We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wow!! stay HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow!! stay HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 9 night s in May. I can't say enough about the great friendly service we recieved. The manager was on site all the time and made every effort to speak with all the guests. We had a suite room on the 6th floor with a street view. The room was lovely with 15 foot ceilings, marble bath and two large LCD TVs. Our frig kept things cold but we really shouldn't have bought any drinks or snacks because the hotel offers them for FREE! Every night from 5:30-7pm they offer a great variety of of hot snax and three free alcoholic beverages (including things like Margaritas and blood Marys as well as white, red and zinfandel wines and Bud light beer). They also offer a very nice hot breakfast in the morning. The pool and Jacuzzi on the roof were clean and warm with plenty of towels. All elevators require your room key to work so you feel very safe. If you decide to stay right in the French Quarter/ Bourbon Street (I was almost lured in by the Royal Sonesta-but so glad I picked Drury instead) I guarantee you will not get any sleep. It's like New Years Eve in Times Square every night. It was so nice to come back to the Drury and get out of the chaos of Bourbon street.

Let me mention a few things I didn't see in the other reviews that you may find helpful. First, the hotel is very close to the AT&T building next door.( The Drury WAS the old telephone building until they expanded and moved next door-This accounts for the 15 foot ceiling in the Hotel. The phone company needed them to house their large equipment) The rooms that face the new AT&T building have no view at all. The hotel web offers a choice of "street view" for a little extra money. I advise unless money is very tight to get the street view or you will be dissapointed.
Also, you are blocks away from many of the best restaurants in the country, Commanders Palace, Emerils, Arnauds, Restaurant August etc. Don't tank on the bar snaks at the Hotel. Go out and visit one of these great places. New Orleans is a food town go enjoy it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a street view-very worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancyandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    456
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
551
509
33
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed at the Drury based on other reports from Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. A short, four block walk, to the French Quarter..the famous Mother's restaurant a block away...and a one and a half mile walk to the Garden Quarter. Also the streetcars were right outside. Was able to park the car in a secure lot on the grounds ( hate valet parking ) for $17.00 per day. The room was airy, clean and well appointed. Happy Hour each night with three free ( alcoholic ) drinks per person, unlimited soft drinks, popcorn and coffee - and food such as hot dogs, macaroni, potatoes, taco bar., chicken strips. Although we did not avail ourselves of the food, it would have been plenty for dinner if needed....and many people did. Definitely would stay again. Oh, and so nice to be a little away from the drunks on Bourbon Street.........

Room Tip: Check the ceiling height.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mummar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Drury Inn Suites New Orleans is ideally situated for anyone wanting to explore the city, in particular the French Quarter.
It is not the cheapest hotel in the area but I believe that you get what you pay for. It doesn’t cost a fortune but it is clean, quiet and accommodating with staff who go out of their way to be friendly and helpful
The free breakfast is superb with plenty of choice and adequate room to enjoy it. An extra feature that we discovered, which wasn’t advertised when we booked, was the free evening hot food. We found the chicken, potato and salad with drinks (including wine and beer) were so good that we didn’t need to go out for an evening meal. Soft drinks and coffee were permanently available and we were even able to make hot popcorn in a popcorn machine later in the evening before we disappeared for the night.
This is a hotel that knows how to provide excellent service. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJames_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was our first stay in a Drury Inn and it will certainly not be our last. This hotel is in an ideal situation for visiting the French Quarter and Riverwalk area.There is nothing negative that I can say about this hotel. The check in was smooth and the room was spacious, very clean and nicely decorated. The rooms were also very quiet. Loved the "5.30 Kickback" . Free beer and food!. The kids also loved the rooftop pool. Another good point about this hotel was the parking. I hate having to squeeze your car in to a small underground parking garage when visiting city centre hotels. This hotel has secure outside parking and plenty of it. The hotel was full the weekend we were there but we had no problem finding a parking space. I would definitely return here and will be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our second stay at a Drury property, the first being in San Antonio last year. This is our go to hotel for all future travels.
We got the last room and it was a smoking room, did have some odor but was tolerable. The carpet was stained and could have used updating, but overall, the room was great. Bathroom clean and updated, nice water pressure in the shower, plenty of hot water(four women sharing a room). Beds comfy.
Rooftop pool and hottub a nice relaxer after walking all day sightseeing. Plenty of extra towels provided.

The breakfast was superb! The afternoon popcorn and softdrinks a nice extra and the kickback appetizers were plenty to get you going and give you the energy needed to get back on the town in the evening. Who can say no to free adult beverages?
The hotel is convenient walking distance to Canal St, trolley stop within a block for short ride to the Garden District.
Overall, a great place to call your home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
503 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Terrific value. Nice and fresh interiors and rooms. Wonderful bed. Quiet. Jetted tub in a two room suite. Brand new flat screen in each room. Cable. HBO. Free wireless internet, and is it fast! A chunk of free long distance every day ... 60 min in the US and 15 to Canada.

Small refrigerator and microwave in the room.

NOW add a free hot breakfast every morning.

AND NOW add a 5.30 to 7pm Kickback every day. Three free alcoholic drinks. All other drinks free. Hot snacks like fried chicken. Salad. Hot dogs. Usually something different every day in addition to these basics ... say chili. Nachos with meat toppings and fixings. Mac and cheese. Wow. Seating at tables and soft seating in the Lobby.

No kidding, most days we only bought lunch in a resto!

Staff from front desk to breakfast and kickback servers, management, housekeeping all super friendly.

Hot tub and pool on the roof. Small exercise room.

We'll definitely be staying in this Drury next time we're in NOLA and will be checking out others in the Drury chain from now on when we travel.

And yes they have a loyalty club to earn free room nights!

PS it's just a short, safe walk - about 7 minutes - to Vieux Carre (French Quarter) and all that jazz, esp in the Royal Sonesta at Irvin Mayfields.

Room Tip: Just ask for it when you register!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

Stayed here with family and grandchildren. Quiet location but handy for street cars. 10 minute walk to Bourbon Street and Canal Street. After visiting French Quarter near Jackson Square would have preferred to stay there as it was more up market and had nice restaurants and music. Near river too and Cafe du Monde.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryWoodbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,076 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,693 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 5,868 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#10 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing