A/C in the lobby didn't appear to be functioning. Breakfast and afternoon snacks were great.

Asked for an upgrade and received, but room smelled like cigerettes.

The desk did tell me that I would not have a view which I was fine with but glad he told me as some guests may have a preference.

Overall okay. Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Ask if it has a view or side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#15 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,362 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
5,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing