We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal, Clean, Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2007

We were in New Orleans for a Saints game and wanted a reasonably priced yet nice, clean, and comfortable place to stay within walking distance of the Super Dome and French Quarter. The Drury was exactly what we were looking for. The complementary hot breakfast before the game was good and saved us the hassle of finding food on a crowed game morning. Parking was $15 per day which is low for New Orleans, and the parking lot was easy to get into and out of. Our room was comfortable and clean. It was small and did not have much of a view, but we were not in New Orleans to hang out in the room and look out of the window. The room did have a refrigerator which was nice for keeping our drinks cold. The lobby is beautiful, check in was fast and easy, and the staff was great. They did not charge us the cancellation fee for our second night when we had to leave a day early even though we used the esaver rate which is supposed to have a $25 cancellation fee. The walk to the French Quarter was short and well lit at night.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank MSSaintsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,840 - 1,846 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2007

This hotel was a pleasant surprise in New Orleans. I'd never stayed in a Drury hotel, and now I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The lobby was lovely, there was a full hot breakfast, sodas available during the day, staff was friendly, beds were comfortable and room was clean with marble tiles in entrance and bathroom. Most importantly, all Drury hotels are pet friendly, and my dog had a great time looking out our 8th floor window at the streets of New Orleans. It was a short walk to the french quarter, and the streetcar lines are right outside the door.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank tripleklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Our family stayed here from November 2 to Nov. 4th when we were visiting for a family function. We reserved one suite and one double room. Both were excellent, very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. Rooms had microwaves, refigerators, coffee makers, and very comfy beds. Also a free hot breakfast each morning, as well as free drinks at happy hour, and snacks and soft drinks in the lobby all day. We were able to walk to Bourbon Street, Riverwalk, and Harrah's Casino. But best of all was a nightly rate WELL under the other hotels. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sumrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We live in north Lousiana and have stayed at this hotel many times, both pre-and post-Katrina. The rooms are consistently clean and well appointed. The location is excellent (a few blocks from the Superdome) and cabs are readily available. The hot breakfast is excellent. Service is typical New Orleans: friendly but slow. Relax, have a drink, you're in the Big Easy.

Note to tourists: New Orleans is perfectly safe. If you're not buying or selling drugs, you are unlikely to get in the way of violence. The tourist areas are very safe. We go often and have never felt threatened. My son lives uptown and never has any problems. Go, spend money, help the city. It's a fun, fun place.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank LSUmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed at the hotel during a conference. The Drury was not one of the conference hotels, but it was $100 per night cheaper. I got a suite for $90.00. The hotel was 1/2 block from the conference shuttle stop. Very clean, spacious and nice hotel. The breakfast is convenient (if you want Denny's go there. This isn't Denny's) and a great extra. Staff was pleasant. A short walk to the FQ. Absoultely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CornHuskerNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I was looking for a place that wasn't too expensive as we would only be sleeping there...this was it. Nice accomodations, good price and a surprisingly good complimentary continental breakfast. This saved us time and money because going out for our big day at the NO JazzFest. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank aj1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife and I went for a 3-day weekend on Thursday evening 7/26/2007 to see our daughter during her summer internship in NOLA with Shell Oil. We booked through Travelocity unsing direct NWA flights from DTW to MSY. The upcharge from just the flight cost was amazingly small for both of us. The hotel was easy to find and had on-site parking. Upon arriving I asked if we could have our daughter stay with us instead of travelling back and forth to her apartment in Kenner. I said I would pay extra if necessary. The very nice young desk lady changed our room from a king to two doubles which was fine for us at no charge. Included in the accomodations was a small hot breakfast buffet and free "well" cocktails each evening (3 per adult). The bar used a bulk liquor dispenser nozzle. There was also a Soda Fountain machine available in the lobby 24/7. We had cocktails once but ate breakfast every morning of our stay. The food was good and hot, perhaps the scrambled eggs a little salty, but I have had much worse. Twin make your own waffles etc.

The public areas were very clean and neat. A lot of impressive marble and over in the corner was a gratis computer and printer for quick email or flight updates and boarding passes.

The room was clean and neat. There was enough room for the three of us with the two doubles. All the service staff we met were freindly although some had limited english (Latina).

The location was near enough to the FQ for us to walk it 4-5 blocks directly to west end of Bourbon St.). The Casino which we didn't go to was about twice that straight down the main street.

The big bonus was when we checked out they didn't charge is for parking as we expected so all in all we got a great bargain and were very pleased.

3  Thank mikofcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,532 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,790 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,496 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 167 in New Orleans
4,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#9 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $137 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing